We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best option in Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Run of the mill business hotel. Two of three elevators were out which was annoying. It was clean though and comfortable. Nice bar/restaurant area and acceptable gym. The tidewater grille over in the mall is an easy walk and not a bad place to eat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BryanClinton524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedbach on your stay at the hotel. I apologize for the elevator issue as we are doing our annual safety tests and repairs in order to keep all guests safe when using the elevator. We appreciate you as a guest and your complete understanding. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 562 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

I have stayed at the Marriott Town Center a few and I have never been disappointed. The central location and walkway to Mall next-door makes an activity for the down time in a conference. The staff rush to help with your luggage and the front counter all had smiles.
If you travel to Charleston, WV you won't be disappointed staying here.

Room Tip: Try to get the higher rooms so you can see the view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your extremely positive comments. It was our pleasure to have you as a guest and the entire DECA group. Look forward to see you again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I lived this Marriott property. Very reasonable rate with incredible customer service, nice rooms & perfectly located in Charleston. You won't want for anything at this Marriott property. The staff is unbelievably helpful & absolutely intuitive. I was so surprised by this hotel....everything from the hotel shuttle to the amenities was spot on perfect. I felt well taken care of, safe, comfortable & that I got a great value.

Room Tip: Up high so you can see the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your tremendous comments in regards to your stay at the hotel. It is truly a pleasure to have you as a guest and we look forward to your return. The entire staff will receive your comments which they word extremely hard to achieve. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

What I Liked
-The room was very clean. No dust bunnies behind the TV or dirt swept under the bed skirt.
-Food at the restaurant was very good and the menu had lots of options.
-It's an older Marriott but they've worked to freshen it up. With its architectural nods to brutalism, it's not the prettiest building but the decor inside softens it up.
-Friendly, professional staff.

What I Did Not Like
-The restaurant, Brick Salt, is really a confederation of two venues -- the bar and a separate restaurant under the Brick Salt name. If you're looking for a place called Brick Salt, you won't find it. It's confusing. Good food makes up for it.
-My treadmill was in rough shape. Couldn't go faster than 8 mph and the TV was broken.
-When you serve milk for cereal, put it in a small pitcher and not a drinking glass. Otherwise, it makes a mess when it's poured.

Shower Rod Test: Passed. Nice and secure. (A loose bar is a good proxy for slipping standards.)
Repeat Business: Yes. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. Your comments included, very clean rooms, very good food, and a professional staff which are the three areas we continue to work on to be the best. Thank you for recoginizing the staff for their outstanding efforts which I will make sure they get a copy of your comments. Thank you again. All fitness center eguipment should be working 100% so I will follow up with your concerns as we are schedule for new equipment in 2014. I will also work on the confusion of the Brick Salt Bar and Kitchen concept and we pass on to the chef your very good food comment. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is a great choice for a lower-budget hotel. It is very clean and decorated really nicely. The people who work through are extraordinarily helpful and friendly. It's also right across from a mall!
Note: I stayed here for one night after staying 2 nights at the Embassy Suites down the street. If you are choosing between the two, I would ABSOLUTELY recommend the Marriott--it is BEYOND nicer than the Embassy Suites, which seemed kind of awful in comparison!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolalit0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback and especially your high praise for the staff. I will make sure that your comments are passed on to the staff as they work very hard to be the best. We look forward to you staying with us again. It is our pleasure to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed overnight on our recent trip from Chicago to Hilton Head. A good half way stop along the route. The hotel is located in downtown Charleston, across the street from a shopping center and walking distance to many restaurants. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpfull with sugestions as to local restaurants. For pizza try "PIES & PINTS". Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Parking lot next door for a fee but not too many downtown hotels I stayed at let you park for free.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your very positive feedback. It is our pleasure to serve you as a guest in the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for Beta Club with my daughter's school. The hotel is very clean, comfortable beds, and convenient. However, the hotel wifi does not clearly state that there is a fee for Internet each day, parking garage fee for each day, and there is no vending machines for kids. If you need a drink it has to be purchased at their store, room service, or restaurant. One bottle of Pepsi is 2.50. The room did not have a mini refrigerator or microwave.

Room Tip: If you need a convenient place to stay, Embassy Suites is next door. They do not have fees and their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your honest feedback. I am truly sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. Although all full service Marriott brands do charge for internet and for the covered secured parking, Marriott does have brands such as the Courtyard, FairField Inn and Residence Inn that does not charge for these items. Although we were able to provide with a clean and comfortable room I do understand how these added charges can be annoying if you are not aware of or expect them. I do want you to try us again and also look at some of our other brands that might suite your needs even better. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#8 of 23 in Charleston
147 reviews
5.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott Town Center

Address: 200 Lee Street East, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $97 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott Town Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unmatched travel experience at Charleston Marriott Town Center. Our hotel in downtown Charleston, West Virginia is conveniently located and it offers guests superior amenities, gracious service, and comfortable accommodations. Guest rooms and suites at our hotel are designed to facilitate relaxation and productivity, boasting features like high-speed Internet access, plush bedding, and expansive floor-to-ceiling windows. Begin your morning in our state-of-the-art fitness center and indoor pool, before exploring a variety of local attractions, including the adjacent Charlestown Town Center Mall. If visiting Charleston for business, you'll be delighted by our comprehensive on-site corporate facilities, which encompass 17,500 square feet of modern meeting room space. We look forward to your visit here at Charleston Marriott Town Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charleston Marriott Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Charleston Town Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing