We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Honorable attraction.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Virginia Veterans Memorial

West Virginia Veterans Memorial
Ranked #7 of 42 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Site where sculptor Joe Mullins' work is displayed.
Holts Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honorable attraction.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Tasteful presentation in recognition and remembrance of our fallen soldiers from many wars. Easy to access in Capitol grounds.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhilTodd27T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This memorial was very well thought out and instills a sense of pride when you walk through and read the names listed on the walls. I highly recommend stopping in and seeing this sight.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

West Virginia did it right when they decided to honor their veterans!. The memorial is impressive from every angle and pays tribute to all the West Virginians who have served and especially to those who died. The memorial is located on the State Capitol grounds near the WV Cultural Center.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Well Done State Memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I grew up just outside DC and now live in Kentucky. I would expect to see the type of memorial that West Virginia has as something that might be in D.C. (just on a little grander scale). I did not expect to see something like it in West Virginia. Kentucky has some nice memorials too, but nothing like this that I've seen. Impressive job. A nice honor to those West Virginians who were lost in the 4 wars (WWI, WWII, Korea, Vietnam)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KYTravelingMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth Stopping To See Capitol Building and Memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were passing through Charleston and decided to stop to show our kids the capitol building. Pleasantly surprised to see the West Virginia Veterans Memorial. What an outstanding tribute to those who fought for our freedom! The statues representing the different wars had great detail and the names of those who died on the memorial reminds us of how many have died for our country, thus making the ultimate sacrifice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ontheroadagain7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Virginia Veterans Memorial also viewed

 

Been to West Virginia Veterans Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing