We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2009

I was very disappointed in the Marriott. When you think of the Marriott hotels you think very nice. The lobby and the meeting rooms were very nice. The staff and restaurant were very nice. The rooms were not any thing special. There was no wireless. I could not believe I could go to McDonalds and get wireless internet but not in my hotel room. The rooms were okay but needed some updating. There was no exhaust fan in the bathrooms, so the mirror stayed fogged up. The ceiling in the main room had a stain on it like they had a problem with leaking. The furniture was in need of replacing. It was not what I had expected with such a well know hotel. There is no breakfast. I can go to a lot cheaper hotel and have a really nice breakfast. The rooms are not quiet. The sound from outside and even from the rooms next door are not good. I could hear the man next door yawning. The no wireless just blew me away. Everyone depends on their computers for business and family contacts when they are away from home and a hotel that you spend these prices on wants you to pay 12.95 a day for this convience. Sorry I'll go to Super 8 next time, I would have the same quality of room at a lot cheaper price. Even with the access they had in the Business Center, there were two computers and only one of them worked and the speed was slow. If the conference I was in town for had not been in the Marriott I would have changed hotels. I think that is where they no they can stick it to you.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eaglesfly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    204
    107
    35
    8
See reviews for
110
96
27
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

We stayed here thinking that it would be the best place in town - after staying there we were very disappointed. Front desk service was good and then it was downhill after that. Rooms are tired and bathroom not very clean. Beds not comfortable.
Service in the restaurant was awful and mediocre.
We have stayed at many Marriott's and this is the worsst one ever.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2009

I booked a room taking advantage of the Valentine's Day weekend special. It was a joke. The room was noisy, the service at the restaurant was horrible and the room was not that nice for a Marriott property. We walked down to the Embassy Suites next door and it was a much more pleasant atmosphere, at least in the atrium and bar. I don't know what the rooms look like at Embassy, but they can't be any worse than the Marriott and I will never take advantage of a special in Charleston again. We drove several hours to be let down.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2009

We got a decent price-- $95 a night, and wanted an indoor pool for our toddler, a must in 30 degree weather. The pool, unfortunately, was dirty, with hair and unidentified bits floating in cloudy water. The room was ok and appeared clean. Avoid the restaurant. Food was bad even compared to the average in Charleston (notorious for its lack of decent restaurant options). If you are expecting Marriott-level quality, forget it. Next time we will try the Embassy and hope we have better luck.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Geo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Springs, West Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

I am an experienced world traveler and have seen very nice, mediocre and pretty bad hotels. I love Marriott branded hotels typically and feel the overall quality of them is higher than most other chains.

The Charleston Marriott Town Center unfortunately doesn't QUITE live up to the standard Marriott has set. I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years since it opened in the mid 80s. Don't get me wrong, it is a nice hotel and is clean and updated in most ways, but unfortunately lacks in several others.

Internet access of any type is always charged for at the full-service hotels Marriott has including JW Marriott, Renaissance and Ritz-Carlton. If you want free internet, you have to choose one of the "by Marriott" brands like Residence Inn, Courtyard and Fairfield. I still wish Marriott full-service hotels had complimentary internet and that it was wireless in guest rooms.

Another challenge at this hotel is that since it is in downtown, you have to pay $9/day for parking. I'd rather the parking be free of course but my real complaint about it is that it's a garage and then an elevator ride to the first floor and then a walk over into the hotel lobby and then up to your room. It's simply not convenient and depending on the weather can be annoying.

The last thing about this hotel is that other Marriotts that aren't brand new have been renovated and have the new luxury feel of Marriott. This one has it a little in the lobby but not really anywhere else. The rooms have been partially redone and while they're nice enough, they're not at the level of others.

While the carpet looks good and the chair/ottoman, there's peeling paint in the bathroom over the shower, quite a few of the TV channels were unwatchable due to lines or "digital-sweep", drawers in the dresser/TV combo didn't work properly, the blinder curtains didn't completely close, etc. It's too many little things not up to par that leave a feeling of the hotel needing attention in general.

The most ANNOYING thing about staying there is that in the winter when the heat is on, you CANNOT adjust the temperature cooler. There's actually a laminated notice above the thermostat explaining they have a two pipe system and if you want your room cooler, you need to open your sliding door! Remember, you're in a downtown location ... so if you want quiet, it's hard to do when you're cooling your room down with the door open.

All in all, its a nice hotel but needs quite a bit of TLC to make it truly accommodating. Staying there isn't convenient. It seems you're constantly accommodating for the hotel. It is one of the nicest hotels in Charleston WV but I think the newer Embassy Suites down the street is probably a better option regardless of whether you're going for business or pleasure. Or, the Residence Inn is another good option with free parking, free internet, etc.

  • Liked — rooms were pretty clean
  • Disliked — overall quality was lacking and the property was just too inconvenient in general
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank luvs2tvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2008

We stayed the this Marriott for a Carrie Underwood concert. I always book Marriott hotels because I know I am guaranteed a clean room, comfy bed, down comforter, and feather pillows. This hotel was very nice because we parked in the parking garage and did not move our car until the next day. We walked across the street to the mall, then to Bennigan's to eat, and then to the civic center to the concert. The hotel is beautiful and very clean. i would even book this hotel just for a quick shopping trip to the mall.

  • Liked — Comfy bed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jchsbiologyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2008

The biggest plus was the bed...very comfortable. The staff was polite and all spoke English. We had a room over the reception tent and the music was too loud. About 0351 AM some frat brats were playing on the next door balcony...the doors to which are supposed to be locked for safety... I peeked out my window about that time to see what was... and from the 3rd floor I saw this kid scaling the mechanical units and finally hoisting himself over the balcony next to us...We were on the fifth floor by the way. It just got noisier after that... It wasn't a bad stay...but my biggest issue is internet wasn't free...$10 per day for a room that already cost $135...Ridiculous and greedy...

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — lack of connectivity to the internet
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slimtank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott Town Center

Property: Charleston Marriott Town Center
Address: 200 Lee Street East, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott Town Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unmatched travel experience at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Charleston, West Virginia, our hotel offers guests superior amenities, gracious service, and comfortable accommodations. Our guest rooms and suites are designed to facilitate relaxation and productivity, boasting features like high-speed Internet access, plush bedding, and expansive floor-to-ceiling windows. Begin your morning in our state-of-the-art fitness center and indoor pool, before exploring a variety of local attractions, including the adjacent Charlestown Town Center Mall. However you choose to spend your day, we invite you to dine with us at our popular on-site restaurant, Brick Salt Bar+Kitchen, which features modern American cuisine. If visiting Charleston for business, you'll be delighted by our comprehensive on-site corporate facilities, which encompass 17,500 square feet of modern meeting room space. We look forward to your visit here at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charleston Marriott Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Charleston Town Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing