We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Worst motel I ever stayed in” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Charleston East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knights Inn Charleston East
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Burbank, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst motel I ever stayed in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I don't think you could go lower as a human being. Non-smoking rooms with cigarette burns everywhere. Pool half filled, green and fenced off. You have to beg for an additional towel.

Seriously, I felt like levitating the whole night, so I wouldn't have to make contact with anything.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank fishpr2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    22
    13
    53
See reviews for
33
19
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

BEWARE OF THIS HOTEL AND DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY HERE!! Complete Jerks To Start Off Wit And Then They Don't Follow What That There Sites Says!! Very Unclean Rooms And Very Unprofessional Staff To Say The Least!! Shady Looking People Wander The Parking Lot At Night And Follow You!! This Place Should NOT Be In Business At All!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porscha_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charleston hotels

Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This property produced a decent stay, but the property was far from perfect. There were some burn marks in the furniture of the smoking room I was given. Everything was otherwise clean and functioning properly. The pool was clean and warm. It’s too small for laps, but good for kids to splash around in. The complementary breakfast was only coffee and juice, with no solids of any type provided. The biggest flaw was the thinness or flimsiness of the building. The floors were bouncy. The walls failed to keep out very much noise, with loud neighbors and a nearby train horn clearly audible at all hours of the night.

Overall, if this is where your budget brings you, you’ll survive. But you might consider splurging for better if you are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeBHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterstown, West Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Seriously folks! There was what I swear looked like blood splatter on the walls of the bathroom and sleeping area. The sheets smelt of bleach, so I'm fairly certain they were clean, but they were the only things in there that were! Also, the smoke alarm had been removed from the wall, wires left hanging...how does this place stay in business???

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

There wasn't even any donuts when I was there, but for the money and as tired as I was it wasn't that bad. The drug raid by Charleston Police dept. a couple of rooms down from me provided some good live action and a free reality show, which I enjoyed since I'm a S.C. cop. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Location was good, plenty of places to eat. close by.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Room had mold on ceilings and in the bathroom. The towels felt like sand paper. Got a non-smoking room, the sheets and comforters had cigarette burns on them. The pillow cases were either stained or dirty. The pool was advertised as open, when it was not. Asked at host for information on what there was to do around the town and she could not tell me anything. I would not ever stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fleckhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lexington, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Rate was reasonable. But upon check-in, was told pool was not available because they don't have handicap lift. The pool was the main reason we picked this MOTEL. (not even a real hotel). We had only 2 towels and one washcloth. Really not enough. The microwave was at least 10 years old, and broken. The TV is from the late 80's early 90's. Flat screens are cheap now. Upgrade! Went to management the next morning and expressed my concerns, and said I wanted a refund. I mentioned that the website boasted a pool, and he actually tried to say that the site also says "Seasonal." It's freakin June. After I said that, he refunded me the money for the night I didn't stay, but only offered me 50% off the night I did stay. Not really acceptable, but, I just want out of this Hell hole.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Charleston Capitol Hotel
#16 of 24 in Charleston
3.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
6.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 24 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Charleston East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Charleston East

Property: Knights Inn Charleston East
Address: 6401 Maccorkle Ave SE, Charleston, WV 25304-2919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Charleston East 1.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Knights Inn Charleston East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Charleston
Charleston Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing