We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Marriott Town Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
86 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

This is a lovely downtown hotel that is just like any other convention center hotel. Comfortable rooms, lovely space but there they over charge for almost anything. We had a nice stay but there might be a better deal around here.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank akrsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    189
    101
    32
    8
See reviews for
103
90
25
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, West Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed here because of it's location in regards to the Civic Center (across the street). When we arrived we noticed a line of customers waiting to get checked in, but at the same time the manager saw the line getting longer and brought two other people over to quickly get the customers taken care of. Later that evening the manager sent me a text message asking if we were enjoying our say and if we needed anything. Great customer service and I'll be staying at this hotel every time I go anywhere near Charleston, WV.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

I stayed for business recently at this downtown hotel. It is a large Marriott with a nice lobby. There is an adjacent parking garage for which the hotel charges self-parkers $9 per night. There is a nice mall directly across the street with some good restaurant choices. The room was adequate with a nice flat screen TV with a very good picture. The bathroom was small and although the room has a balcony, access is precluded by a special lock. The bed was comfortable. The AC was nothing short of horrible as it would not cool down. I called for maintenance who promptly responded and indicated they had done something hotel-wide with regard to cooling and it should kick in shortly. It seemed to get better, but by the morning, it would not cool at all. The fitness center was adequate with some free weights as well aerobic machines.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FTLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawrenceville,ga
Level Contributor
301 reviews
245 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times for meetings at the Civic Center, which is across the street.
My client has booked me each time and direct billed the room. I look forward to my visit as I know this hotel treats its guests wonderfully. Steve, at the front desk, could not have been nicer. From start to finish the stay was perfect: check in, room, shuttle, restaurant! The hotel is older but the rooms are updated, quiet and comfortable. The focus on the customer make it a 5 star for me! You are truly appreciated at this location! Thanks for another wonderful stay! I hope to return for again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank motherjanegoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

Very friendly and helpful front desk/staff upon arrival. Hotel is conveniently located directly across from Charleston Town Center Mall as well as the Charleston Civic Center. A stone's throw. Plenty of restaurants to choose from that are in walking distance. Room was very clean and beds comfortable. Very quiet too. The only negative was the room temperature. Tried to adjust temps down from a warm 68dgrs, but it still stayed warm. Another convenience is that you are close to the interstate, but not close that you hear traffic noise.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bio2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

My partner and I spent two nights, four days apart, at the Marriott Charleston Town Center and overall we enjoyed our stays. Before our first night at the hotel, I received a warm e-mail greeting from Daniel, the rooms coordinator. I had never received such a nice greeting prior to check-in and really appreciated the thoughtful touch.

The first room that we stayed in was a king bedroom located on the eighth floor. The room was somewhat dated (reminded me of 1980s), but the furnishings were in good condition and the bed was quite comfortable. The second room, located on the twelfth floor, seemed nicer than the first room although I could not determine why I thought so. It was also nicely furnished and and comfortable. Both rooms featured flatscreen TVs and a wide variety of cable channels. The Marriott offers guests fine Bath & Body Works products, which is a step up from usual hotel toiletries.

My partner and I ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant and were pleased with the food and service. There are also several restaurants located in close proximity to the hotel.

Service was consistently friendly and efficient.

We would gladly stay at the Marriott Charleston Town Center again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCHeretic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

I stay at this hotel for almost 2 weeks, I can say that is not the best mariott ever but for the area, I think that is the best hotel.

The room are pretty large with Flat screen TV, the bathroom are normal but clean.
I went to the fitness and it is pretty large compare to other hotels. But the swimming pool and the hot tub looks old and not so clean...
Also the internet is very expensive 13 $ and very slow...

I went to the restaurant on the 1st floor, the food and price are decent.

Also if you are a Mariott Reward member, I highly suggest to take the Floor 12 and 14 as they are concierge floor with lounge (breakfast included) .

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canadair2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#10 of 24 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott Town Center

Property: Charleston Marriott Town Center
Address: 200 Lee St E, Charleston, WV 25301-1508
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott Town Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unmatched travel experience at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Charleston, West Virginia, our hotel offers guests superior amenities, gracious service, and comfortable accommodations. Our guest rooms and suites are designed to facilitate relaxation and productivity, boasting features like high-speed Internet access, plush bedding, and expansive floor-to-ceiling windows. Begin your morning in our state-of-the-art fitness center and indoor pool, before exploring a variety of local attractions, including the adjacent Charlestown Town Center Mall. However you choose to spend your day, we invite you to dine with us at our popular on-site restaurant, Brick Salt Bar+Kitchen, which features modern American cuisine. If visiting Charleston for business, you'll be delighted by our comprehensive on-site corporate facilities, which encompass 17,500 square feet of modern meeting room space. We look forward to your visit here at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your Charleston Marriott Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Charleston Town Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing