We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience .. Sad to Leave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Charleston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Wonderful Experience .. Sad to Leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Four Points in Charleston, WV during a recent business trip for a conference. We checked in on April 29, 2014 and checked out on May 2, 2014. I had an absolutely wonderful experience. Check-in was quick and efficient. There was a slight problem with our air conditioner, but we only had to briefly mention it to the lady at the front desk and by the time we returned after dinner our room was very cool. The shuttle service was wonderful. My only suggestion about this service would be to add another shuttle for the airport. Also, the front desk should be honest about the wait time for the shuttle. There were a few occasions that we had to wait 20 or 30 minutes for the shuttle when the front desk said, "they'll be right there". When we would call back to see what had happened they would explain that they were at the airport or Corridor G. If we had been told the truth in the beginning then it wouldn't have been an issue at all. Overall, this service is great! Customer Service was great - no complaints! Gina is great! The pool was also nice. The room was clean and very nice - cozy! The bed was AMAZING! The pillows were probably my favorite part. I have never missed a hotel bed, but this bed was far better than my bed at home. If I ever find myself in Charleston and needing to stay in a hotel I will definitely stay here again. Staff became so familiar I felt like I was leaving friends behind. I will recommend this hotel to my family and friends!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Caitlyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    78
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
78
75
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed one night here on route through Charleston. Overall I would say this is a very nice hotel. The exterior and interior are very well maintained and our room was fresh and modern. The bed was super comfy.

My only critics would be that they do not offer fridges in room. We are on an extensive trip and therefore carrying a cooler with drinks and snacks, and this was our first room in 10 days thus far that did not have a fridge or microwave.

Also, sound does seem to carry off the corridors. We were kept awake until 1:30 am but people that sounded like they were partying IN the corridor outside our room. Eventually I had to ring and ask Guest Services to do something about it! i was extremely tired after a busy week travelling and working and had been looking forward to a relaxing Saturday break here....so this kind of spoiled my stay! When I told the front desk in the morning - it turned out they had a wedding on and I think most of the guests must have been on my floor!

We were fortunate to have a river view which was very pretty.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saramarsdenille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here overnight on our way home from Myrtle beach. Staff we're extremely nice and welcoming. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel, food was also good. Our room had a nice waterfront view and clean. Highly recommended and will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Wow... I was impressed with this hotel. Firstly, I travel a lot (100+ hotel nights last year) and am a SPG Platinum level guest. Secondly, I have been visiting Charleston for business for a few years and was happy to see a SPG property come to town. Below are a few notes from my stay.

- Hotel: Four Points are typically Starwood's "budget" full service brand. However, this does not feel like a budget hotel. The exterior and interior are trendy, swanky, and comfortable. The lobby is friendly and comfortable. I was impressed.

- Room: I was put in a suite on the 10th floor. It was a very nice two-room suite. A living area and separate bedroom. Nice TVs, nicely appointed, comfortable, good bathroom, well done.

- Service: Was great. Very friendly at check-in, very helpful, and knew be my name when I went back to lobby. Bug thumbs up.

- Area: Parking was free and it's located right downtown, on the river. Lots of restaurants and jogging trails near-by.

I have stayed at many Charleston hotels and this one will become my go-to. Very well done, great service, big thumbs up.

Room Tip: One facing the river. Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful at the front desk. Great location right on the river and easy walking distance to several restaraunts and bars. The mall is also very close within a short walk. Very clean and comfortable. Only complaint is that the housekeeping always knocks on the door to early ( around 8:30) two mornings in a row.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Yabo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
282 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel just opened this past January, It was completely refurbished. The rooms were excellent with no surprises and the Brian at registrations was as helpful as he could be. When in this area again, we definitely will be staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ehinz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Charleston, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear ehinz01,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I am very pleased to hear that you found our rooms to be excellent and our staff to be helpful.

Again, I want to thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again when you return to Charleston!

Sincerely,

Dale J, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto On Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Right on the waterfront. Great check in. Quiet area on a Sunday as most buildings around are judicial. Lovely lobby with bar and restaurant.
We had dinner in the hotel, burger and club sandwich as there is no other restaurants close by.
Free wi-fi but breakfast is not included.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geektrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Charleston, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear geektrvlr,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I’m pleased that you enjoyed our hotel. We would love to have you stay with us again if/when your travels bring you back to Charleston, WV!

Again, thank you for your review and for your business!

Sincerely,

Dale J, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
0.4 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Charleston

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Address: 600 Kanawha Blvd E, Charleston, WV 25301-2181 (Formerly Ramada Charleston Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in everything that West Virginia’s capital has to offer at the Four Points by Sheraton Charleston. Our riverfront location provides easy access to the State Capitol, the Charleston Civic Center, the University of Charleston, and the Charleston Town Center shopping mall. Take advantage of our free on-demand shuttle service to and from Yeager Airport (CRW), which is 10 minutes away.Admire beautiful Kanawha River or downtown views from one of our 176 guest rooms and suites. Get plenty of free extras, like High Speed Internet Access, bottled water, and a daily newspaper. Take care of business at the spacious work area with an ergonomic chair, or watch your favorite show on the 42-inch flat screen TV. Get a great night’s sleep in one king-size or double Four Points by Sheraton Four Comfort Beds™.We have everything you need for a productive business trip or a fun, active vacation. Stay in touch with the office in our lobby’s open business center. Or swim laps in our new indoor heated swimming pool and work out in the expanded fitness center. Watch the game at the family-friendly Recovery Sports Grill, or head to the quieter lobby lounge for grab-and-go breakfast or an evening cocktail.The Four Points by Sheraton Charleston can host a range of events, with nearly 9,000 square feet of total space. Let our professional planning and catering teams help you stage a successful, memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charleston Downtown Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing