We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable and Pet Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
N Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
108 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Affordable and Pet Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were on our way home to Michigan after spending the winter in SC. All we wanted was a clean, safe place to stay that would allow us to bring our dog. We found that Red Roof perfectly fit the bill. It was less than HALF the price of one of the adjacent pet friendly places. Of course you should be aware that the accomodations are spartan, i.e., no in-room coffee pot, hairdryer, microwave or refrigerator.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on your recent visit to the Charleston area. While all of our rooms don't offer the extra amenities we now have a premium king that offers the hairdryer, Ironing board, Irons, coffee maker and a boxed breakfast, so the next time you are in the area try out one of these new rooms. We appreciate you choosing Red Roof Inn and hope to see you soon on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    117
    63
    39
    39
See reviews for
105
96
58
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seacoast N.H.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Room floor was dirty. I asked for and got a room with refrigerator/freezer which didn't work and leaked water all across the floor and our things. Food ruined inside. Stayed in 4 red roof inns this trip because of driving with our dog and this was the very grittiest

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herondoodle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for bringing this incident to our attention. I can assure you that this issue will be addressed immediately. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. I hope that you will allow us to make this right and visit us again for future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charleston hotels

Cincinnati
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is located very close to the freeway which is a good thing and a bad thing. Easy to find, but a little noisy with the traffic. One person working the front desk, very nice but very slow check-in process as hotel was full. The person in front of me was coming back to the front desk because the room they were assigned was not serviced. Luckily he didn't give them my room! I got the keys, and headed up to the room. Very surprised by the laminate hardwood floors. It was a very modern looking room. The bathroom was a tight squeeze and within five minutes unusable. My husband went down to get a plunger but was told by the front desk guy he was alone and couldn't shut down the office to get it until people stopped coming to check in. We waited nearly 45 minutes until my husband went back down to see if was less busy. We got the plunger and serviced it ourselves. Unfortunately the toilet was a slow running toilet, and even when unclogged, it still had issues with flushing. The bathroom itself was a little unclean, as there were hairs on the floor and on the bathroom shower walls, but there were no other rooms to move to, so we stayed there and dealt with it. At checkout we let them know of the issues, and they noted it but once again gave no discount or apology. Not going to recommend this one to others unless they do a better job of cleaning it and staffing it properly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckralston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
I apologize for the issues you had during your stay. When we expect to be busy I try to have extra coverage or I work late myself. I do understand your frustration. I have addressed the issues with your room with my staff. I ask that if you are ever back in the area to give us another try to redeem ourselves. We do appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I wish I could give this property a better rating because the room I was in was beautifully remodelled. Very chic, clean and comfy. The problem I had was a "clicking" noise that reoccurred every 15 minutes or so. It was so disruptive that it kept me from getting to sleep. I searched the entire room several time for the source of the noise, but never could figure it out. The next morning when I was checking out, I mentioned this to the desk clerk. She informed me that it was the room's heating unit making the noise when it came on. Apparently this is a common problem at this hotel because she knew right off the bat what it was. No matter how nice the room is, if you can't fall asleep, the room is of little value to you.

Room Tip: Ask the desk clerk for a room with a quite heating unit. She did say some of the units were noisier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VA_Cameo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell about your experience. I apologize for the heater making the noise in the room. I have addressed this with my staff and it has been corrected. I hope if you are ever back in our area you will give us another chance to better serve you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
128 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I had a very positive experience at Red Roof Inn - Kanawha City. The room was up-dated, clean and comfortable - and for at reasonable price. I had actually check-out and did some exploring in the area and then checked back in to stay for another night!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us while in Charleston. I'm glad you had some time to see some of the local sites. I hope if you are ever back in our area you will stop and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zebulon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We got the king size room, clean very friendly staff, lots help getting us direction around town. Restaurants very close by. Kmart and gas close too. The room smelled good and clean. We came to charleston to pick up a new Puppy. We had a great time if we ever come back To charleston I would say here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for telling us about your stay. I hope you enjoy your new puppy and when you return please bring him with you. We always welcome our pet friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Remodeled Red Roof Inns have become my choice for quick overnight stays. The only problems with this one was the outside noise -- when they remodeled, they should have spent a little extra to put in some sound insulation. If you are in a room that is facing the highway, you will hear large trucks all night, and if your room opens directly onto the parking lot, you will hear car noise as people and cars come and go.
But since comfortable beds and a clean room are my top priority, this met the need.

Room Tip: This seems to be a noisy location. For the most quiet, choose a room facing away from the highway a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homeschoolmtnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for telling us about your stay. I do apologize for the noise from the highway. We are looking into making some adjustments to the entry way in order to sound proof more. I understand your concern. I hope if you are back in our area again you will choose to stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
4.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
5.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Property: Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
Address: 6305 Maccorkle Ave SE, Charleston, WV 25304-2917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great 100% Smoke-Free Charleston location, this Red Roof Inn is just minutes from the gold-domed Capitol Building, the Clay Center, the Civic Center, and the University of Charleston. It's an easy 15 minute drive to West Virginia Tech and West Virginia State University as well. The Tri-State Racetrack and Gaming Center is also close to this hotel. This Red Roof has easy access to such outdoor activities as skiing, whitewater rafting, and golf. When you check in, check out the fantastic amenities in our NextGen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable seating, and a large, flat-screen TV. This hotel also offers Premium Rooms with our newest renovation package and a welcome snack box in your room! Free WiFi in all rooms. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing