We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Room was clean near restaurants staff was friendly. There is no extras like shampoo hand lotion basic room. Priced a little high compare to other chains with more things to offer probably would look for different place if i'm in Charleston again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wltgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. I do apologize that didn't meet your expectations. We do have Pantene shampoo that should have been in every room. All of our rooms offer microwave, refrigerators, free Wi-Fi, free long-distance (within the USA) and we have upgraded rooms that even offer snacks and breakfast in the refrigerators. We try to stay within reason of our competitors. I'm sorry you didn't find that when you were here. I hope if you are ever back in the area you will give us a chance to better serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 398 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed @ this motel on 7/24/2013 and the staff was very proud to serve the public.I would stay there again in the future. The motel was clean and staff was willing help in any way.Team members name was Carol property name 059

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed over night on my way home from vacation in FL. I have stayed there many times before but they have renovated the rooms. They are done nicely and the beds are super comfortable. The place is convenient, clean and the staff are helpful and friendly. No issues with the stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKW35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

I'm so glad you liked our new remodel. We appreciate you sharing your opinion with us. I hope to see you the next time you travel through Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Connie at the front desk during the afternoon and evening shift was terrific.
Her counterpart during earlier in the day, Sherrie, was also excellent.
Together, they added buckets of good to our stay.
Their help at every turn was the highlight of our experience,
and I a confident that any reasonable guest would agree.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank henry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thanks for Recognizing Connie and Sherry for all of their efforts. They are both greatly appreciated and I’m glad they were able to help you during your stay with us. We appreciate you selecting Red Roof Inn and I look forward to seeing you again on your return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have stayed in the area in the past and decided to look into this inn; I spoke with Connie and Lisa and their personality won me over from the start. I decided to stay at this inn after meeting these employees and my stay was just as they stated, it was excellent. I entered the room and it looked and smelled fresh and clean; the linens were fresh and the bath towels were bright white. I checked the room and the corners were clean and free of any dirt or dust that can normally be found in corners. The no smoking policy was also very nice as I didn't have any burn marks on the bedding, counter tops, or tub; also no after smell of tobacco. There were some outside their rooms smoking, friendly folks that also didn't seem to mind not smoking in their rooms. I was not able to get on the internet; I think my laptop didn't get a strong enough signal, but that was still fine. This was a great stay and I look forward to returning when I'm back in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadtrip93x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thanks so much for all of your kind words. We appreciate you choosing us and look forward to seeing you again on your return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

New smoke free policy is GREAT! Room actual smelled like it had been scrubbed and cleaned.

Only issue was that the quality of the wireless internet service was terrible. If I would have been staying at this hotel to conduct business I would have quickly checked out. Signal was constantly dropping and required reconnection.

Room Tip: Like all pet friendly hotels there are some owners whom are not friendly to those who follow. Owner...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on your recent visit to the Charleston area. We are currently working with our WI-FI provider to correct any issues you had during your stay. We did have to replace a couple of pieces of equipment; I feel this has resolved these issues. We appreciate you choosing Red Roof Inn and hope to see you the next time your travel needs brings you through Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here on our way home from Maggi Valley NC, price was great, rooms new and resturant locations great. staff was very friendly, enjoyed the stay Pizza and sub place close to hotel lobby, Texas steak house, great prices and the Ihop has some of the best waiters, especially Steven T that I have ever had waited on me

Room Tip: always get superior king
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on your recent visit to the Charleston area. We are located near several restaurants within walking distance. I'm glad you were able to appreciate them during your stay. We appreciate you choosing Red Roof Inn and hope to see you soon on a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
4.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
4.6 mi away
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Charleston Capitol Hotel
#16 of 23 in Charleston
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV

Address: 6305 Maccorkle Ave SE, Charleston, WV 25304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $48 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great 100% Smoke-Free Charleston location, this Red Roof Inn is just minutes from the gold-domed Capitol Building, the Clay Center, the Civic Center, and the University of Charleston. It's an easy 15 minute drive to West Virginia Tech and West Virginia State University as well. The Tri-State Racetrack and Gaming Center is also close to this hotel. This Red Roof has easy access to such outdoor activities as skiing, whitewater rafting, and golf. When you check in, check out the fantastic amenities in our NextGen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable seating, and a large, flat-screen TV. This hotel also offers Premium Rooms with our newest renovation package and a welcome snack box in your room! Free WiFi in all rooms. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing