We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overnight on a road trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“overnight on a road trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is an old hotel and it needs freshening up. They have an included buffet breakfast with a made-to-order omelette station. A $12 overnight parking fee was not included in the room rate. Parking lot outside was strewn with cigarette butts...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcopolo773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Marcopolo773

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. Your comments will be used to improve our operation. I hope that if your travels return you to this area we will once again have the pleasure of your company

Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    261
    131
    75
    38
See reviews for
271
123
38
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

The next time we drive back from the coast we would stop here again. The staff was very friendly and we got a huge suite that was clean and comfortable. The water was turned off between 11PM and 5AM for plumbing work, but it was not an inconvenience. There was a free happy hour when we arrived, and breakfast was included in the price. I can't say I was a fan of the fake plants hanging in the atrium (real ones were in the lobby), but they were surprisingly dust free and the atrium was bright and open. I would definitely recommend a room here.

Room Tip: We really liked having the extra sleeper sofa bed in the room. It made for a better night of sleep f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdelcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Pdelcourt,

Thank you very much for writing about your stay during your return for the beach. I am very glad that out water shutoff related to installing a new hot water heater was not an inconvenience and that you found your suite to be clean and spacious.
Thanks for recognizing our friendly staff and we look forward to having you stay again in the future.

Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel is part of the Hilton chain, just as is the Doubletree brand. We stayed in the latter in Salt Lake City, then an Embassy in Charleston. Embassy is a level down from my take. No lunch/dinner facility and they only do omelets on a "to order" basis as opposed to the Doubletree's full breakfast menu. Still, a very nice place, helpful staff. Decent gym, according to my wife. Laundry facility. Conveniently located, across the street from downtown mall. Charleston is small town (50K+), but it's the Capitol, so there are some decent restaurants, a couple in the mall which I will review. Town as a whole seemed interesting although we didn't get around that much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilobbyms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear ilobbyms,

Thank you for staying at the Embassy Suites hotel in Charleston WV and taking the time to write about your stay. I am very pleased that you had a nice stay and found a little time to discover Charleston.
I hope that if your travels return you to the area you will again consider the Embassy Suites for your lodging needs
Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a typical Embassy Suites as you will find in all major cities in the US, good sized suite for a very reasonable price.
This hotel is handy for the airport and convention centre but a good 20 minutes out of town (although the hotel offers a bus for around $20) .
Breakfast is busy so get down there early to avoid the queues and the food is of an ok quality, mass produced and probably quite cheaply but there's plenty of it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear James H
Thank you for talking the time to review your most recent stay at the Embassy Suites in Charleston WV. I hope that if your travels return you to the area we will have the opportunity to serve you again

Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay! Large rooms with a bedroom and a living room. Breakfast was great too. Loved the omlet bar in the morning. Well worth the pay. It also was really fancy. :) It was really neat how it had its own gift shop inside!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hippo1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Hippo1231,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the review of our hotel. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings and especially our cooked to order omelets add our large suites. I hope that you will return again if your travels bring you back to the area

Regards
Mark Cherry
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, WV
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel many times for business and with my family. This particular trip was for a nearby family wedding. The location was perfect.

The room was clean and he hotel staff was very helpful -- the bellman was very kind in making sure we got a luggage cart for our departure.

Parking is not particularly convenient -- especially if you have small children. We try to park in the limited parking in front, if possible.

Breakfast was plentiful and offered a variety of choices but average in quality.

The pool was extremely crowded during our stay, and the pool deck was very slippery and unsafe for our children. We did not stay long in the pool area, as a result.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear StephRad,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay, I thank you for your comments and we will use your feedback to improve or hotel. I am very happy that you found our staff to be helpful and I hope that we will have the opportunity to serve as your hosts again in the near future.

Sincerely


Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is the second time we have chosen this hotel as a midway resting point as we travel from Michigan to North Carolina. Our kids love this hotel (esp. riding up and down the elevator - thw views!- and checking out the fish in the ponds throughout the first floor.
Our suite was clean, the bathroom was absolutely spotless. Sheets were good quality and our kids slept well on the pull out sofa. The blanket for this sofa had been rolled up in a semi ball in an armoire and we didn't feel it was clean. We asked for a clean blanket and more pillows and they arrived at our room within 15 minutes - great service.
Breakfast was good (coffee was awful though, the coffee in the suite was great), swimming pool is very clean with swim towels provided. I think paying for parking is a bit much and no-one should have to pay for internet anymore but aside from this, we will never stay in another hotel on our way down south. Staff are polite and again, the cleanliness of our room was superb. As we left, we mentioned we had booked and paid for a king suite and had been given a queen and we were generously compensated with points (we are Hilton Honors members) as a result. No such thing as uncaring staff here, they are highly professional.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear loveran,

Thank you very much for your kind words. I am very happy that you had a nice stay and hope that you will again return when your travels bring you back through the area.

Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Address: 300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301-1607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Charleston is centrally located in Charleston, WV close to many local restaurants, shopping and more. Enjoy a meal at the onsite restaurant, the Athletic Club Bar and Grill, or visit one of Charleston’s many restaurants. Mingle with other guests at a complimentary manager's reception, held daily each evening. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include a business center, indoor pool and spa tub, WiFi (surcharge), express check-out, multilingual staff and more. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary during limited hours. Parking (subject to charges) is conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing