We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brick, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spacious accommodations”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent two nights and found room was clean and plenty of room. Hotel is certainly located near shopping mall & a short walk to riverfront & historic area. Check in was speedy but parking was confusing. Managers Happy Hour is nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motherearth54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    277
    138
    78
    40
See reviews for
289
129
39
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
chagrin falls
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I echo all previous reviews. CONS: Parking is ridiculous. $12 per day - there is no valet and you self park across the street - with no interior access to hotel. We arrived late at night & were advised to unload curbside & park. I would not have wanted to be traveling by myself or had some physical limitations - my hub came back from the garage & said he did not feel "comfortable" walking back from garage - very late outside, few people about. Carpeting, tile, fixtures & fake plants in lobby all need a good scrubbing. Dirt & dust abounds. Interior of rm dated (think burgundy & hunter green); TV has some channels that don't come in; dust along corners & baseboard of room; food & dirty linens left in hallway overnight.
Ok, now the PROS. Some updating noted. Our bathroom & bar looked recently redone. New cabinets & granite. Furniture in rm looked newer (sofa & chair). Corner suite was extra spacious and location made it very quiet. Breakfast was bountiful. If I needed to stay in Charleston again, I might consider staying here; however, if just driving through (as we usually do), I would stay elsewhere due to inconvenient parking situation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandjule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapmanville, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel. This hotel chain has good reputation and after this stay I concur. Visually very appealing complex. We were given 9th floor room. Check in was fairly quick. Entry to hotel lobby from high way is little bit tight. There was no parking available in front or behind hotel. I paid $12 for overnight parking but that too was little cumbersome. You definitely
need to unload your luggage before you go for parking., because you need to walk some distance from parking to hotel. Once you are in the hotel everything is excellent. Room is spacious, clean. Bathroom, linen and flooring are quite nice. Breakfast in the morning was very good. Made to order Omelet and the rest , you can pick up. The view is particularly appealing
from corridor. We dint have time to join the evening reception. So I cant comment on this. The hotel is somewhat pricey but is worth it. We might select this hotel again if we need to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satyam848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed at this Embassy Suites for a brief business trip, and given that I intend to be back to Charleston 2-3X a year for business, I would look to stay here again.

It is conveniently located next to the mall across the street and easy to get to from the highway.

The rooms were typicall of an Embassy Suites with two rooms with a bathroom in between. The bathrooms also had spacious shower stalls as opposed to tubs which prefer. Both rooms were spacious and offered a nice comfortable sleep with little to no outside noise coming in.

I didn't encounter staff much during my stay other than the front desk. The common errors were all brightly lit and looked to be in good shape.

Limited space for parking is available right up front, but there is plenty of parking in the adjacent garage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petertom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

THe room smelled like old smoke and bad purfum. After a few hours with the air on it went away. They also had a reno and forgot to finish the shower. It's a piece of glass with no door and water gets all over, never seen that before! Gym is newer and had a good selection of equipment. Breakfast was the smalles selection I had seen at an Embassy. Not worth the rate but the only option is Hampton if your a Hilton man like me. I alos did not enjoy walking past smelly dumpsters to park my car. It's just average for an ES. I let them know upon check out my concern about the room but they laughed, I was hoping for something diffrent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I understand from your review that you were not completely satisfied with our some aspects of our hotel. Your feedback is truly appreciated for it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss in further detail the reasons why our hotel was not a perfect fit for you. I’m always glad to listen to our guests suggestions.

Again I sincerely apologize if you went through any inconveniences and I do hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you have the opportunity to travel to Charleston, West Virginia, I without question recommend you stay at the Embassy Suites, excellent hotel, with an outstanding staff that goes the extra mile to take care of their guests. Plenty of parking and shuttle service to the airport and capital complex. My compliments to the management and staff of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 18, 2013

While travelling, found hotel to be clean, convenient, and worthy of repeat business. Very nice complimentary breakfast. Was also in good location for walking around town and right across from a mall with quality stores and fine restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Address: 300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301-1607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Charleston is centrally located in Charleston, WV close to many local restaurants, shopping and more. Enjoy a meal at the onsite restaurant, the Athletic Club Bar and Grill, or visit one of Charleston’s many restaurants. Mingle with other guests at a complimentary manager's reception, held daily each evening. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include a business center, indoor pool and spa tub, WiFi (surcharge), express check-out, multilingual staff and more. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary during limited hours. Parking (subject to charges) is conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing