We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good”
Review of Bluegrass Kitchen

Bluegrass Kitchen
Ranked #11 of 276 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Charleston's authentic farm-to-table made-from-scratch modern comfort food restaurant. With a legion of chefs who caringly practice the art of food, BgK offers delicious brunch, dinner, and desserts for hungry vegetarians, meat connoisseurs, and everyone in-between. In the circa 1920 building with pressed tin ceilings and exposed architecture, Bluegrass also serves as a gallery for local artists. In the Tap room there's live original acoustic music most nights, with finely crafted cocktails, a curated wine list & a bounty of beers. Close to West Virginia's beautiful capitol grounds the family-owned and operated Bluegrass Kitchen has been featured in The New York Times and Wall Street Journal as well as Bon Appetit, Garden & Gun, Taste of the South magazines and many more.
Madison, WV
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Food was very good and service was very good. Very cozy and small and intimate. A great addition to the East Side of Charleston.

Helpful?
Thank LoraBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    118
    45
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beckley, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
487 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
“great food in the East End”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Located at the corner of Elizabeth and Washington Streets in Charleston's East End, the Bluegrass Kitchen offers excellent food at reasonable prices. In addition to their standard menu, in the past they have featured a daily rotating menu of appetizers and main courses; at our most recent visit last week, they seem to have reverted to their standard menu only. They also feature full bar service with an extensive listing of domestic and imported beers. The wife enjoyed "trout and grits," a perennial offering that never disappoints, while I had the "mojo pork chop," which was not only delicious but HUGE.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious, fun and contemporary!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Loved this restaurant! The food was very good, the prices were very reasonable and for a "small town" I felt the offerings, setting and staff were all very contemporary with a finger on the pulse of cuisine! Right on target! Loved it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TChat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good, but a bit pricey”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Nice variety on the menu, lots of vegetarian options as well as omnivore food. I had a lettuce wrap with tofu and veggies that was a special that evening and was $18. It was more expensive than my husband's chicken meal, and I had to assemble it myself. It was tasty, but a bit messy and overpriced.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawnna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Right off the highway.”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

On the way from N.C. to Akron, OH, my boyfriend and I were looking for a place to stop with local flair. Bluegrass is right near the capital building, and literally, 2 blocks from the highway. (Very easy on and off). Definite hipster vibe, with coffee house crowd in the small bar area and young hipster family's with babies in the dining area. Live music started at 7 and we were a little worried about this, but it ended up being totally appropriate. (Mellow acoustic guitar ala Leo Kottke or Michael Hedges.) Promising menu with specials like sweet potatoe dumplings and intriguing Trout with grits..... Alas, the meal was uneven. They were out of spring rolls so the waitress suggested the sweet potatoe dumplings as a starter. There were kind of like little Parisean gnocchi. They were dense and chewy with nothing sweet potatoish about them. But, as my boyfriend pointed out, they could have been made out of anything as the were coated in cream sauce, bacon and sage. They were gone in under a minute. My boyfriend had the fish and chips. He said the fish was great, the chips were not. They seemed old and were not crispy at all. I had the veggi burger which was disappointing. Something about it was smoked (maybe the tofu?) which didn't go with my expectations of a fresh and healthy option. It was mushy and bland, and no amount of cheese, "foodie catsup" or blue cheese dressing could help it. Seems like the kind of place you'd want to give another chance, but I doubt the wed stop there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peggiesfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bluegrass Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing