We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gorgeous”
Review of State Capitol

State Capitol
Ranked #2 of 46 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Designed by influential architect Cass Gilbert, this grand building, the highest state capitol dome in the United States, is open to the public for tours and features decadent interior details like marble walls a massive crystal chandelier.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“gorgeous”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

a must visit when in Charleston- so beautiful, inside and out. We must have taken over 100 pictures! The citizens of West Virginia have a building to be very proud to call their capitol

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mjrawles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    101
    27
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beauty!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Magnificent building and structure. I marvel at the dome every time I pass by it. Also, love that Slovak crystal chandelier inside. Have only visited on Sundays. Nice place to gather thoughts. Quiet and serene. Gorgeous. One of the best.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank GordonSolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, VA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Enjoyed a walk around the Capitol on a Sunday, good parking, pretty setting above river. River walk along shore just below Capitol Bldg.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The gold dome”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I wake up early in the morning. We were staying at the Holiday Inn suites . we drove into Charleston on and evening and could not see its beauty the next morning I was amazed to see the picturesque greenish Appalachian Mountains covering me from all sides ...well almost. the hotel room was tidy. It had fast internet and a nice breakfast .we drove the Capitol.be aware of the lane changes you have to make to cut in to the capitol parking lot.you can also walk around the street and walk still the places near the capitol.you can cover the city at your own pace.can do it add a quick stop over or can look around the city at your own pace.

Helpful?
Thank vasan316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Short but great tour”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

After seeing the gold dome many times on our way through Charleston, we decided to stop and visit the capitol building. The tour they offer is free and metered parking is available on site. The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the capital cities and the capitol buildings throughout history. The tour only goes through a few rooms in the building and then you are left to explore on your own. The architecture is very impressive and if you walk out to the front of the capitol, you are right on the river. The governor's mansion is directly across from the capitol and tours are offered there as well (times are more limited for that tour so call ahead). The West Virginia state museum and cultural center are also across from the capitol building so you can stop in and visit - no admission fee - before you leave the area.

For reference, we put 3 hours worth of change in the meter and were able to tour the capitol building, walk along the river and see the governor's mansion (we missed the tour), and get through the state museum (including a stop at the gift shop) before we ran out of time. Overall a great stop on our way through Charleston! Highly recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing