We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to being just like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Spokane, Wa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Close to being just like home”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Large room which was nice so you didn't have to dance around a partner to get from one part of the room to another. The amenities of the room were pretty much Mariott standard. Good size desk to work at which was nice as this was a business trip. Resturant served great food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegreatdentini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie c, Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you so much for the positive comments regarding your stay with us. We strive to provide brillant service and excellent food. Your feedback will be shared with our staff who really make it all happen to make your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    209
    111
    36
    8
See reviews for
114
100
28
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is the second conference my organization has had at this facility. I cannot say enough good things about this Marriott. First, it is very clean. From the sleeping rooms to the restaurant and the conference rooms. The staff go above and beyond to rectify the few issues we had immediately. They were easy to find. The front desk is also very helpful and cooperative. The maid service in the rooms also does a great job. This hotel worked with us in planning and were able to adapt to to changes for us. I highly recommend this hotel to any conventions. The location directly across the street from the mall make eating choices and shopping easy without requiring a car. And I believe they have an airport shuttle. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess Kathy ... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie c, Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you so much for the positive comments regarding our staff service. Your feedback lets us know that we are meeting your expectations and providing brilliant service. I will share your comments with our staff who are responsible for making your conference a great experience. Again, thank you and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alstead, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I stayed this weekend at this hotel in Charleston WV. GREAT location across the street from an excellent mall. They gave me a fantastic room with a conference table for the regular rate (I am a gold member, so that may have had something to do with it). Excellent space to meet clients with a separate bedroom and a huge bathroom with double sinks. 2 TV's. Wonderful customer service as well. Van driver and bellman ROD drive me in the van to a great place for dinner as I didn't want to eat at a chain restaurant. Took me inside and handed me over to the waiter and asked for a table for me and came IN to get me when I called for a pick-up. Super service from everyone at the hotel, nice pool too.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie c, Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you so much for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We strive to provide brillant service for our guests and we are happy to know that one of our bellmen was able to make a brilliant impression during your stay. Again thank you for taking the time to provide us with with such positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanex
Level Contributor
398 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Good location, convenient to most areas of Charleston. Older but in good shape. Snafu with room service picking up our order for breakfast one morning. Friendly staff. Would return. There may be a possible billing problem, waiting for credit card charge to move from pending status.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 894robertj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie c, Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you for providing us with positive feedback regarding your stay. We continusouly work to improve our service and your comments have been shared with those areas in which we did not meet your expectations. Again that you for your feedback and we hope to see you again for future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

This hotel definitely has location going for it being next to Macy's and the Civic center. As a frequent traveler I did expect the rooms to be kept a bit better. Rooms overall are showing age and could use some updating. The large pillows on the bed had yellow stains under the cases so those were discarded into the chair for the night. Overall cleanliness was ok otherwise. Lobby is nice, did not try the restaurant

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stomer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie c, Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel with your feedback. Although we were not able to meet all of your expectations by providing amazing service, it is our goal to provide that type of service for our guests. Your comments let us know that we need to continue to work on the area of providing brilliant service. Thank you again and we hope to host you again for future visits to Charleston WV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
148 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is across the street from Macy's and a couple of blocks from the riverfront. We were there on the evening of the Fourth of July working our ways towards Washington, D.C. There was lots going on along the riverfront, and we found a restaurant we really enjoyed. The lobby of the hotel itself is nice enough but the rooms, especially the bathroom, are very small. Breakfast was not included, and the only available breakfast type food was at a Starbucks coffee bar in the lobby that a few bagels and a little bit of fruit. I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaAudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie c, Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. While it looks like there were many positive aspects of your stay it appears that there were a few opportunities that we did not meet. Although we do have a full breakfast buffet available on the weekends in our Brick Salt Bar+Kitchen available to our guest, we also offer room rates that do include that breakfast for future visits to Charleston. Marriott also has a variety of brands which include complimentary breakfast such as our Residence Inn property in Charleston which may better suit your needs. Again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallipolis, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a large Marine Corps League Convention. I couldn't have been more pleased! We were very late checking in and was unable to get the double room with a fridge I requested. The front desk quickly upgraded us to a king suite without questioning and had a rollaway setup in less than 30 minutes. Room was clean and inviting; AC worked well. Bed was comfortable, even the rollaway. Housekeeping staff, Jackie, introduced herself in the hallway and offered assistance as needed. Turndown service checked on us each evening. Front desk staff was always friendly and efficient. The hotel handled the large crowds efficiently.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Berent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie c, Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for the positive comments in regards to our staff and the hotel product. Providing brilliant service is what we teach and expect from all our associates so I is very encouraging to hear that on of our housekeepers did exactly that. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
118 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott Town Center

Property: Charleston Marriott Town Center
Address: 200 Lee St E, Charleston, WV 25301-1508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott Town Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unmatched travel experience at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Charleston, West Virginia, our hotel offers guests superior amenities, gracious service, and comfortable accommodations. Our guest rooms and suites are designed to facilitate relaxation and productivity, boasting features like high-speed Internet access, plush bedding, and expansive floor-to-ceiling windows. Begin your morning in our state-of-the-art fitness center and indoor pool, before exploring a variety of local attractions, including the adjacent Charlestown Town Center Mall. However you choose to spend your day, we invite you to dine with us at our popular on-site restaurant, Brick Salt Bar+Kitchen, which features modern American cuisine. If visiting Charleston for business, you'll be delighted by our comprehensive on-site corporate facilities, which encompass 17,500 square feet of modern meeting room space. We look forward to your visit here at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Marriott, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Charleston Marriott Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Charleston Town Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing