We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Very comfortable room, loved the extra pillows and the staff was fantastic. The tale of my stay had two sides. In the middle of it, Charleston had a water emergency because of a chemical spill. Even still, the staff remained positive and helpful during the tough circumstances, and provided bottled water. Housekeeping had lots of nice extra touches, such as rolling up my loose powercords and neatly arranging my scattered toiletries on a towel. The shuttle service was excellent. Never got to try the food or bar because of the water spill. It's also in a good location - walking distance to downtown shopping, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsfarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for your very positive comments about the entire hotel staff. I will make sure to pass your comments on to the entire hotel as this is what truly energizes all the staff. They all work hard and this just helps reinforce what type of guest service they are providing. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 569 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here so that we could attend WinterJam 2014. The building was so well maintained that it looked new. The staff was very friendly. We were initially overcharged by 40 plus dollars, but this was corrected when the charge posted to our account. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wvfan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback in regards to your stay. We believe the service you receive is are number one priority. The staff is always pleased to know that they were recognzed by a guest as providing great service. Thank you again and it was our pleasure to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Just got back home after staying the weekend here. We were in Charleston for a concert and this hotel is in a great location from the Civic center. It is directly across from The Town Center Mall. The Pool was beautiful but we didn't get in. The staff was so friendly and welcoming. Nice size room. Good comfortable beds. Great powerful shower with plenty of hot water. Just a great trip all the way round. Def would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank partygirl602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for all your positive comments. I will make sure the entire staff receives this feedback. They all work very hard to make sure every guests receives brilliant service. I thank you for choosing us as your place to stay and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My family stayed here while traveling over the Christmas holiday. The desk staff were courteous and helpful when greeting us. The room we booked wasn't available and they accommodated us by bringing a roll-away bed into the room for us. They were so quick about it, that it was in the room by the time we got there. There was an incredibly loud party outside our room, but we had no trouble going to sleep and never complained.
We enjoyed the buffet breakfast in the restaurant in the morning and the staff there was second to none. They all anticipated our needs and took care of us. The chef at the waffle station made waffles for my children before they ordered them and delivered them to the table. Our waiter asked if we wanted our coffee to go before we even thought of it. The food was good, but we'll remember the staff and use them as a standard to measures others by.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for such positve comments in regards to the staff and the care that they provided for you and your family. We take provide in doing our best to be brilliant hosts. I will pass your comments on to the staff who truly deserve to hear this from you as our guest. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed at this Marriott for a business meeting in town, and was travelling with a colleague. Since we arrived at around 10 pm, and the hotel was booked, both of us got the short end of the stick in different ways.. my colleague by being sent to another Marriott property nearby and me with getting stuck with a room next to the elevator and a generator/compressor of some kind right outside the window on top of the roof of the lobby of the conference center or lobby making noise.

The common areas of this hotel are nice - the lobby, the dining areas, and the connection to the parking garage next door so you don't have to brave the elements on a cold, rainy day.

Staff were friendly from the front desk and the wait staff in the restaurant for breakfast. The room itself was a good size. The bed was comfortable with a lot of pillows and good linens. But given what I noted up top about the location of the room, I didn't get a good, comfortable sleep during my stay. That probably would have not been the case if I wasn't the last guest to show up that night!

The parking rate was reasonable, but the breakfast cost in the restaurant or even for quick pick-up at the bar were a little on the pricey side.

Since I'm in Charleston a couple of times a year for work, I would consider staying at the Marriott again especially given the limited options in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petertom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at the hotel. Your positive comments about the staff and hotel are very much appreciated. I apologize that we were unable to get you in a room that better suited your needs. Please feel free to contact me on your next stay so we can make things right for your. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The lobby and first floor recently completed a nice update; the rooms look to have been updated within the last few years as well. This is a pretty typical downtown Marriott flagship with a very friendly staff. I had to switch my first room because of a very loud holiday party outside my window at the hotel. This was handled very well by the front desk and they gave me some extra points for the inconvenience of having to change rooms. Both rooms were very clean and the common spaces of the hotel are well kept. The restaurant & bar were nice and have good professional staff.

Room Tip: Go high to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNPnPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for all your great comments in regards to our staff and service. It is our pleasure to serve you and the entire staff takes pride in making you feel special. These comments will be passed on to all who deserve your complements. Thank you..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Run of the mill business hotel. Two of three elevators were out which was annoying. It was clean though and comfortable. Nice bar/restaurant area and acceptable gym. The tidewater grille over in the mall is an easy walk and not a bad place to eat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BryanClinton524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedbach on your stay at the hotel. I apologize for the elevator issue as we are doing our annual safety tests and repairs in order to keep all guests safe when using the elevator. We appreciate you as a guest and your complete understanding. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Downtown/Civic Center
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott Town Center

Address: 200 Lee Street East, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $100 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott Town Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unmatched travel experience at Charleston Marriott Town Center. Our upscale hotel in downtown Charleston, West Virginia is conveniently located and it offers guests superior amenities, gracious service, and comfortable accommodations. Guest rooms and suites at our hotel are designed to facilitate relaxation and productivity, boasting features like high-speed Internet access, plush bedding, and expansive floor-to-ceiling windows. Begin your morning in our state-of-the-art fitness center and indoor pool, before exploring a variety of local attractions, including the adjacent Charlestown Town Center Mall. If visiting Charleston for business, you'll be delighted by our comprehensive on-site corporate facilities, which encompass 17,500 square feet of modern meeting room space. We also offer a great setting near Charleston Civic Center. We look forward to your visit here at Charleston Marriott Town Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Charleston Marriott Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Charleston Town Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing