We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Charleston while on business in August 2013. Overall, it was a good experience. The hotel shuttle picked me up at the airport, was timely and very convenient. I also used the hotel
shuttle to go to my business meeting. However, the location of the hotel in town was so convenient that I could have walked. I advised the front desk
that I came from the airport and did not have a car, so I did not have to deal with any charge for parking or other parking issues. The room was clean and the
furniture typical of an Embassy Suites Hotel. By chance, I
happened to stay at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Atlanta the following night, and the rooms looked the same. The only thing
negative that I could really mention, which applies both to the Embassy Suites Hotel in Charleston as well as the one I stayed at in Atlanta, is that they seem to have a slight problem with their key cards. They do not always work on the first or even the second try, so you have to keep trying and eventually the
door opens. The "suite" layout of the rooms, with a wet bar, microwave, fridge, and extra room, would be very good for a
lengthy stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceanmeetsthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

768 - 774 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Nice location in downtown Charleston. I was there for a conference, and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was better than I expected with complimentary manager's reception upon arrival, to the excellent complimentary breakfast and everything in between.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Kirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Aways love staying with the Embassy Group. Have stayed at many. Top accommadations & ammenities with friedly and professional service for reasonable rate for what you get. Suites are better, complimentary brkfst great, eve reception great. Most A1 with the Charleston Embassy. Great location, stayed here before. Little Hskp prob this time, but everything else great. Parking not so convenient, but ok

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here one night. Room was not at all up to Embassy standards: mold on outside wall, torn wallpaper, mold on shower curtain, empty water bottle and trash on side of bed, stain in toilet. Yuck! Housekeeping really failed. With all these problems we could see, I wonder what else was there that we couldn't detect?? Would have requested room change but didn't discover all these flaws until next morning. Complained to management and immediately received discount, no questions asked. Other than our crappy room, everything else was fine. Hotel is lovely and very conveniently located near civic center. There is a mall across the street with plenty of dining options, both casual and more formal. Breakfast included hot food buffet and omelet station. I would stay here again, but only after thoroughly checking my room upon check-in, and only because management responded to our complaints in a positive way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioTravelers9663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Love staying here. I travel alone and as a woman I like to have a place where I feel safe and secure when I stay. I always feel safe at the Embassy plus a feel pampered when I stay here. Whenever I travel if I am able to secure the government rate, I stay at an Embassy Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is the second time in a week my wife and I have stayed at the Embassy Suites in Charleston, South Carolina on Meeting street. First, the hotel is in the historic district of old Charleston. I believe it is situated on the site of the old Citadel academy. As you enter the main lobby area, the beauty of the building hits you immediately. Tall ceilings invite you as cool air envelopes you from the searing outside heat and humidity. There is a beautiful center court and fountain with all rooms located on four levels above the courtyard. The Embassy Suite rooms are famous for their expansive, two-room suites. Quite nice to come home to after lengthy walks around the historic district of Charleston. Restaurants are located nearby but my favorite was Virginia"s on King street with the best Country fried steak I have ever tasted. Enterprise rent a car is just down the street and we used their service to visit Savannah, Georgia for the day.
Great location, great helpful staff and outstanding made-to-order breakfast.

Room Tip: There is some destruction going on at the back of the property right now but otherwise very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I am an Embassy Suites fan and have been for a long time. I disliked this Embassy Suites so much that I canceled both of my upcoming reservations. In my opinion, the hotel is outdated and felt dirty. My room was changed 4 times upon arrival. I am very sensitive to cigarette smoke. I was placed in non-smoking rooms that had clearly been smoked in at some time or another. The staff tried to be accommodating as they could. Parking is an issue as well. Skip it if you can. Expensive for the room quality. Breakfast buffet food was terrible! Food in the warmer was cold - and I was the first in line on one morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

I appreciate your candor on your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand that during your stay, the freshness of your room was of concern to you and that there was an unpleasant odor. Unfortunately, as much as we try to monitor this, we sometimes cannot control if a guest chooses to smoke in their room without our knowledge. However, I can very much empathize with your dissatisfaction and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your feedback and are truly sorry we did not succeed creating a memorable experience for you. Should you desire to further discuss your visit, please feel free to contact me. I would love the opportunity to earn your business and have you stay with us again.

Thank you,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston

Address: 300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301-1607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $111 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Charleston is centrally located in Charleston, WV close to many local restaurants, shopping and more. Enjoy a meal at the onsite restaurant, the Athletic Club Bar and Grill, or visit one of Charleston’s many restaurants. Mingle with other guests at a complimentary manager's reception, held daily each evening. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include a business center, indoor pool and spa tub, WiFi (surcharge), express check-out, multilingual staff and more. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary during limited hours. Parking (subject to charges) is conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing