We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean and pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have stayed at this conveniently located hotel one weekend a year, every year for several years and hope to continue. The rooms are lovely and comfortable, the staff is always pleasant and the surroundings are restful and pleasing. The breakfast buffet is very good and the evening cocktail hour is acceptable. The desk is very responsive to any requests, complaints, etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,004)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

726 - 732 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

Large 2 room suite, great place to stay for business or pleasure. Room rate includes a wonderful breakfast buffet and manager's happy hour. The gift shop was closed but staff were able to accommodate requests for extra amenities. Business center is convenient and easy to use if you need to print a few documents. When making reservation, requested a quiet room. Was at the end of the hallway, perfect location. Couldn't hear anything from the lobby or any other guest room. Room was perfect for business traveler, lots of outlets, good lighting. Comfortable bed. Large vanity in bathroom. Single serve coffee maker in room, also microwave and mini-fridge. Would definitely return. They have a shuttle to and from the airport so no need to take a cab!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Focused77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I were treated incredibly rude by the bar tender on the evening of Oct 26. We had dinner at The Chop House, but wanted to bring our dessert back to the hotel in order to have a few drinks at the bar. The bar tender berated us multiple times for eating an outside dessert at the bar, although we were ordering multiple drinks. She accused us of "taking McDonalds to Outback". She did this over and over again, even after we tried to explain and apologize. She even went so far as to over charge me for my drinks, by charging me for doubles when I only ordered singles. I brought this to the hotel management's attention and to my knowledge, nothing was done. Also, the next morning, my bill remained unchanged. This is the worse service experience I have ever had at any Hilton property in all my travels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
5  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a very comfortable, pleasant hotel that is conveniently located in a nice area near the riverfront in downtown Charleston. The breakfast buffet has an excellent selection of cold and hot foods (including made-to-order omelets), the evening happy hour provides free wine, beer, and specialty drinks in a relaxing atmosphere, rooms are comfortable, hotel staff are pleasant, and parking is plentiful (though $12/day). Really, there is nothing not to like! Well, the pillows were a little lumpy, but given that this was the "worst" of the stay, I would rate the hotel as overall "excellent," especially given that favorable rates are often available.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My daughter and I arrived around 9pm to check in on a Friday night in August. I was lucky enough to find the last parking space available out front when I arrived. When checking in at the very different almost casino table style check in desks (which I think is brilliant by the way) there were two different sets of bridesmaids and brides checking in. They had coolers in tow and were very loud. I looked at the gal checking us in and said," I am not here for a wedding, we would just like to get a good night's sleep because we are back on the road early in the morning. Is it possible to not be near any of them?" She smiled and said, "I don't think that will be a problem at all." We were put on a very high floor in a corner room (right next to some sort of luxury suite). The room was nicely appointed, like any Embassy Suites. The bedroom seemed a little damp when we walked in. During the night when we had the airconditioning unit on the vent above the bedroom door was dripping condensation and with the air blowing it actually blew water droplets onto the bed. The vent cover was rusting so condensation on it must be an issue. I am a light sleeper but could hear the airconditioning unit for the hotel all the way down on the ground. Plus the police/ambulance noise from the street. Maybe staying on the other side of hotel would have been quieter? But then again, I saw the bridesmaides going into rooms on that side so I was fine with the airconditioning unit. Breakfast was fine the next morning. When checking out I mentioned the condensation/dampness in the bedroom. I asked when Embassy Suites started to allow pets. The lady said "We don't allow pets anymore". I mentioned that the back of the bedroom door had been chewed and clawed by a dog. The corner of the door had been eaten and almost a square foot of the door at the corner had been clawed and chewed. Obviously someone snuck in a dog and then left it in the room for some period of time. She said she had an idea of who that was. She took the $12 parking fee off my bill for the condensation inconvenience and thanked me for telling her about the dog damage on the door. When the door is held open you can't see it. We closed the door at night to add a buffer to the lobby/hallway noise and noticed it. We would stay here again when traveling through Charleston.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

this hotel has truly the best staff . everyone was cheery and helpful. the shuttle bus driver offered to ferry us to the state capital so we would not miss our daughter's swearing in, to the maid who came and brought us ice when she noticed the ice machine was not working well to the gentleman singing while he was cleaning tables at the manager's reception. the staff is truly attuned to the guest's needs . there were middle school guests, so the manager opened the soda and juice bar so these young guests could share in the reception.

the morning breakfast bar is wonderful. the hot made to order omelets are amazing.

however, the coffee is truly horrible. dish water would be better. please change your coffee service or open a coffee bar with an outside vendor supplying the coffee. the pool while very nice, has far too much chlorine (bathing suit was striped of colour after one visit). lastly, could you fix the windows so they would at least open a crack to allow for fresh air in the room?

have stayed here many times over the years, and will do so in the future.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were in town for a wedding/ only stayed 1 night this time but this place is very nice/ has great amenities and is right across from the mall! We love the complimentary breakfast/ the chefs do an awesome omelet. Nice sports bar too along with an adequate fitness center/ indoor pool. Only complaint is with parking they charge you $12 a night to self park in a lot adjacent to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston

Address: 300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301-1607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $136 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Charleston is centrally located in Charleston, WV close to many local restaurants, shopping and more. Enjoy a meal at the onsite restaurant, the Athletic Club Bar and Grill, or visit one of Charleston’s many restaurants. Mingle with other guests at a complimentary manager's reception, held daily each evening. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include a business center, indoor pool and spa tub, WiFi (surcharge), express check-out, multilingual staff and more. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary during limited hours. Parking (subject to charges) is conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing