We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“okay for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Knights Inn Charleston East
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“okay for the money”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This place is one of the lowest priced places in the area and we have stayed there many times. Nothing grand but you get what you pay for. The front desk staff has always been nice and have always honored our request for adjactent rooms when needed. You hear a lot of traffic noise when you stay on the very front row of rooms. Older buildings but okay for the money.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the front row by the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haymaress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    23
    15
    56
See reviews for
36
21
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bluefield, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2012

It was very quiet and clean. Enjoyed it. The beds were great and comfortable and the shower was awesome.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeRLuvinTheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed here for almost 2 weeks I'm on the last day and mind you I work nights sleep in the daytime at aroung 12 noon a nock on the door my wife open the door they push there way in saying we have orders to inspect room long story short no privicy will never stay here again

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigfoot48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2012

The rooms were unexceptable for families. Cracks up the walls, ceeling falling appart, bathroom floor tiles are broken, the bed sheets had holes in them, and the appliances were in very bad shape. Went to breakfast in the morning, the donuts were okay but the apple juice tasted like water. The office where you make reservations is a tease, it looks nice but don't let it fool you. This is not a recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mynaynay96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I went there with a couple of friends and a cousin of one of my friends and the experience was horrible. For one the shower and bath tub was dirty and dripping. Another problem was the door knob busted off while we stayed in the room. Another problem was when they did a room check we were asleep and they never came back to clean our room so we came back to unmade beds. One of the friends a guy said he didn't even want to shower here. Another problem that we were allowed only one bucket of ice per night in our room

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethelridge,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We walk in and no that we made a mistake. The room was very dirty, floors, tub, sink very nasty. We were running out of time so we had no choice but stay. The refrigerator didn't work. We had came down for a concert, so when we got back and pulled in a women was walking to her room 3 doors down, it almost looked like a drug deal. Then a man came to the door and she told him to get the f out of she would call the police. We ran into our room and locked the door. We then decied we would sleep a few hours and leave. After hearing nosies outside our door half the night, we could not sleep. I felt like my car was being broke into. I pray we didn't end up with bed bugs this is how bad the place was. I have learned to alway read reveiws first before staying. 57.00 not well spent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Our stay at Kinght Inn, Charleston WV left us bitten with bug bites and unrested, thusly ruining our trip. We actually had to visit a local hospital to treat the bug bites. The bed label spoke to it being made in 1999, so this explained why it was so very uncomfortable and allowed for no sleep. Buttons were absent from the jacuzzi and AC. The AC worked poorly, if at all, and made loud cracking noises, it also looked circa 1980's. There were cob webs with insects within them in the corners. The room was just as unwelcoming as the staff. The pool was unavailable the second time we tried to use it. Randal explained it needed to be treated to local health standards. We thought that was suspect since we had just been in it. We should have ran when as soon as we arrived and the front desk clerk had a doughnut hanging out of her mouth.There were dangerous exposed wires in the bathroom where the lighting was in midair. And the general demeaner spoke to the hotel being unsafe.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Train R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Charleston East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Charleston East

Property: Knights Inn Charleston East
Address: 6401 Maccorkle Ave SE, Charleston, WV 25304-2919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Charleston East 1.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Knights Inn Charleston East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Charleston
Charleston Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing