We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hummmmm” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Fairmont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“hummmmm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Well...maybe these room have been redone..did not see before...or maybe we didn't get one..but we were told we got the premium...but...not as nice as pics on internet. Front desk was wonderful..everyone so over the top kind. wooden floors I like.no nasty carpet. Place was ok clean...I spilled water on the floor and wiped up with white towel and white towel was black...so, guess the floor don't get moped much...bed mattress didn't seem to old...ok comfort, which was good...pretty quite and water was hot...so it fit the bill...flat screen tv if you are a tv watcher. Had a pretty nasty odor which never when away. Actually the worse Red Roof we have ever stayed in...most of the time Red roof's are pretty nice...not Marriott..but then does not cost like the Marriott...No bugs in sight so that is a huge plus...If looking for a plain place to spend the night and don't expect anything fancy...this will work. commode and sink and bed were clean...A MUST!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spicysince2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to write this review. First let me apologize that your floor didn't seem to be mopped properly. I will address this with my staff. At Red Roof Inn we want your experience to be the best possible. We didn't meet those standards for you and for that I do apologize. I hope if you are ever in Charleston again you will give us a second chance to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    116
    63
    38
    39
See reviews for
104
94
56
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I have been staying at this inn several times a year for the past 30 plus years. In recent years it was getting a bit run down but it was convenient for me. They have now renovated all of the rooms and added a premium room category. Very nice. I appreciated the new king bed and the large desk for my computer and paper work.
Special mention for Connie at the front desk who is always very accommodating and pleasant and recommended the premium room. Thank you Connie!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
I’m so glad you like the new rooms, and recognizing the premium room, it is our best room. Connie is always there to take care of her guest; she just received an award from Red Roof Inn for all of her great accomplishments. We thank you for telling us about your stay and appreciate you taking the time to give us this great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I want to thank Connie at the Front Desk she is the only one that ever gets my boyfriends reservation correct and put his corporate code in to get his discount...the rooms are nice and clean I would differently recommend this hotel to anyone...Thanks Connie you are awesome

Room Tip: I like the preminum king room it is nice to have that snack in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Connie is an awesome employee and has recently won a very prestige award for her great customer service we are very privileged to have her as an employee. She always goes above and beyond for her guest and makes them feel at home. Thank you so much for recognizing Connie for all the hard work she does.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Lets begin by talking about Vin, the awesome gentleman who was at the front desk. We used this as a midway point while traveling for the first time with our infant daughter. We arrived pretty late and we exhausted but he was very kind, cheerful, and quick at getting us into our room. He asked us if there was anything he needed he'd be there and I think he genuinely meant it. On our way back home we stopped here again and he was even nicer (I didn't think that was possible). The hotel itself has just been renovated and is pretty nice for such a cheap price. A good "stop over" place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberly g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We appreciate the kind words about our renovation and Vin. He hasn't been with us but a short amount of time yet he has been able to step up and make our guest feel welcomed. We hope the next time you are in our area you will continue to choose Red Roof Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Excellent customer service. Connie at the front desk is always friendly and helpful. On multiple stays she has gone out of her way to make my stay more comfortable. It is always easy checking in and out as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review, Connie is a great employee and has recently won an award for her great customer service we are very fortunate to have her as an employee. She always goes above and beyond for her guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

The guy at the front desk charged my card through a glass window because I suppose he was afraid of being mugged or robbed. I asked if the rooms has been renovated and he assured me they had. We go to the room only to see stains on the blanket and dust and dirt every where. My husband suggested we just sleep on top of the blanket and just don't touch anything...tired from snow plowing in the storm...I said ok. First, we decide to pull back the sheets and check for bugs. We found crumbs and dirt! Ok, we pull the sheets back up. I go to fluff the pillow and there was the bug! We grabbed our stuff and ran back to the guy at the front desk. I explained what we saw...he pretended we were crazy. Then said, this is the Red Roof Inn, not the Ritz Carlton. I asked for my money to be put back on my card and he said no. He said, you used the room so you must pay for it! I said, we were there ten to fifteen minutes and he pretty much ignored me. He gave me phone numbers of the hotel and corporate; then told me, I better get pictures to back up my story!! I will NEVER stay there again. $54.99 for 15 minutes is ridiculous and I will be calling corporate in the morning. We are now comfortably at the Holiday Inn Express down the road.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyldflwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
First let me apologize for the issues you had during your stay. This is not the way we treat our guest. I will address these issues with my staff. The employee you spoke with was out of line, if you could call me at the Inn I will make sure you didn't get charged for the room. I also would like to apologize for the way you found your room; this is not Red Roof Inn's standards. If you ever travel back to Charleston I hope you would give us a better chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Arrived about 4:30 & greeted by an extremely nice and helpful Connie! She is absolutely great! Had premium King room which was very nice, clean & smelled good! Wendy's almost at our front door! Had our doggy Marley with us as pet friendly! Would recommend this Inn!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. Connie is a great employee and always tries to make our guest feel at home. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Red Roof Inn. Look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
6.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 23 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Charleston Capitol Hotel
#16 of 23 in Charleston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
4.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Property: Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
Address: 6305 Maccorkle Ave SE, Charleston, WV 25304-2917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great 100% Smoke-Free Charleston location, this Red Roof Inn is just minutes from the gold-domed Capitol Building, the Clay Center, the Civic Center, and the University of Charleston. It's an easy 15 minute drive to West Virginia Tech and West Virginia State University as well. The Tri-State Racetrack and Gaming Center is also close to this hotel. This Red Roof has easy access to such outdoor activities as skiing, whitewater rafting, and golf. When you check in, check out the fantastic amenities in our NextGen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable seating, and a large, flat-screen TV. This hotel also offers Premium Rooms with our newest renovation package and a welcome snack box in your room! Free WiFi in all rooms. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing