We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Foley, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great overnight”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with a large group. Check in was very easy and the staff was friendly. Breakfast was good with lots of choices. It had several restaurants only a block away so it was convenient. The only complaint I had was I didn't receive my requested wake up call.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LAtraveler36542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear LAtraveler36542,

Just wanted to say thank you for such a wonderful review! Your gracious comments about our staff service, breakfast, and location are very much appreciated. I am so sorry that you did not receive your requested wake up call, we are currently looking into why this happened and will make every effort to assure this does not happen to a future guest.

Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kindest regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    121
    68
    20
    10
See reviews for
75
78
23
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kusadasi, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Arriving very late and tired after a long drive was hard enough. I wanted to take shower and sleep. The hotel was clean but not like the other holiday inn express hotels. I little falling behind. I got into my room after a useless long talk at the reception. Too talkative he was. Room was clean shower was smelling nice. its ok for the price nothing more...

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jazzhearted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear jazzhearted,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. We were very happy to hear how pleased you were with the quality of the room and services offered. Please accept my appology for our guest service representative being a little too chatty at check in. Your feedback is very important and is our greatest resource for improving service.

Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beech Bottom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference at the convention center. Chose this hotel for price location and amenities. Previously stayed several years ago. Hotel was clean. Mary and Russell were awesome when I checked in after a long day of work and travel. Breakfast was tasty. I will stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank WLSC2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear WLSC2008,

Thanks so much for your recent review. We were delighted to hear how pleased you were with both our staff and services, particularly the excellent service you mentioned receiving from both Mary and Russell. We wre very priviledged to have such fine associates.


We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

Kindest regards,

Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
554 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and always suggested places to go when asked. Also I was greeted by a staff member every time I walked into the hotel.

The rooms new to be updated, specially the tiles in the bathroom.

Other than that, the size and amenities were ok. Nice comfortable room.

Always had cookies and coffee by the lobby. Complimentary breakfast is a plus.

Business center with two computers are good. However they were by the lobby so if anything is next to you, they can see your info, but I guess every hotel is doing that.

Thanks for the friendliness

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CecibelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear CecibelB,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to say thank you for your recent review. It is our mission to provide excellent service to every guest and we are always both excited and appreciative when our efforts are recognized. Your opinion is very important to us in helping to acheive the high level of customer service that is expected at Holiday Inn Express, so please keep the reviews coming.

We thank you for choosing us and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed here for business. As will all Holiday Inn Express's, it includes a breakfast. The staff is great....front desk, house keeping, van transportation. Their van will pick you up at the airport; and can shuttle you within a certain distance around the town.

I rated pool and restaurant as terrible; only because they don't have those. There is a small workout room onsite; plus there is an affordable option for a 3rd party exercise facility off the premises.

Clean, modern looking, and friendly staff!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuffD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Puff_D,

I would like to personally thank you for your recent review. Our entire team was so pleased to read all of the excellent comments you made about our staff and services. Should your travels bring you back to Charleston, WV, we hope that you will again choose us!

Kindest regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for a week. I have never been to a hotel that has been so friendly! No matter what I needed, the staff was always there with a smile! I used the van service everyday and the drivers were wonderful. The front desk folks were very welcoming and friendly. Housekeeping and the breakfast people were amazing! Watching the GM clean up outside alongside his engineering staff was refreshing. I really hated to leave! A big thanks to Amanda, Elaine, Randy, Jim, Jimmy, Joey, William and the rest of the staff! You really made me feel like "home"!!!
Keep up the good work and I hope to return soon!!!!
Peg Wood

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pwood36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Peg,

On behalf of the entire team we would like to say THANK YOU for the wonderful review you recently posted! We were so pleased to read all of the kind things you said about each of us and the services provided to you during your stay.

We too look forward to your next visit and "welcoming you back home".

Kindest regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, WV
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The hotel itself is not bad. I have a nice room on the 6th floor. Looks like it was freshly remodeled, very clean and the room was set up nicely.
I was not happy at first because when I go there around midnight I was given a key and went to a room that was already occupied, as well as the guest that checked in before me.
Other than that, I have no complaints and the breakfast as good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear mmrea,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the nice things you had to say about our hotel and its recent renovation. And please accept my apology for the difficulty you encountered when you were issued an incorrect key for your room. Issues such as this are taken very seriously and I can assure you that corrective action has already taken place.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Address: 100 Civic Center Dr, Charleston, WV 25301-2527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Civic Center is located in the beautiful riverfront capitol of Charleston, West Virginia. Our hotel was just beautifully and completely renovated. Our entire team will work diligently to exceed your expectations while providing an abundance of comfort, safety, and amenities which reflect our Southern hospitality! Finding your way through the majestic mountains of West Virginia and past the winding New, Kanawha, and Elk Rivers to the junctures of I-64, I-77 and I-79, the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center invites you to a contemporary ambiance and warm atmosphere with its ideal location for shopping, dining, and theater going even while doing business in our capitol city. The Holiday Inn Express houses 196 rooms. Nestle into the comfort of your own private room and get a peaceful night’s rest on our luxurious bedding. All rooms come complete with free high speed internet access, HD flat-screen TVs, a work desk area, and coffee maker. Select rooms come with a microwave and a mini fridge. In the mornings satisfy your hunger with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet included with your stay. If your taste buds are in the mood for something different then stroll to one of over 16 restaurants located within blocks of the hotel. Enjoy a leisurely walk on a path along the Kanawha River or engage in a friendly game of volleyball on the courts at Magic Island. "Meet and Greet" in our lovely appointed Sternwheeler Room for all your meeting needs for up to 100 people. While enjoying your stay in the beautiful town of Charleston, West Virginia, be sure to visit some of the local attractions such as Charleston Civic Center, Charleston Historic District, Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences, Coonskin Park, Craik-Patton House, and Haddad Riverfront Park. Choose the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center in the downtown capitol city of Charleston, West Virginia where you’ll find a truly warm Southern Hospitality experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing