We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice stay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
143 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Nice stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stay at this Red Roof Inn every year when we come to Charleson, WV. The price is reasonable compared to other hotels in Charleston and all the amenities are included in the room rate.

The hotel staff is very nice and the location is convenient to everything we want to do during our annual visit to WV.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hallpau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    111
    57
    36
    36
See reviews for
99
85
54
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Of my nine day trip- this motel was the worse value for my dollar. I will say the room was clean, nothing crawled, there was no mildew in the shower, the sheets and towels smelled good. But the mattress! It looked as though a 500lb person had been sleeping in it for a year. I was told they were in the process of replacing the old mattresses which is fine, but I don't expect to pay $80 to sleep in someone else's "nest". If I can't have the room with the new mattress- at least have the decency to cut me a deal on the room rate. And no breakfast- nada. The last Red Roof Inn I stayed at gave us vouchers for breakfast at Dunkin Donuts. The Knights INN in Eau Claire- A Knights INN! At least had cereal, toast and danish- for $39/night. The area seemed sketchy and I worried about my bike all night- but it was fine. But I will never stay here again and I cannot recommend it. I can do much better for $80 and so can you.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MotorcycleTraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I was traveling from Hickory, NC to Cleveland, Ohio. I got a late start so decided to stop and spend the night in Charleston. I have always had good experiences with Red Roof Inns, and this one had good reviews. Well the reviews were right. The staff was very friendly. The gentleman and lady were very nice and had a great sense of humor. The room was clean and spacious.
I definitely would recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill
Level Contributor
348 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The staff here needs more training. This is a rather large property but the staff person did not know where my room was. Even with her map she got it wrong. Luckily I found it without too much effort. The room was quite attractive and appeared to be recently remodeled. Then evening came. I was in the middle of a party that woke me at mid-night. Finally at 1 AM when it did not subside I called the front desk. At 1:30 I called the front desk again. Finally at 1:40 I heard the desk person ask them to be quiet. Amazingly they were up at 8 in the morning chatting up a storm again outside my room. The hotel did take a small amount off my bill but quicker action would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courthouse067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Street, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I've stayed at this Red Roof before-this time I stayed for 5days. Its quiet, clean, safe and can easily access the Interstate(s). The location is kinda of odd. The staff is attentive and knowledgeable. Will stay here again if in the area

Room Tip: If your staying several nights get a business room-much more room to spread out and not really much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAHumaneOfficer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault, MI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

There are no luxuries here, but the room was clean, I could park right outside the room, and it was clean... Nice even. I wanted a clean place that was easy to get to from the interstate, and this fit the bill, for a good price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shenendoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Clearly an older property that was re-done about 5-10 years ago. The rooms are OK, the bathrooms re-done etc. Ours was a non-smoking room but has that smell about it that once upon a time it was a smoking room... The bathroom had been cleaned, but was not really 'clean' there was dirt in the corners as if a worker had used the room last and cleaned their boots off in there!
When we arrived the AC had been left on full blast, despite it being March - and consequently the place was freezing... Fortunately the rooms have nice silent wall mounted radiant heaters, not just a "heat setting" on the window unit. One the place warmed up it was nice and quiet (we were on the side away from the highway).
And yes, Red Roof still has that annoying $1.50 charge for "insurance" on your room safe - its just sooo annoying - I'd rather they just charge $1.50 more for the room!
Oh - and NO breakfast, just a few pots of coffee I didn't bother trying.
There's a nice new Comfort Inn on the North side of Charlotte up I79 where we'll probably stay next time.

Room Tip: Ask for the side away from I-77
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonB-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
6.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 24 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
4.6 mi away
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Charleston Capitol Hotel
#16 of 24 in Charleston
3.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Property: Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
Address: 6305 Maccorkle Ave SE, Charleston, WV 25304-2917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing