We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Had a great experience with the staff of this hotel helping me out in a pinch. Great place and very nice helpful people. Roseta especially went out of her way to make sure what was a painful air travel day ended smooth and with a good room to sleep in. Would recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear James S,

Thanks so much for the wonderful review of our hotel you recently posted on Tripadvisor. It is our mission to provide superior service to each of our guests and we are always happy to hear when we accomplish that goal. As you have stated Rosetta exemplifies the qualities that we look for in an associate in order to achieve the service standards expected of our loyal customers. We very much appreciate your taking the time to share your experience and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    115
    65
    20
    7
See reviews for
72
73
20
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is an old hotel (not your typical HI), that is located in a not so great part of town. However; the room was very clean and updated. The main down side I had was that the room smelled musty. Other than that, the breakfast was great and the girls in the morning were extremely nice at the desk.

Room Tip: The rooms near the elevator are also near the open vestibule with the ice machine. I would choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tburris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear tburris,

Thanks so much for submitting your review of our hotel. We appreciate the kind remarks about our staff and services. I am so sorry that you felt that your room had a musty odor. Our housekeeping department takes great pride in assuring that our rooms are effectively cleaned and odor free. Should you experience a problem with odor on a future visit please notify management immediately and we will gladly remedy the problem or move you to more suitable quarters. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Though this Holiday Inn is in a rather questionable neighborhood in downtown Charleston next to an adult store of some kind, it is clean and well maintained. Breakfast was very good with lots of selection, not to mention free. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikoandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Nikoandco,

Thank you for your recent review and your kind comments about our hotel and services. I am sorry if you thought that the business adjacent to us was an adult store of some kind, "Tusies" is actually a video gambling parlor with slot machines that also serves drinks and light snacks. That being the case, we hope that you will chooose us again upon your next visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Typical of Holiday Inn Express, this property is well maintained with clean, nicely decorated rooms and comfortable amenities. The location is prime for those desiring to stay right in downtown. The price, especially when compared to many of the other downtown hotels, is reasonable and there is ample free parking on site. The Civic Center is directly across the street and the Town Center shopping mall is only one block away. Additionally, there are plenty of restaurants nearly (mostly in the mall area). Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for convenience and top-notch comfort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VA_Cameo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear VA Cameo,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post the review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your kind comments are much appreciated and are very helpful for us in maintaining the high quality of service expected of Holiday Inn Express. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star City, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Each time i stay at this Holiday Inn i continue to be empress as staff change the professionalism still continues. The staff training at this hotel is very good and each staff person makes you like you are home. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is very good and free.

Room Tip: The price, location, and staff are worth spending the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godfather26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Godfather26,

It is always a pleasure to have you as our guest and I am so happy that we have again exceeded your expectations. Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I travel a lot and this place never let's me down... Everyone is so friendly and helpful!! The breakfast is always great... The room is very clean and showers are hot!!! I would recommend this close to everything hotel to all my friends!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review, and thank you for making us your "home away from home"! Your kind remarks will be shared with the enitre staff and I'm sure will also be helpful to others who rely on this trusted site when making their lodging decisions. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and i used this hotel as a stopping point when we moved from Michigan to North Carolina. My wife found a coupon for a discounted rate in a travel book and we decided to stay there based on the Holiday Inn Express name. Check in was very easy and the staff was very helpful as we didn't have an advanced reservation and just showed up. I was a little worried about parking as we had a 24' moving truck and a car hauler and I would have to take up several parking spaces. The front desk assured me that they didn't have an issues with that and that it happens all the time. I take it when people move into Charleston University. We stayed on the second floor, because for safety I don't stay on 1st floors, right next to the elevator. We didn't hear the elevator move at all all night! The room was very nicely decorated however the bathroom had some dirt and stray hairs in the tub. Nothing too gross or disgusting however. We did hear several young children running up and down the hall around midnight and a quick call to the front desk and the problem was solved. In the morning the hotel had the standard Holiday Inn Express hot breakfast with biscuits and gravy and eggs and toast and all the fixings which was wonderful as stopping at a drive-thru would be impossible with the truck and hauler. Checkout was accomplished in about 30 seconds and we were on our way. Our truck and hauler were still there in the morning as promised by the front desk staff. I would stay at this hotel again if I had too. We had a pleasant experience and a great nights sleep!

Room Tip: Always choose a second floor or above! Not only is this for safety but you get above the noise that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rampantfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post the review of your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important and is shared with our entire team. I was pleased to hear that your overall stay met your expectations. We do our best to control noise levels within our facility when hosting large groups and are so sorry that you were disturbed by individuals outside your room. We do have security personel to handle such situations should you encounter this again in the future. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Address: 100 Civic Center Drive, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Civic Center is located in the beautiful riverfront capitol of Charleston, West Virginia. Our hotel was just beautifully and completely renovated. Our entire team will work diligently to exceed your expectations while providing an abundance of comfort, safety, and amenities which reflect our Southern hospitality! Finding your way through the majestic mountains of West Virginia and past the winding New, Kanawha, and Elk Rivers to the junctures of I-64, I-77 and I-79, the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center invites you to a contemporary ambiance and warm atmosphere with its ideal location for shopping, dining, and theater going even while doing business in our capitol city. The Holiday Inn Express houses 196 rooms. Nestle into the comfort of your own private room and get a peaceful night’s rest on our luxurious bedding. All rooms come complete with free high speed internet access, HD flat-screen TVs, a work desk area, and coffee maker. Select rooms come with a microwave and a mini fridge. In the mornings satisfy your hunger with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet included with your stay. If your taste buds are in the mood for something different then stroll to one of over 16 restaurants located within blocks of the hotel. Enjoy a leisurely walk on a path along the Kanawha River or engage in a friendly game of volleyball on the courts at Magic Island. "Meet and Greet" in our lovely appointed Sternwheeler Room for all your meeting needs for up to 100 people. While enjoying your stay in the beautiful town of Charleston, West Virginia, be sure to visit some of the local attractions such as Charleston Civic Center, Charleston Historic District, Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences, Coonskin Park, Craik-Patton House, and Haddad Riverfront Park. Choose the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center in the downtown capitol city of Charleston, West Virginia where you’ll find a truly warm Southern Hospitality experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing