We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Beautiful hotel and room!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Beautiful hotel and quality service. Great complimentary breakfast and evening snacks. Parking is a fee and I did not know this until I received the bill.
Overall, I would come back to this hotel if I am ever back in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AprilSmiles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear AprilSmiles S

Thank you for your kind coments concerning your recent stay. I hope that we shall see you again in the near future

Regards
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    277
    138
    78
    40
See reviews for
289
129
39
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

My stay was perfect from the initial valet parking of the car to room service. The service was incredible and out of this world. The staff was so attentive. The rooms are clean and well maintained and the breakfast in the hotel was awesome. I would definitely recommend this hotel for its location, service, and amenities. There are so many good restaurants around the hotel. The location is perfect. Great hotel, great location. All and all perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonnieWhite04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear RonnieWhite04,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Embassy Suites last November. I appreciate your comments and feedback and I will share them with the staff.
I hope we will see you again in the future

Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Is it me, or are these older Embassy Suites really starting to show their age?

This property is right downtown and across the street from the mall. The property is typical Embassy Suites. Staff was great, rooms were clean and really no big issues.

However, I don't like the showerless doors, and I couldn't get the water temp right.
There are just little things here and there that makes this property show it's age.

It's also a bit pricey for the area, but there are not that many places at this level in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalMTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear smcptravels,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at my hotel. I am happy that you found many things to your liking including our service, location and cleanliness. We will use your input and feedback to improve what we can concerning the hotel and I hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again when your travels return you to the Charleston area.

Sincerely


Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Charleston WV is not the most exciting city but this Embassy tries to compensate. The hotel location is very good but they charge for everything like web access, parking etc. The breakfast is really good like at all Embassies. The courtesy of the the staff at the front desk is dissappointing. You get in to check in and they dont even greet you. They simply stand staring at you and you are the one who gas to start the interaction. They need some training, classes or simply hire better people.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The rooms were spacious and what I expected. The beds were very comfortable. I was not familiar with the area and asked staff for advice and directions, which they were happy to assist. They were very knowledgeable of the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachfinder66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear freerain,

Thank you for taking the time to write and for your kind comments about the hotel and the staff. I hope that you will return again in the future to further enjoy all that Charleston has to offer

Sincerely

Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Full facilities Complementary evening cocktails. Excellent meeting support. Breakfast has been a bit under par of late (nasty home fries and stiff scrambled eggs on the hot bar and skimpy prepared fruit selection). But still a great place to relax and have a well supported business meeting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfmtnctr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear wolfmtnctr,

Thank you for taking the time to write. I appreciate your comments and I have already addressed the comments about the breakfast items with the staff. Our goal is for all your guests to have a great stay and I hope that if your travels return you to Charleston WV that we will have the pleasure of your staying again.

Sincerely

Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
663 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Loved this hotel! It is next to a mall which has a great deal of food options not only in mall but nearby. We were checked in by a pleasant worker who placed us in nice high floor and near corner room facing downtown. The rooms are suite like rooms with a living room with a flat screen TV, small counter top/sink area, and a nicely appointed bedroom with a flat screen TV as well.
The hotel rooms have a central atrium area with a large ceiling window that allows light to filter in giving the hotel plenty of light and good solar vibes.

There is a managers reception a la Kimpton hotels with wine and liquors as well as snacks which they put in these small disposable containers.. . which was nice (wish they would use plates and not disposable containers which seemed an added waste and not too environmentally friendly.. . oh well just a suggestion.).. . there also is a complementary breakfast with standard buffet type food with warm food, omelette station and cold cereals etc.

In any case about only drawback was no complementary internet and the charge for parking; we were fortunate to find a parking spot in front (limited spots) but they still charge you for parking!

PS there is a shuttle service and they can take you anywhere reasonable within a 5 mile radius i believe and they operate late as well... the shuttle driver was a pleasant man and he both took us and picked us up at Bluegrass Kitchen which was nice!

Room Tip: High floor corner room and go to Bluegrass Kitchen; you can park in front and take shuttle so you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonanJordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Ledezmacji,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of our hotel. Your comments are much appreciated and will be shared with the staff. I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future if your travels return you to Charleston

Sincerely


Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Address: 300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301-1607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Charleston is centrally located in Charleston, WV close to many local restaurants, shopping and more. Enjoy a meal at the onsite restaurant, the Athletic Club Bar and Grill, or visit one of Charleston’s many restaurants. Mingle with other guests at a complimentary manager's reception, held daily each evening. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include a business center, indoor pool and spa tub, WiFi (surcharge), express check-out, multilingual staff and more. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary during limited hours. Parking (subject to charges) is conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing