We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“No pool, in June... are you serious?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Charleston East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Charleston East
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Charleston
New Lexington, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No pool, in June... are you serious?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Rate was reasonable. But upon check-in, was told pool was not available because they don't have handicap lift. The pool was the main reason we picked this MOTEL. (not even a real hotel). We had only 2 towels and one washcloth. Really not enough. The microwave was at least 10 years old, and broken. The TV is from the late 80's early 90's. Flat screens are cheap now. Upgrade! Went to management the next morning and expressed my concerns, and said I wanted a refund. I mentioned that the website boasted a pool, and he actually tried to say that the site also says "Seasonal." It's freakin June. After I said that, he refunded me the money for the night I didn't stay, but only offered me 50% off the night I did stay. Not really acceptable, but, I just want out of this Hell hole.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    22
    13
    52
See reviews for
32
19
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nelsonville, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is really not that bad of a "motel" if you can get past its imperfections, that being said i had to spend a week in Charleston while in a coal mining class and didn't mind the staying here. For the price I paid at the end of the day I was glad to have a bed to sleep on and a ice cold beer to finish the day. The breakfast left a little to be desired due to the fact that it consisted of a couple boxes of doughnuts and coffie and once the doughnuts were gone the breakfast was over.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArmySpcRet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Convienently located near an exit from the Interstate.
Close to restaurants.
Staff was friendly.
We stayed for 3 nights and found the condtion, cleanliness, and value of the room to be outstanding.
Excellent service too!
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tbmedusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Really bad! We had stayed here a couple times about 10 years ago and it was ok then, so we stayed again this weekend. It smelled bad and actually had air fresheners in the room to cover it up. Casework is mad of painted plywood. Not clean. Beds sounded/felt like plastic. Toilet seal was so broken that all contents ran out on the floor. How long has that been going on?! And was it ever sanitized?!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Anything you plug in will immediately fall out because the holes where you plug the prongs of a plug in at are ALL too close together in every single outlet. Cable is so basic and sucks. Internet is great, never slow. No coffee machine or blow dryer. Tv is too low too see from bed and bolted down so you can't move it over. Dresser drawers all broken and jam.
Housekeeper is great but some indians at the front desk are unreasonable. I locked myself out running to my car and went to the office for a key and they wouldn't let me in my room which contained my insulin & phone because the room was in my fiancé's name. I don't even want to imagine what could have happened if my fiancé hadnt miraculously returned from work thanks to rain one minute later.
No signs of bed bugs. Knock on wood!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneJonesJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bank, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Not to long ago a Meth Lab was going on in one of the rooms, It was busted by the cops and ppl were put in Jail,. This place is mostly used for prositution, drugs, and parting. The rooms are disgusting, the staff is rude, in the summer the pool is soo nasty green and slimmy, stains on sheets and blankets, some thing on all the walls, Cheap place, you get what you paid for which is nooo good deal, dont waste your money! You may walk away with something you cant get rid of!!

Room Tip: go to the surrounding motels, there is nicer and cleaner ones right there by this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Bed was comfortable. Carpet was threadbare, nightstand was broken. Half the tiles in bathroom were up or loose. Front desk was adequate. Unless really tired and no other hotels in the area with vacancies, would not stay here again. Of note, we usually stay in motel 6, super 8 category motels.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mksmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
6.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 25 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
4.7 mi away
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Charleston Capitol Hotel
#16 of 25 in Charleston
3.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Charleston East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Charleston East

Property: Knights Inn Charleston East
Address: 6401 MacCorkle Ave SouthEast, Charleston, WV 25304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Charleston East 1.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Knights Inn Charleston East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Charleston
Charleston Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing