We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We had stayed at this hotel one prior trip and wanted to try again. Check in was quick and easy, they had all the paperwork done and handed us our keys. We were on an upper floor and close (but not too close) to the elevator. The rooms are suites with a living room and separate bedroom. We had a king size bed room, facing the main street but it was very quiet in the room. The living room had a sleeper sofa, chair and coffee table, a small square table with 2 chairs, large TV small frig, coffee maker and wet bar type set-up. Bathroom was large with everything needed, would have been nice to have a second sink but had lots of counter space. Plenty of towels were provided.
Bed was very comfortable and after a long day of work and then driving 5+ hours, we were ready to get some rest. There is a small closet (which stores the ironing board/iron), a small dresser with a TV on top and an night stand with lamp on each side of the bed. There was an alarm clock although they also offered wake-up calls.
The BEST thing about his hotel is their wonderful breakfast. They have juice, soda, coffee and milk to drink and then you get to the made to order omelet station. One lady was running it the first morning we were there and she was awesome. The offer about a dozen different fillings and you pick what you want/how you want it and she serves it up in a very efficient manner. She also does cooked to order eggs and pancakes. In addition to the omelet bar, there was a hot bar area with scrambled eggs, hash brown potatoes, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, grits and oatmeal. On the cold bar they had an assortment of yogurts and cut-up fruit. Dry cereal was also available as well as a pastry area with bagels, bread for toasting, english muffins and danishes. Think there were a couple more things offered but can't remember off hand. Everything was wonderful.
They also have an evening manager's reception but we never got to attend. WILL do it next time we stay at this hotel.
There is a swimming pool, sports bar and restaurant on site. Plus you are right in the middle of town so everything is just a short walk away.
We will definitely stay at this hotel again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budnkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,004)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

967 - 973 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2009

Parking is in Town Center Parking Garage at $9 per night, they charge $.95 for local calls, $9.95 for 24 hrs internet, poor maid service. Only thing good was their breakfast. I'll stay at the Hampton Inn next time.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

After traveling from PA, we decided to stop for the night, never staying at an Embassy I was very dissapointed. Nice area, easy access, staff was wonderful; which makes it a shame that the hotel needs $$$ put into it.

The room our teens got, had not been cleaned, toilet was completely dirty. They did give them another room and a free movie rental.

When you walk in the rooms you are greeted with a very old floor model case TV with a new tv in it...The sofas are old and smell old. The carpet is old and smelled as if it needed cleaning... The bathroom tub/shower is old and worn down. I dont' know how old the bed was, but it was comfortable and clean.

It is a shame Embassy remodel this hotel. It was full of families and everyone seemed happy that was there. We were ready to leave, you get what you pay for, the cost was around $100.00 a night. Maybe that is why they have not remodeled.

The breakfast was free and wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supportALS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Recently stayed at this hotel while on business. The hotel is clean, well maintained and the staff was polite and attentive. The managers reception and free breakfast were great. Nice pool and great gym. Great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelguy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Let me start by saying the hotel is gorgeous. The seating area in the center is great, staff is very pleasant, and well...it just looks amazing. The rooms are suite style, but I was surprised the TVs weren't flat screen, instead they were rather small.

The walls are thin, I could hear my neighbor's TV through the wall.

It's a typical Hilton in that it's overpriced and they charge for EVERYTHING!! Internet? $10 Parking? $9.

If you're leaving early, park down the street at a meter (you have to pay Monday - Saturday 8am-6pm) they usually ticket around 9:30am, or park at the Town Center ($1.75 all day).

Rooms will run you more than $100 a night.

Word of caution: WATCH YOUR BILL CLOSELY!!!! If you stay Sunday-Thursday night you MUST decline USA Today in person or get charged $.75 for it. Also, if you decline parking, double check with the desk during check out. I declined it twice and STILL got charged for it, even though I never used it!!

As another reviewer noted there are a lot of kids here. I supposed many parents look at this as a decent value since it is suite style, but many of these kids run amok through the hotel. If you hate kids, which I don't, you may not be happy here.

Breakfast was great and free. Cooked to order omelets and pancakes or go for the buffet. There's also a "manager's reception" from 5:30-7:30 with some snacks and free drinks.

Even so, I'd never stay here again. I don't like being nickel and dimed for things, especially when it already costs so much. The hotel subscribes to Priceline, so you may be able to get your room for cheap by naming your own price.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbuddy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

The Good:
-Parking is plentiful in the garage
-The atrium is very welcoming and something I wouldn't expect in Charleston
-Public areas of the hotel were top-notch
-Free breakfast
-The cooked to order part of the breakfast was delicious
-The suite was large with a living room area and a bedroom
-The room seemed clean
-The bed was extremely comfortable
-Elevators were fast and I never waited more than 15 seconds for one

The Bad:
-If you have a lot of bags, it can be a hike from the parking garage to the front desk
-Parking is $9 a night
-The atrium comes at the cost of the noise it creates that can be heard quite clearly in the living area of the suite
-Carpet outside of suites needed replaced
-The buffet part of the breakfast was pretty lousy
-The lines for breakfast were long (we stayed on a Saturday night)
-Internet was not free
-The suite was in need of a renovation as the furniture and overall decor made it feel like I was stuck in the 1990's (This would be my biggest complaint)

Overall, I would stay here again because it actually was nice. All of the negatives I can overlook because they really are just picky things. Through Priceline I only paid a fraction of the $139 rate they were asking on their website, so I shouldn't be complaining.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CMH-JFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

The lobby is nice, but that is about it... The room we stayed in had hair and stains on the bathroom floor, looks like the grout had never been cleaned, was actually black in many places. The water glasses had not been run through a dishwasher but rather washed down with what looked like a rag(left cotton particles inside the glass)! There were stains on the carpet, furniture needed much updating. One member of the staff was cordial, she was a bartender. The rest, ecspecially the front desk staff ,certainly needed some training in customer service, many were downright rude. The sauna had chewed bubble gum stuck to the floor and many particles of food on the floor. I felt as if this hotel needed a major cleaning overhaul as I was sickened by their cleanliness standards. We will never stay at this hotel again, but rather try the Marriott. I wish I would have only listened to the other negative reviews prior to staying here...

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m0mt02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston

Address: 300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301-1607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $136 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Charleston is centrally located in Charleston, WV close to many local restaurants, shopping and more. Enjoy a meal at the onsite restaurant, the Athletic Club Bar and Grill, or visit one of Charleston’s many restaurants. Mingle with other guests at a complimentary manager's reception, held daily each evening. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include a business center, indoor pool and spa tub, WiFi (surcharge), express check-out, multilingual staff and more. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary during limited hours. Parking (subject to charges) is conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing