We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful! A beautiful example of Beaux Arts style by Cass Gilbert.”
Review of State Capitol

State Capitol
Ranked #2 of 46 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Designed by influential architect Cass Gilbert, this grand building, the highest state capitol dome in the United States, is open to the public for tours and features decadent interior details like marble walls a massive crystal chandelier.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful! A beautiful example of Beaux Arts style by Cass Gilbert.”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This building with its spectacular gold dome is lovely from the outside but inside is even lovelier. The rotunda, the ceilings in the hallways leading to the chambers, the curved ceilings that echo at the intersections on each end where the wings intersect and so much more. The details are phenomenal. And you can't forget the lovely fountain. My friends and I spent a lot of time in this building as a teen. It was such a pretty place. Then my first job I got to work for a short time there and graduated across the river from Morris Harvey College now Charleston University and got to see it daily from that view. I moved away almost 40 years ago but when I return to the Kanawha Valley I almost always visit this building. I love those old elevators with the brass cage doors. Oh and of course that memory from years ago of the concert on the lawn with John Denver when every audience member joining in and singing Country Roads.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    101
    27
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Building, Great History”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Take your time, read the plaques, go inside the building and look up in the rotunda! Its a magnificent building and has tons of stories and history if you can find staff to tell you about them.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WV Capitol”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

beautiful gold dome and setting on the river, pleasant staff, state museum right next door, good parking as long as legislature is not in session

Visited November 2012
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Fun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edchair
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Capitol”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This State Capitol is a beautiful building, and if you are into architecture and government buildings, it is worth viewing. The architect, Call Gilbert, also designed the US Supreme Court building and any lawyer instantly will recognize the similarities with the WV Supreme Court chambers.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank edchair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful capitol building”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This has got to be one of the most beautiful capitol buildings in the US. The dome is amazing. Take a nice stroll around the area to take in historic homes and the walkway along the Kanawha River.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing