We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Business Trips”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel has a very nice lobby. Free newspapers are provided. Lots of counter space in the bathroom, which almost every girl can appreciate. They have Crabtree and Evelyn products in the bathroom so it's ok if you forget to pack shampoo, soap, or lotion. The bed is comfortable enough for a solid night's sleep. The continental breakfast is pretty impressive. Parking is a bit of a pain. Only a few spots in the front, and a lot in the parking garage behind the hotel. The parking garage isn't connected to the hotel so you have to walk outside to it. The hotel is right across from the mall.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbieniek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear dbienick,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. Your comments are appreciated and I hope we will see you again in the near future for a return visit

Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

865 - 871 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Embassy Suites in Charleston is ALWAYS my go to hotel. The suites are amazing, the manager's reception with free food and drinks is always great, the made to order omlets at breakfast are delicious, and the overall experience is outstanding.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Jenniffer T,

Thank you for your continued business and your kind words concerning our hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear that we have satisfied return guests and your business is most appreciated.

Thank You

Mark Cherry GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The property was buzzing with kids' groups when I checked in. The front desk staff was very busy handling chaperons and their needs. When my turn came I was met by a very rude staffer who was very unhappy to check me in. I was asked for my ID (very common upon checking in) during the check-in process and business card for my corporate rate. I gave the staffer my passport. She handed it back and said she needed my driver's license. I politely said it's buried in my briefcase, can't you just use my passport. "No, I need your driver's license." So, I dug out my license. I asked the staff member if there was a special code or logon for the WiFi. She responded "You know, since you're only Silver Hilton Honors, you have to pay for it." Instructions are in your room. Hotel property is dated, but clean. Parking is terrible. There is no parking when checking in, so a guest is required to park in a filthy municipal parking garage with all the amenities and safety issues garages of this kind provide. Room service staff was very nice and food was good. Given rudeness of front desk staff, I will never use this property again. I would recommend travelers consider other hotels when visiting Charleston. These folks do not deserve your business.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear William J

On behalf of the management and staff of our hotel I’d like to thank you for your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to learn of your experience with us lacked what you typically expect from us. We typically get a lot of positive comments so I’m quite surprised to hear the about the issues you encountered. In order for us to continuously improve upon our products and services, we do take your comments very seriously. With that said, please be assured that I will be taking your feedback into consideration to improve our in-property experience.

Thank you again for your review and I sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back so you may enjoy a more favorable stay.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Cherry GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a quick, unplanned stop in Charleston while driving home from our vacation in Myrtle Beach. We had no way to search out hotels and just started calling around from results on our GPS.

We booked on the preferred rooms floor - it wasn't that much more expensive than the other floors. Our room was perfect for our family (we were travelling with 2 boys - 1 1/2 and 3 1/2). The kids slept in the livingroom and we took the bedroom.

The complimentary snack bar was a great treat for us and the kids after a long day of travelling (and before another long day of travelling!!). We didn't use the pool, but it looked great.
The breakfast - WOW. THAT was fantastic. One of the best omelets I've ever had! And there was a great variety of options for us and for the kids. I wish it went a little longer than 9 am, but that worked to get us up and back on the road!
The bed was among the most comfortable I have ever stayed in. I felt like I was wrapped in a cloud on top of a marshmallow. I never wanted to get out.

The staff were all so friendly, and the hotel was quiet, clean (immaculate, really), and a real treat for us.

Room Tip: Spring for the preferred rooms floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewel_hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Jewel_Hamilton,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review about our hotel and your experience. We just started the Premium floor program and you are the first to write about it but the verbal comments have been equally enthusiastic. I am so happy that you had such a great experience and I really appreciate the use of the word "fantastic" we must be doing something right.
I hope that in your future travels you will seek out Embassy Suites for your preferred lodging choice and that all your future travels will be equally as good.
I hope that we likewise will have the pleasure of your company again in the future

Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Held our 4th annual conference at the Embassy Suites Charleston, WV. Comments were that the event was "classy". We thank the staff at the Embassy Suites for their warm welcome, hospitality and service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank MSoloPesents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments concerning your recently completed meeting at the hotel. Your feedback is most appreciated and I hope we shall see you again in the future,

Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I had a comfortable stay. next time I will be glad to book here again. The staff was accomodating and the facility was clean and appears safe. I will recommend this hotel to anybody. It is my pleasure to stay here for the weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Hedy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Hedy W,

Thank you for your kind comments and your strong recommendation of the hotel. I am very happy that we were able to meet your needs and that you will be staying with us again as your travel plans allow.

Thank You
Mark Cherry GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have never stayed at an Embassy Suites before; this is a really nice place.
The rooms really are suites: a good-sized living room, with microwave and small refrig, and a separate bedroom. Both rooms have flat screen tvs. The rooms are very quiet and clean.
They have an open bar "managers reception" every night with free drinks and hors doeuvres for an hour and a half. This is not just beer and wine, but a full bar. It's a great way to socialize.
There is a full breakfast buffet, with a made-to-order omlette bar.
The meeting space is good, also, and staff is friendly and helpful.
I hope I get to stay here the next time I am in Charleston.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGJ1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear SGJ1013,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of the hotel. I appreciate all the comments and I will share the review with the staff to let them know what a great job they are doing.
I hope we will see you again in the future
Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charleston South, WV
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston

Address: 300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301-1607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $133 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Charleston is centrally located in Charleston, WV close to many local restaurants, shopping and more. Enjoy a meal at the onsite restaurant, the Athletic Club Bar and Grill, or visit one of Charleston’s many restaurants. Mingle with other guests at a complimentary manager's reception, held daily each evening. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include a business center, indoor pool and spa tub, WiFi (surcharge), express check-out, multilingual staff and more. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary during limited hours. Parking (subject to charges) is conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing