We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Bern, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel August 13 and August 16. We were on our way to and from Ohio. This was about the greatest place for us. Joey and JerLisa at the front desk were so gracious and so friendly. They were the epitome of hospitality. The continental breakfast was very nice. We will definitely stay here again if we are in the neighborhood.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maryann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Maryann F,

Thanks so much for the wonderful review! I am so glad you chose us, and your kind comments about our associates Joey and Jerlisa are very much appreciated, we are very fortunate to have them as part of our team. Glad to hear that we exceeded your expecations and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    120
    67
    20
    10
See reviews for
74
78
21
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We arrived late at night. The reservation was processed through the front desk - it was to be paid for using my "Priority Club points" [I carry a platinum card].

Upon arrival Front Desk person insisted their day shift employee could not have possibly processed the reservation for points. "He most certainly would have referred me to the website to make my own reservation." No, we cannot change it now - no way - no how. This was an unexpected $150 charge.

No PC courtesies were extended.

After we heated up the room ()with the efficient heater) from an unbearable 62 degree we slept well in a comfortable bed. Room & bath were clean & appropriately supplied.

Breakfast - Antiques Road Show was in town - the youngest person in the dining room was 30 [I asked him]. Now we know why it's called antiques road show!

Serving staff were efficiently busy. Politely interacting with guests and there were a lot as the hotel was sold out the night before.

Wife selected a no fat milk carton dated 1 day short of expiration. It was also at least 1 day past expiration - it was sour. This happens - no big deal. But wait – ALL other no fat cartons in the cooler bore same date code.

Being responsible I let serving staff know - and then watched their handling of the situation. Date codes were checked, no other cartons were opened to see if this was an atypical container. When we left 10 minutes later, the stock in the cooler remained in place.

How was our stay - draw your own conclusions. Also read Eee00's commentary.

Room Tip: Somewhere else.
See more room tips
Green Features: no effort to recycle dining area waste - one size trash can accepts ALL
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Gil L,

Thank you for your recent review and for the positive things you had to say about our location and your clean and comfortable room. I was very sorry to hear of the difficulty you experienced during check in when trying to use your Rewards points for your stay.Unfortunately, Rewards night point redemptions must be booked directly through the IHG Rewards site or through IHG Central Reservations, individual hotels cannot deduct points from your account for hotel stays. As an IHG Rewards Platinum member you are now entitled to receive either an arrival snack or extra points at check in. Once you receive your next statement please review it carefully and if your additional points were not awarded, please contact us.

As for the issue you had with the milk, as you stated it was not out of date and when brought to our attention, three other cartons from the same case were opened and checked in our prep area and found to be fresh. I can verify that this took place as I was assisting in the breakfast area that morning and witnessed the inspection. We also received no other complaints from other guests that morning. Food safety is paramount in our business and we would never do anything to risk the health or safety of our patrons.

I apologize if it appeared to you that we failed to handle this matter appropriately and I hope that this gives you a better understanding of what actually took place behind the scenes, and that you will consider choosing us again should your travels bring you back to Charleston.

Sincerely,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Coming for the Antiques Roadshow with older parents I was looking for a convenient location. The hotel is also located close to the mall so we were able to walk to Outback for dinner. The Civic Center is across the street and was very easy to access from the hotel. The staff was also very accommodating when my parents checked in before I arrived. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. There was one man running it and food was plentiful, the area clean and he was very pleasant. He even got the sausage down for my mom who was too short to reach it. The only problem was we needed an extra towel as the room only had three. We made due no problem. For people going to the Civic Center this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Heather V,

Thank you very much for the excellent review. We were very proud to play even a small part in providing accomodations for those attending the Antique Road Show, what a great event! We appreciate all of the wonderful things you had to say about our staff and services, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kindest regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manton, Michigan
Level Contributor
143 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Situated right along the river and across the street from the Civic Center. Easy walking distance to restaurants, the Mall, Capitol Street, etc. Staff was very attentive and greeted you with a good morning, good afternoon, how was your day and always with a smile. Tuesday night social hour is a fun time to get to know other travellers. My wife even won the drawing of 1000 points. Good place to hang your hat while in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Dale F,

Just wanted to say thanks for the great review! Your nice comments about our location, staff services, and our Tuesday night Guest Appreciation event are very much appreciated. AND you were one of our BIG Rewatds points winners to boot!

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Calling the 800 number to change my reservation was easy and quick. I was going to stop in KY but realized I could put in a few more hours of driving. During the phone call to HI I was told my reservation was made for a certain room. I was thrilled how easy the process was.
Arriving late I checked in, to find that I was not given the room that I requested. Nor was I given their bag upon arrival(being a platinum member). Once we arrived in the room it was freezing! 52 degrees in the room. We settled in and quickly ordered pizza from a place that was recommended from the staff. It was bad. Wish I went to wendys instead. I was about to shower until I saw the filth that was in the bathroom. Hairs left all over the shower, the side of the tub, etc. the floor was filthy!! I didn't trust it and needed to wear shoes. I even found a hair clip under the sink with a pile of dirt and an area that clearly was not cleaned in a long time.
In the bedroom area I found wrappers to a bandaid plus the bandaid as well.
While trying to fall asleep all we heard was our neighbor talking VERY loudly! It felt like he was in the same room.
I think breakfast was the best part of the hotel. Wide variety and carries one of the best selections for hotels that offer free breakfast.
Next time I will bypass this area and keep driving.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eee00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Eee00,

Thank you for the recent review and loyalty as an IHG Rewards Platinum member. We were delighted to hear how pleased you were with our breakfast offering. On the other hand, please accept my sincere apology for the cleanliness issues you encountered. I am very disappointed that one of our team members would overlook such obvious details. I would encourage you to always bring such matters to our attention immediately so that they can be resolved quickly or so you can be moved to more suitable accomodations, we have a manager on duty 24 hours per day. I can assure you that corrective action has been taken to limit the likelyhood of this happening again in the future.

As an IHG Rewards Platinum member you are now entitled to either an arrival snack or additional Rewards points. Please check your next statement, and if you did not receive those points please let us know.

I sincerely hope that you will not allow this isolated incident prevent you from choosing us again.

Kindest regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Really nice and responsive staff at this facility. Everyone couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The toll way staff also knew how to locate you and the staff member Roxanne Moses in Princeton, Virginia at the Holiday Inn Express was so kind as to help me reserve this room.

Green Features: Jerlisaa Sturdavent and Rachel Lehow were so nice and good to me; answering my questions and ensuring that I knew how to get back onto the highway. They also assisted me in making a long distance call when my cell phone wasn't working. Very good staff.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancypearl7green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear nancypearl7green,

Thanks so much for the great review and for all of the wonderful comments about our associates Jerlissa and Rachel. We are very lucky to have them both as a part of our team.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit!

Kindest regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We pulled into Charleston on our Harleys from Ontario with no hotel booked, and we had stopped at a tourist info and got our hands on a travellers guide and had some hotel discount coupons in it. We arrived here and the staff were awesome in getting us the last room at the rate of $73.99 for the night. This is less then the corporate rate that I over heard the man next to me being checked in and paying $139.99.
It was a Tuesday so its customer appreciation day and they have free beer wine and cheese in the lobby area as well. So after my 3 glasses of wine and my husbands 3 beers and the cheese and snacks we had, really the $73.99 we paid for the hotel was ALOT less than that.
Location is convenient to the I-77 as well as the convention center.
We walked 4 blocks to a pub/sports bar that also had a happy hour and great food. Which was a recommendation from the front desk staff.....thank you for that :-)
The hotel was clean, and the breakfast was hot and good in the a.m as well with a great variety.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Clean, great staff, food and location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear mich,

A big thanks from all of us here at the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center for the great review! All of the wonderful things you had to say about our staff, our welcome reception, location, and cleanliness means so much to us. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us.

Should your travels bring you back through Charleston we hope you will come see us again!

Best regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
0.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Address: 100 Civic Center Dr, Charleston, WV 25301-2527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Civic Center is located in the beautiful riverfront capitol of Charleston, West Virginia. Our hotel was just beautifully and completely renovated. Our entire team will work diligently to exceed your expectations while providing an abundance of comfort, safety, and amenities which reflect our Southern hospitality! Finding your way through the majestic mountains of West Virginia and past the winding New, Kanawha, and Elk Rivers to the junctures of I-64, I-77 and I-79, the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center invites you to a contemporary ambiance and warm atmosphere with its ideal location for shopping, dining, and theater going even while doing business in our capitol city. The Holiday Inn Express houses 196 rooms. Nestle into the comfort of your own private room and get a peaceful night’s rest on our luxurious bedding. All rooms come complete with free high speed internet access, HD flat-screen TVs, a work desk area, and coffee maker. Select rooms come with a microwave and a mini fridge. In the mornings satisfy your hunger with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet included with your stay. If your taste buds are in the mood for something different then stroll to one of over 16 restaurants located within blocks of the hotel. Enjoy a leisurely walk on a path along the Kanawha River or engage in a friendly game of volleyball on the courts at Magic Island. "Meet and Greet" in our lovely appointed Sternwheeler Room for all your meeting needs for up to 100 people. While enjoying your stay in the beautiful town of Charleston, West Virginia, be sure to visit some of the local attractions such as Charleston Civic Center, Charleston Historic District, Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences, Coonskin Park, Craik-Patton House, and Haddad Riverfront Park. Choose the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center in the downtown capitol city of Charleston, West Virginia where you’ll find a truly warm Southern Hospitality experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing