We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The best B & B we have ever been to!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillbrook Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillbrook Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The best B & B we have ever been to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

We throroughly enjoyed the comfort and charm of the Hillbrook Inn. The entire staff was so friendly and focused on making our visit to the Inn an experience to remember! The food was fabulous - a real experience in itself! We look forward to returning to the Hillbrook Inn to celebrate our anniversary every year!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkeppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
It was so nice to share your anniversary with you both! We appreciate the time you took to write such wonderful words about the Hillbrook...it truly means a lot to each of us! Have a wonderful day and great new year! We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    70
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
310
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

We loved our relaxing weekend at Hillbrook - it was the perfect escape from the city and daily life. Things we loved included:
- Our room was TV-free, but did have wireless internet
- Complimentary brownies/blondies, chocolates, in-room coffee
- Amazing linens: the sheets, feather duvets, quilts, and incredible robes
- Loved the claw-foot tub in our room...who has time for baths these days otherwise?
- Attentive, super-friendly staff
- Piano in the main sitting room
- Incredibly filling delicious breakfast
- Great recommendations for local restaurants (Mezzaluna, Dish)
Things to be aware of:
- Winter is a quiet time to visit - we did Harper's Ferry in a day, but didn't find much else to do but relax, read, sleep and eat incredible meals...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethesdajess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

We recently spent an overnight at Hillbrook. It is all of what the other reviewers have commented. A charming, lovely B & B with an excellent, welcoming and caring staff. Our room & bathroom were a nice size, especially the shower. We did the 5 course dinner, had a wonderful filet as the main course, and felt it was a good value for the money. Breakfast, while delicious (fruit, blueberry pancakes, and sausage), my husband was still hungry when we left. The 3 small pancakes were as light as air (a good thing) but not very filling. In retrospect to other B & Bs we have stayed in of the same caliber, there has always been muffins or pastries in addition to quite substantial breakfasts.

The rest of this review is based on other B & Bs we have stayed at throughout the east coast and most recently Carmel, California. We stay in upscale places, with costs typically ranging between $230 to $300, so I am comparing apples to apples. Our room was the Locke’s Nest and the cost was $299/night. In other B & Bs where we stayed, included in the cost, there has always been a late afternoon complimentary wine and cheese gathering or something like tea and pastries. Hillbrook did not offer this. In Carmel, and, in fairness, this is not something we have had anywhere else on the east coast, there was a chilled bottle of champagne waiting in our room when we got there and a small box of gourmet chocolates. All rooms got this – complimentary! Our absolutely gorgeous room, with fireplace, king bed, refrigerator, tv, etc. was about $40 more than Hillbrook and overlooking the cliffs and ocean. Included in the stay was a really nice spread of wine, various types of cheeses & crackers and a quite substantial breakfast the next morning. So, compared to what we received in Carmel & other B & Bs, we feel our room at Hillbrook was quite overpriced. Hillbrook had a small plate of cookies, sparkling water, and 2 chocolates waiting in our room. What a nice touch it would have been, while we were socializing with the other guests before dinner, in the inns lovely living room in front of the roaring fire, to have been offered something like complimentary wine and cheese. Had we stayed in one of the cheaper rooms at Hillbrook, I would not be making these comparisons. But for $299, I do not feel we got a good value.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rolyn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2010
It was a pleasure to hear all your feedback and appreciate the time you shared in reviewing the Hillbrook Inn. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the wonderful shower, the roaring fire in one of my favorite spots in the inn and the other guests! As the owner of the establishment, I hope to use the information you supplied to better the Inn! I apologize that our staff did not ask if you had enough to eat. They are trained to ask you about your stay, if there was anything we could have done to make it more special and if breakfast was enjoyed. They are also trained to ask the question, "can we get you anything else this morning?". I will reiterate to the staff that they need to be clear, and ask if the guests are full and satisfied with the breakfast. We do not want anyone walking away hungry, and deeply apologize for this! We do hope to see you in the future and ask that you contact me direct when you call...because I want to make your next stay more memorable and valuable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunt Valley, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this establishment in early October and enjoyed ourselves very much. We were in the Fall Cottage, which was lovely in every way (beautifully decorated, clean etc.). We brought our little dog who was most welcome (and although the dog was allowed in this room, there was absolutly no indication that any other pets had ever been in it. We would have loved the room with or without the dog, but it was great to have been able to bring him). The staff and owner were just as nice as could be. They even made breakfast just for us one day. This was a weekday and not their most busy time, yet we were treated royally anyway. The food was absolutly delicious and I enjoyed sharing conversation about various recipes. (Loved the baked apple with fresh whipped cream!). The grounds were just beautiful as well.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dramaminequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
It was such a pleasure to hear from you and enjoyed your visit to the Inn! Thank you for all the kind words and feedback. I will gladly forward this onto my staff, because they work so hard on keeping the rooms presentable at all times, and perfect even though some are pet friendly! I am also glad to hear you had one of my personal favorites, "The Baked Apple"! Those can get me in trouble! We look forward to visiting with you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed one night for our anniversary and it was a very romantic setting. The property is beautiful and the room is lovely. I loved the historic feel of the home- they definitely kept it very true to it's nature. The only downside was the shower in the room we stayed (the lookout). It had a beautiful clawfoot tub with a hand held shower head. The problem was- it was not tiled in so water got everywhere and it was just not the most comfortable way to bathe. I think that's one upgrade that might be necessary but staying only one night it wasn't a big deal. The breakfast was also wonderful. I will definitely stay again but

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cupcake1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBInn, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2010
I am so happy that you were able to visit us at the Hillbrook Inn. We are currently working hard to give better descriptions to the rooms and more photographs. Our web-site changes have been a year long project that we will continuously improve! In the meantime, we will do our best to answer any questions guests may have when booking a specific room, and will discuss with the staff on how to make that happen. We are also trying to take strides in creating spaces that are conducive to lifestyles, but at times we find it difficult to accomplish with the architecture and character of the Inn. We appreciate your honesty, your words and time. It only helps us grow and learn from the guests! We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles town wv
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Our group enjoyed a lovely breakfast for our annual meeting. This year like previous years was special from the moment we entered the door. We were met by a cheerful staff and treated royally. The breakfast of warm apple bread pudding with caramel sauce with pecans and whipped cream was a true delight. Breakfast included grilled canadian bacon and scrambled eggs with vermont cheddar cheese. There were cherry tomatoes seasoned to perfection with an assortment of warm muffins. All of my guests were pleased with the service and food. This is an annual treat for our group and we look forward to next years event!!!!!

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank candle57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBInn, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2010
Thank you for the kind words! The staff will enjoy hearing how much you enjoyed your annual meeting at the Hillbrook Inn. Your continual business and most of all support is deeply appreciated! We enjoy being a part of something so special every year...thank you for the opportunity!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We had decided to escape form the city and spend the weekend in the country. The Hillbrook Inn offered exactly what we were hoping for. A comfortable, if somewhat small room – be forewarned, when they say that rooms are small, they mean it! - in a very quiet setting. The set five-course dinner menu was uncomplicated and decent enough- although nothing spectacular to write home about. Same would apply to the breakfast, although we were lucky to be there for the monthly brunch which offered a good variety of dishes.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copper16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBInn, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Thank you for your visit to the Hillbrook Inn! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Brunch at Hillbrook. James Paul, the Brunch Chef has been working hard to make it a sumptuous and enjoyable experience for all to enjoy. As for your dining experience at dinner and breakfast, I will be sure to have a discussion and review menus with the Chef's that were cooking those meals. Allowing us to see what we can do to make a delightful and memorable experience at those times as well. We appreciate the time you spent at Hillbrook and sharing your experience with us so we can grow as a business and create a better experience for guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
14.4 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Inn at Charles Town
The Inn at Charles Town
#2 of 5 in Charles Town
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
9.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
10.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillbrook Inn

Property: Hillbrook Inn
Address: 4490 Summit Point Road, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillbrook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable West Virginia Inn and Restaurant in lovely Charles Town. Our fantastic Select Registry property is an historic country estate with beautiful gardens on 17 wooded acres. Relax in a romantic suite with comfy beds, whirlpool tubs & fireplaces. Experience the gracious service and award winning dining at our secluded inn that makes us stand apart from any property in Harper's Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hillbrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillbrook Hotel Charles Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing