We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed October 18, 2006

we were in charleston for a wedding and stayed at the marriott. driving up, the property does not look that impressive, but it's a different story when you walk through the doors. the lobby is open, spacious, clean and elegant. we were pleasantly greeted and quickly checked into our non smoking king size room. the bathroom had marble floors and the shower was spotless. the bed was HEEEAVENLY. i love that hotels these days are competing with one another to see who has the best beds. but we slept very well on the beds. as we were only in town for one night, we didnt get to explore much. but we did do the brunch buffet in the restaurant adjacent to the lobby and had a great experience there. everything tasted like good homemade goodness and the prices were affordable at about $9/person. the hotel is not an over the top luxurious place, but it is clean, safe, efficent and overall very comfortable.

on a random note, west virginians are SOOOOOO nice! being from nyc, my fiance and i were a bit taken back at first. but it was very nice :).

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank santokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
There are newer reviews for Charleston Marriott Town Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 550 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2006

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. The room was very updated and comfortable. The staff was super friendly. It is very convenient to the Towne Center Mall(across street), the river, Municipal Auditorium and Civic Center(across street). Everything is within walking distance, but if you don't want to walk, they are very generous with their shuttle.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank danvillegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2006

We stayed here after a half-cross-country week on the road, and this was the last hotel we stayed it. Overall it was the best. We paid $52 via Priceline for a Saturday night stay. We arrived fairly late to find the hotel very busy. They were hosting not only a high school reunion, but a business convention as well. There were a few of us in line to check in, but immediately they sent an extra person to check us in, who could not have been nicer. He was considerate of us being alone and in a hotel with a lot going on, and assigned us to a room high up. We got a king non-smoking like we wanted. We paid the small parking fee, and parked in the garage right at the hotel. Hungry and tired, we went to the hotel bar for something to eat. They were very very busy and despite the waitress being overwhelmed, she was thoroughly delightful. We had some drinks and an appetizer and enjoyed the smoke-free environment. Upstairs in our room we sank into the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in. I felt like I was in my own private cocoon. They had a brochure for the bedding items, and I can see why....they're so wonderful. The next morning we both enjoyed the wonderful shower. My husband proclaimed it the best of the trip.
I have no idea why this is not considered a 4 -star hotel. It has to be a lack of valets and concierge, because the room itself, the bed, the shower, the amenities...all are very 4-star.

Stayed: July 2006
10  Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2006

We (myself 42yrs, friend 38yrs and our two daughters 9 years old) stayed at this property on a Saturday night holiday week-end. The property was good by Marriott standards, clean and had the new bedding. Some areas could have used updating. Pool and Fitness center very nice, and open late, pool crowded on our stay. The best feature of this hotel is proximity to the shopping complex across the street, loads of nice stores and restaurants. You can even get your nails done! Room service HUGE disappointment, had to go get our own dessert!!!!! Lack of staff! Parking $6.00 additional. Great place for a city stay!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Travelmom29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2006

Spent one night at this Marriott on our way to Kentucky. This was a very good choice. The hotel was very clean. Rooms were a nice size and so was the bathroom. Beds very comfy as they are at all Marriotts. Found the restaurant to be very good for our late mid-day meal, Grilled Reuben was delicious! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cherber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2006

My husband and I stayed one night. Friendly service. Clean, comfortable accomodations. We loved the bed. Nice size bathroom. Adequate fitness center. I wish more hotels were like this.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chrolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2006

Between October of 2005 and March 2006, I spent about 21 nights at the Marriott Charleston Town Center over the course of about 10 stays. I would describe this as a very middle of the road, full-service Marriott. The location is in the heart of the civic-center district of Charleston and is directly across the street from the mall. The lobby is in good condition, but a bit dated.

One area where service suffers a bit is the front desk, often times I have found more trainees working than veterans, which can lead to extended check-in times. I would recommend trying to check-in before 6 PM if you desire a non-smoking room. I understand that in all hotels they sell out first, but here the situation seems to be a bit more acute.

The standard rooms have yet again that middle of the road feel. Bed linens have been updated recently and the beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are clean, but again do have a dated appearance.

One area of kudos goes to the excellent evening room service staff. Good service is available until midnight and the staff does go above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable and well taken care of.

The concierge lounge is average for a Marriott. Free beverages are available throughout the day and it allows for a free continental breakfast in the morning. Usually eggs and waffles are available too. In the evening the lounge has a large TV and hot appetizers available with free beverages; alcoholic beverages are charged.

Considering it's Charleston, WV, the Marriott is probably the best place to stay in town. It get's an average rating compared to the universe of hotels, but is the number one choice for the area.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank vandalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#8 of 23 in Charleston
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott Town Center

Address: 200 Lee St E, Charleston, WV 25301-1508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $111 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott Town Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unmatched travel experience at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Charleston, West Virginia, our hotel offers guests superior amenities, gracious service, and comfortable accommodations. Our guest rooms and suites are designed to facilitate relaxation and productivity, boasting features like high-speed Internet access, plush bedding, and expansive floor-to-ceiling windows. Begin your morning in our state-of-the-art fitness center and indoor pool, before exploring a variety of local attractions, including the adjacent Charlestown Town Center Mall. However you choose to spend your day, we invite you to dine with us at our popular on-site restaurant, Brick Salt Bar+Kitchen, which features modern American cuisine. If visiting Charleston for business, you'll be delighted by our comprehensive on-site corporate facilities, which encompass 17,500 square feet of modern meeting room space. We look forward to your visit here at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charleston Marriott Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Charleston Town Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing