We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Mint Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Highly recommend this hotel whether you are traveling with pets or not. The room was exceptional clean. No hint of odor or previous tenant. They staff (Vin) at check in was courteous and helpful. Check out was simple. The hotel is close to gas station & several fast food restaurants.

Room Tip: Room was quiet...could not hear anyone on either side even tho they were occupied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terryannj1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time out of your schedule to share your stay with us. Thanks for the kind words about Vin. We look forward to seeing you on your return trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    118
    63
    39
    39
See reviews for
106
97
59
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

A bit over priced I thought compared to surrounding properties. Very difficult to locate the Inn if you don't know how to get to it. You can see the sign but not the Inn. It's hidden behind a Motel 6 & they didn't leave the light on for me. My room needed some bathroom repairs but still clean & a comfortable bed. front desk staff very helpful & polite. Not likely I'll ever stay there again.

Room Tip: Just hope you get ground floor as it's a crowded location. Constantly noisy due to traffic. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuzzbleed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
First I would like to apologize for all the issues you had while staying with us. We are off the road a bit and our sign is hidden by a tree at this time. I am working on having our sign moved or raised so it is more visible from the road. I apologize for the noise from the road. When staying with us if you are a light sleeper you would want to request a room on the front side of the motel. I hoe the next time your are in Charleston you will give us a better chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two days at this Red Roof and will visit this motel again. The rooms were completely renovated and clean. There was a refrigerator and microwave, plus a new flat screen tv in each room. The flooring is new hardwood-looking vinyl, which seemed much cleaner than most motel carpet. The room did have that stale motel odor the first night, thus the reason for 4 stars instead of 5. Everything was in good working order. The motel was very pet friendly, and there was alot of room for walking the dog. The staff was friendly and helpful when asked about restaurants in the area. There were several restaurants within walking distance, which was an added convenience to our stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cddobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I do apologize for the odor that was in your room. I will address that with my staff. We strive to make sure issues like this is taken care of before you arrive. We appreciate you choosing Red Roof Inn for your family and your pet. I hope to see you the next time you are in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Indiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed one night on our way home from Florida. Decided to book a premium king room just to see what it was like. Arrived around 10:30 and was immediately greeted by the lady working. She was very friendly and efficient with check-in. She noticed on the reservation that there were two of us staying in the room so she gave me a box of treats that come with the premium rooms. She said one was in the room already and that we both received one. The box included a bottled water, a bottle of orange juice, a full size microwave popcorn, a trail mix and two granola bars. The room was very modern looking with dark colored wood furniture and wooden floors. The bedroom had a large flat screen TV, microwave and refrigerator. The bathroom had the basin style sink along with a coffee maker and hair dryer. The room also had an iron and ironing board. Everything was very clean. The only issue I noticed was the some of the ceiling was beginning to peel away but it wasn't an issue for us. The mattress was comfortable. My only complaint recently with RRI's are the pillows. We have stayed at 5 different RRI's in the past month and they all seem to have very hard and flat pillows. Next time we travel we are just going to pack our own. There was no breakfast but they did have the complimentary coffee. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickMcCormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
What a nice review, thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Our premium rooms are new to Red Roof Inn and we are so glad you enjoyed the one you stayed in. At Red Roof Inn we try to make all of our guest feel welcomed and at home. I'm so glad we were able to do that for you. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

very sweet, smiling and GREAT customer service!! I even left my ID at the front desk and she brought it to me on her next round. She is by far the best hotel staff I have dealt with in a long time.Connie was her name and the property name is 059, could not say enough good about this woman and her work ethics!!

Room Tip: the Premium King room was awesome and a great price~!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thanks for all the kind words about Connie. She is a great asset to our company. I'm so glad she took Great care of you while you were staying with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
246 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Hotel was fine and a good place for out stop over to another location. There are several restaurants within a close proximity which was nice. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Check in and out was quick and coffee was available in this area. Just a couple of small problems, but nothing major. Would stay again at this stop.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We always appreciate it when our guest goes out of their way and takes the time to give us a review. It seems that your stay was alright our goal is to make it a Great stay. When staying with us please let us know if you have any issues so we have a chance to take care of it while you are here. Thanks so much for the review and we hope to see you the next time you are in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed at Red Roof mostly because they accept pets free of charge! They are also very conveniently located off of Interstate 77/64 at MacCorkle Avenue. The front desk staff are nice, but not what I would call overly friendly. They were very accommodating for us, as my Mom can't climb stairs well and needed a room on the ground floor. The room was nice and clean. It is half carpeted and half linoleum. The only sign of dirtiness was a few white specks on the grey carpet in between the beds. The counter between beds was very small and didn't have a drawer underneath like most do. Also, the A/C unit worked only when it wanted to (hi/lo cool), so we usually had to use the fan. The heat control is on the other side of the room. The beds were comfy, you can drive to your door, and there are many restaurants within walking distance. There is a Wendy's literally 2 steps from the hotel. It's only about 5 minutes to the airport and downtown Charleston. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor, drive up to your door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you choosing Red Roof Inn for your family and your pet. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
6.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 23 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Property: Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
Address: 6305 Maccorkle Ave SE, Charleston, WV 25304-2917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great 100% Smoke-Free Charleston location, this Red Roof Inn is just minutes from the gold-domed Capitol Building, the Clay Center, the Civic Center, and the University of Charleston. It's an easy 15 minute drive to West Virginia Tech and West Virginia State University as well. The Tri-State Racetrack and Gaming Center is also close to this hotel. This Red Roof has easy access to such outdoor activities as skiing, whitewater rafting, and golf. When you check in, check out the fantastic amenities in our NextGen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable seating, and a large, flat-screen TV. This hotel also offers Premium Rooms with our newest renovation package and a welcome snack box in your room! Free WiFi in all rooms. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing