We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful !”
Review of State Capitol

State Capitol
Ranked #2 of 47 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Designed by influential architect Cass Gilbert, this grand building, the highest state capitol dome in the United States, is open to the public for tours and features decadent interior details like marble walls a massive crystal chandelier.
Port Orange, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful !”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We like everything about the Capitol, the grounds,flowers etc.But of course we spent most of our life in WV.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leonard U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    106
    28
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
TX
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Beautiful Structure”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We visited the capitol building on a Friday afternoon and the tour guide was overwhelmed with guiding groups of school children, so we did our own tour. We were shocked that there was no security checkpoint like we have become accustomed to in so many public buildings. The building itself is impressive, especially the golden dome.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GFCTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“awesome capital building and area around it.”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

a very nice area to walk around as we had the grand kids with us and they loved walking around and running up and down the many steps.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, WV
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cass Gilbert at his best.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

It's one of America's finest pieces of archtecture, and the golden dome is breathtaking at dusk and dawn. Mountain Stage broadcasts from here, and the grounds are beautiful, too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ChairmanMoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a trip”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I like the Capitol. It is like a mini-mall at Washington DC. On a nice day, it's a good place to stroll about.

Helpful?
Thank mustangg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing