We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Your best bet for a budget motel in this area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Your best bet for a budget motel in this area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

I stay in the South Charleston are 3 to 10 days almost every month for business. I have tried many of the motels and hotels in the area. Let me tell you, this is your best bet for a decent budget motel in this immediate area. The staff are generally nice and efficient, the rooms are heavily used but good, the price is right, and there are several good restaurants within 200 yards. Parking gets a little tight if you want to park in the front, but there's plenty of parking in back. One side of the motel is literally eye-to-eye with the freeway, so if you're making reservations be sure to avoid that side of the motel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harrywv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    115
    63
    38
    39
See reviews for
104
93
56
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2010

It is right by the expressway so if road noise bothers you I wouldn't stay here but the room was clean and renovated. Good place for a one stay while traveling.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

I chose Red Roof Inn in Kanawha, first for the value and secondly for the location,. I stayed at Wingate there before and the location was awful. My room at Red Roof was nice and half the price No complimentary breakfast here but you pay for the extras at the higher priced places. . All in all i am very pleased with Red Roof in Kanawha and in fact i am returning there this very weekend..This motel is great for travel on the highways and the location and close bye restaurants make it a real winner....parking is safe and secure and the staff is very friendly and helpful....I would highly recommend this Inn to everyone.....

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oitspej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

We choose this motel based on the recent remodeling that led to positive reviews on TA. There weren't many positives for hotels in the Charleston area- even chains we might choose- so we opted for the Red Roof Inn in Kanawha.

Despite the remodeling, the furniture was worn already and the little details of housekeeping, such as clean light switches, appliance handles, a/c controls weren't attended to. The bathroom fan cover was on the toilet tank top and the fan itself was dust encased. This dust blew into the bathtub and floor. I used a cup of water to wash out the tub test and in doing so noticed the clean bathmat was wet. We exchanged this at the front desk.

We weren't provided with our wifi access code at checkin, so this necessitated a trip out in the cold and back to the front desk.

We were given a price reduction for our troubles.

Towels were skimpy and wouldn't have covered a person of size. No hairdryer.

Basically, this is a budget hotel that's good for sleeping and showering but other than that you really wouldn't want to spend much time there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMLAalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

My teenage daughter and I made a reservation here after searching hotels in the Charleston area where we were looking for a place to spend one night on the way back from a funeral. We were only going to be there to rest and were leaving early the next morning to drive to Lynchburg, Virginia to pick up a daughter from college. I checked Trip Advisor and saw good reviews and I agree with all of them. We reserved a king room because of the free wireless internet and the business work space. The room was there at the rate quoted on line with my AAA discount. We were checked in quickly and given a card with the wireless instructions and access code on it. The room was very nice and I absolutely loved the desk work area. The desktop table was facing out so you could sit in the nice office chair and watch tv while working at the computer. There was a great lamp on the desk area with a nice soft light and there were ample plugs for a laptop and cell phone chargers. The room had very nice carpet and the bathroom floor was a new faux wood. Everything was clean and neat looking. The only thing that I missed was an in-room coffee pot, but there is a little machine in the lobby that dispenses hot chocolate and other lattes and such, but in small cups. We grabbed a cup after we checked out in the morning and it was enough to get us started. There is a Wendys in the parking lot and also a very nice Bob Evans - both walking distance. There is an IHOP across the street along with lots of other restaurants just down the block in both directions. This is a very nice hotel in a convenient location along I-64/77. I would definitely stay there again if I find myself in the Charleston area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hennmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forestville, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

A nice spot located in the middle of shopping, near the airport and downtown. Pretty basic as motels go but the friendly staff and the location make it a good place to stay. Room was clean; furniture in good shape. Good computer wireless signal even though I was in the rear of the property. Walk to fast food and restaurants. About 10-15 minutes to the airport and the same to downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmjjgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

We stayed at the Red Roof Inn in Charleston, WV a couple weeks ago. We drove all day heading home from the beach and just needed to break up the trip. This one seemed to be the most convient for us. We were pleasantly surprised by the great service we received and the cleanliness of the rooms. We know the economical-chain hotels sometimes get a bad rap ...... but this one was definitely worth the stop and glad we made the right decision.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamTomas89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
6.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 23 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Charleston Capitol Hotel
#16 of 23 in Charleston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
4.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Property: Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
Address: 6305 MacCorkle Avenue Southeast, Charleston, WV 25304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great 100% Smoke-Free Charleston location, this Red Roof Inn is just minutes from the gold-domed Capitol Building, the Clay Center, the Civic Center, and the University of Charleston. It's an easy 15 minute drive to West Virginia Tech and West Virginia State University as well. The Tri-State Racetrack and Gaming Center is also close to this hotel. This Red Roof has easy access to such outdoor activities as skiing, whitewater rafting, and golf. When you check in, check out the fantastic amenities in our NextGen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable seating, and a large, flat-screen TV. This hotel also offers Premium Rooms with our newest renovation package and a welcome snack box in your room! Free WiFi in all rooms. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing