We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a solid "3;" great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband, kids and I stayed in this hotel for a one night stay on our way out west. Since you never know what to expect with hotels, I was a little worried but did my research on TripAdvisor and I felt pretty comfortable booking it after I read the recent reviews. On arrival, the front desk clerk was extremely helpful and friendly, offered me extra towels, asked if I preferred upstairs or downstairs and made my check-in very smooth and efficient. The room was very clean (save a cobweb in the window), fresh sheets (I checked!) and looked recently remodeled. Laminent hardwoods in the bathroom were a nice touch! Check-out was also very smooth and the front desk clerk gave me several packs of coupons (which I have already used at home). I would recommend this hotel for travelers as a great place to spend the night. We were very pleased. Note: It is right off the interstate in the city so be aware the area looks somewhat run down.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back facing the interstate and therefore away from all the parking lot lights of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesleykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 400 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night with our two cats. (Yes I know you are only allowed one pet, but come on, together they weigh the amount of a small dog!). The room was clean, a decent size, and smelled slightly musty, but okay for one night. The scariest part were the other hotel guests we saw smoking outside, but that is MacCorkle Ave for you- at least that part of it. I'd lock your car though and take out any belongings. It was much better than the Knights Inn on MacCorkle that we've stayed in. I wouldn't even shower there!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eafink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We arrived here for a one night stay after calling around and pricing hotels. I was surprised at the prices of the hotels around here! The red roof inn offered an excellent price, only 66 dollars for a business king size room. Although the location is a little offset, its a not a ghetto or anything and we were graciously helped by connie (the manager I presume). she was extremely helpful not just with the room but with directions back to the highway! The hotel wasn't beautiful on the outside (I prefer indoor access to rooms) but the room turned out to be very nice and very clean! Kudos

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haleytamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Red Roof Inn was basic but just fine, and a good $ value compared to other motels in the area. It was great that we could have our dog with us without paying a pet fee. The staff were very friendly. The furnishings and fixtures were a little low-budget but our room was clean and well-kept. The location is safe but unremarkable (completely surrounded by the interstate and a busy road) but just a few minutes' drive got us into Charleston for a nice dinner at Soho. We paid an extra $10 for the upgraded room with fridge and microwave, which were nice. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask to be facing away from the interstate if you're bothered by traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stay at this Red Roof Inn every year when we come to Charleson, WV. The price is reasonable compared to other hotels in Charleston and all the amenities are included in the room rate.

The hotel staff is very nice and the location is convenient to everything we want to do during our annual visit to WV.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Of my nine day trip- this motel was the worse value for my dollar. I will say the room was clean, nothing crawled, there was no mildew in the shower, the sheets and towels smelled good. But the mattress! It looked as though a 500lb person had been sleeping in it for a year. I was told they were in the process of replacing the old mattresses which is fine, but I don't expect to pay $80 to sleep in someone else's "nest". If I can't have the room with the new mattress- at least have the decency to cut me a deal on the room rate. And no breakfast- nada. The last Red Roof Inn I stayed at gave us vouchers for breakfast at Dunkin Donuts. The Knights INN in Eau Claire- A Knights INN! At least had cereal, toast and danish- for $39/night. The area seemed sketchy and I worried about my bike all night- but it was fine. But I will never stay here again and I cannot recommend it. I can do much better for $80 and so can you.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MotorcycleTraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I was traveling from Hickory, NC to Cleveland, Ohio. I got a late start so decided to stop and spend the night in Charleston. I have always had good experiences with Red Roof Inns, and this one had good reviews. Well the reviews were right. The staff was very friendly. The gentleman and lady were very nice and had a great sense of humor. The room was clean and spacious.
I definitely would recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
4.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
4.6 mi away
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Charleston Capitol Hotel
#16 of 23 in Charleston
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV

Address: 6305 Maccorkle Ave SE, Charleston, WV 25304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $48 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great 100% Smoke-Free Charleston location, this Red Roof Inn is just minutes from the gold-domed Capitol Building, the Clay Center, the Civic Center, and the University of Charleston. It's an easy 15 minute drive to West Virginia Tech and West Virginia State University as well. The Tri-State Racetrack and Gaming Center is also close to this hotel. This Red Roof has easy access to such outdoor activities as skiing, whitewater rafting, and golf. When you check in, check out the fantastic amenities in our NextGen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable seating, and a large, flat-screen TV. This hotel also offers Premium Rooms with our newest renovation package and a welcome snack box in your room! Free WiFi in all rooms. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing