We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed for a convention. Room 215
Across the street from the Civic Center & in walking distance of the mall/restaurants.

Pros:Friendly staff, Breakfast, Conference room, good water pressure, work out room
Cons: Uncomfortable bed, lighting in room, Elevator time

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klynn47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 368 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stopped here on our way home from vacation for one weekend night. Clean room and everything worked. The reception and breakfast staff were all extremely freindly and helpful. The manager obviously pays attention to customer interaction. Our room did not have a microwave or fridge, and that would have been helpful. Plenty of parking and easy off/on to I-64. Don't know if traffic would be a problem during the week, because it is right downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I was in Charleston for business and stayed two nights. It was a great place with excellent, friendly, and accommodating staff. They were at the end of their renovation, replacing elevators, which wasn't a problem at all, and as a courtesy to those staying, they had fresh baked cookies "to make up for the inconvenience." The room was very clean and spacious with everything one would need. Breakfast had great choices, whether one wanted eggs and bacon, fruit and yogurt, cereal, bagels, pastries, etc. Coffee was fresh and available 24/7. The fitness center is larger than I have seen in other hotels, was clean, and a pleasure to use. It is located about a block and a half from a large mall, making it easy to pick up dinner. The staff went out of their way to make it a very good stay. I highly recommend the hotel, so don't believe any negative reviews. As a side note, I was there during the "water frenzy" and the staff made bottled water available free of charge to those who felt more comfortable having it for drinking and to make their morning in-room coffee. Many thanks to the staff for the stay.

Room Tip: I don't have a specific tip. I asked for a king room, which was on the 5th floor, and while it f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue8881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

People are so nice. Breakfast is ok for free. Place has an odd odor but staff so helpful and nice it's not a big deal. I'll stay here again esp for the price. Also it's near a lot for crw wv. The views are not great in that area.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

During a college road trip my family stayed one night at this hotel. James at the front desk was extremely pleasant as all the staff here seemed nice. The hotel room was very clean, water was hot and beds were very comfortable.

Only complaints were that I booked the room for 2 adults and 2 children but there were only three sets of towels. Requested a fourth set and was told it would be delivered but it never was delivered. There are two elevators and due to renovations one was down and the other took 15-25 minutes to arrive. We were on the fourth floor and there is only one indoor stairwell from the fourth floor.

Room Tip: Be aware all though hotel is directly across the street from civic vented this is not the best neigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Clair W,

Thanks for your recent review and for the kind remarks about our staff and services. I am so sorry we did not follow thru on your request for additional towels. And I am happy to report that our elevator renovations will be completed this Friday, February 7th! Should your travels bring you back to WV we hope that you will consider us your "home away from home"!

Richard Eaton-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I've stayed here at least 15-20 times. The staff (especially van service staff) is extremely unfriendly. The rooms are absolutely filthy. I found urine on my toilet seat, stains all over my "clean" towels, hairs all over the bathroom, extremely dusty vents, dead bugs behind the beds, and stains on the ceilings in bathroom possibly from leaks or mold. The hotel has been renovated which helped the appearance. The water is sometimes brown. On my last stay, there was a chemical spill in the city which affected the water system. Although we had stayed in this hotel all afternoon, none of us were notified of the health risk of what was in the water. I stay in hotels about 180-200 nights per year, and this is one of my least favorite properties. The location is okay, right near the mall and located just outside of the center of downtown. The hotel is located right next to a busy road, which you'll have the ability to hear throughout your stay.

Room Tip: Highest floor away from elevators and highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Justin K,

Thank you for your recent review. I am so sorry to hear that our hotel has failed to meet your expectations, I hope that you will accept my sincere apology for the obvious inconvenience this has caused you. The housekeeping concerns you have mentioned have been addressed with our leadership team and corrective action taken. As for your concern about the chemical spill that affected our regions water on January 9th. Our hotels water system was completely flushed, not once (as directed) but twice, and we were cleared by our local health authorities on January 14th when our water was tested and deemed safe for use. To ease our guests continued concerns we have continued to provide complimentary bottled water for consumption. We understand your anxiety and can assure you that the safety of our guests is our number one concern. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any additional questions or concerns about this matter.

Sincerely,
Richard Eaton-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My room was clean and nicely decorated albeit a little on the small side even for a single. Water pressure was great as was internet and the breakfast room was well-stocked with plenty of room for guests. Most of the staff were out-going and friendly. I'll stay here again next time!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charleston South, WV
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Address: 100 Civic Center Dr, Charleston, WV 25301-2527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $101 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Civic Center is located in the beautiful riverfront capitol of Charleston, West Virginia. Our hotel was just beautifully and completely renovated. Our entire team will work diligently to exceed your expectations while providing an abundance of comfort, safety, and amenities which reflect our Southern hospitality! Finding your way through the majestic mountains of West Virginia and past the winding New, Kanawha, and Elk Rivers to the junctures of I-64, I-77 and I-79, the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center invites you to a contemporary ambiance and warm atmosphere with its ideal location for shopping, dining, and theater going even while doing business in our capitol city. The Holiday Inn Express houses 196 rooms. Nestle into the comfort of your own private room and get a peaceful night’s rest on our luxurious bedding. All rooms come complete with free high speed internet access, HD flat-screen TVs, a work desk area, and coffee maker. Select rooms come with a microwave and a mini fridge. In the mornings satisfy your hunger with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet included with your stay. If your taste buds are in the mood for something different then stroll to one of over 16 restaurants located within blocks of the hotel. Enjoy a leisurely walk on a path along the Kanawha River or engage in a friendly game of volleyball on the courts at Magic Island. "Meet and Greet" in our lovely appointed Sternwheeler Room for all your meeting needs for up to 100 people. While enjoying your stay in the beautiful town of Charleston, West Virginia, be sure to visit some of the local attractions such as Charleston Civic Center, Charleston Historic District, Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences, Coonskin Park, Craik-Patton House, and Haddad Riverfront Park. Choose the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center in the downtown capitol city of Charleston, West Virginia where you’ll find a truly warm Southern Hospitality experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing