We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful secluded getaway”
Review of Hillbrook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillbrook Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I surprised my boyfriend with a 2 night stay in the Point room for his birthday. Not only was the staff welcoming upon first arrival but they were very attentive to every need and accommodation. We enjoyed a bubbly cocktail as we were checked in and then were off to explore the ground. This place is BEAUTIFUL! its tucked away down a long gravel road so there is no traffic near by (not as if there is much in Charles Town). Also, location wise--great distance from 'down-town' Charles Town. The room itself might be small for some people but we thought if fit just right. I really appreciated the unique and personal touches that the owners put into decorating. But I must inform you of the best part about this place....THE FOOD. Breakfast is included and this does not mean they skimp...its 2 courses and absolutely delicious. As for dinner...oh my oh my!! 2 options (3 course and 5 course) if you have the money then I'd say go for the 5!!but the 3 is great too. There are no menu options but the cook will take suggestions on what not to cook/what you don't like.

Loved this place and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Mikala,
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. It is a joy to receive such great feedback from a valued guest. We really appreciate it! I am also glad you noticed the personal touches that make Hillbrook feel like "home." We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
There are newer reviews for Hillbrook Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 450 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

We did a two night stay at the Hillbrook Inn. The grounds are beautiful as are the accommodations. We stayed at the Farmhouse which is located approximately 2 miles from the main lodge. We stayed at the Sunset room which I highly recommend. The room was beautiful, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was very luxurious. The Farmhouse is isolated with apple orchards on one side and fields on the other. If you're looking for peace and quiet this is the place to stay. You have access to a full kitchen, dining room, front porch and a deck on the back. Breakfast was included in our stay. You don't know what the meal will be until they actually serve it to you. The food was very good. We didn't have dinner there and that would be my one and only criticism. You don't know what you're getting until you have it served to you. Unfortunately, my wife and I are picky eaters so I want to know what I'm getting before i make a commitment
to have dinner. The staff was very attentive and friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2inlove718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for your review! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed staying at the Farmhouse. I also appreciate you sharing your feedback about the dining experience. Our talented culinary team prepares daily prix fixe menus designed to please even the most discerning pallets. However, we are more than willing to accommodate our guests’ dietary needs upon request. Hopefully you can stay with us again and try our three or five-course dinner next time!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Just enjoyed a two night pampered experience at the Farmhouse with two girlfriends. We all had our own suite and hope to return with friends next spring. The staff are attentive to every need -whether dietary or just plain comfort. The welcome received from Bobby at check in was very nice. Upon check in, your services during the stay are reviewed along with an automatic gratuity added for spa services; dinner ( we had the 3 course $45 dinner) along with tax/gratuity for dinner/breakfast. Nice that no unexpected charges at check out. At check in, staff review your dietary needs for both breakfast and dinner. The breakfasts both mornings were a delightful surprise -poached pear and eggs benedict with fresh fruit/juices and yogurt with raspberries/slivered almonds and veggie frittata with crisp bacon or sausage. Dinner is equally a surprise and only posted around 3 p.m. Chef Justin's dinner on Sunday was unbelievable. Potatoe/leek soup; grilled rockfish over polenta with beet glaze and sautéed brussel sprouts. All just delightfully presented and dessert -wow.......Freshly baked cookies available at Inn and in our Farmhouse. Rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. Nice linens and Krueg machines in every room along with courtesy in room iPad. Like many, our visit was a result of a living social purchase which included a credit for dinner and spa service. While our stay was awesome, it was a bit pricey for a girls getaway. Would definitely return if there are future packages etc for returning guests.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariePennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

A girl’s getaway at Hillbrook is the perfect way to enjoy our well-appointed Farmhouse! I’m glad you appreciated the freshly bakes cookies, gourmet breakfasts, nice linens, and special room amenities that we provide to our guests. You may want to take advantage of our upcoming Black Friday promotion or Living Social getaway offer to book a return stay. We enjoyed having you and hope you and your girlfriends can visit again sometime!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Over the past weekend we enjoyed a romantic stay at the Hillbrook Inn. The inn and grounds are gorgeous, and service is fairly attentive. One of the best parts of our stay was the courtesy in-room iPad. Through a living social deal, we opted to stay in the Snuggery. The room was cute, clean, and cozy. While the room does have a roman soaking tub, it is not ideal for two people as it's deep but not very long. We felt that the food and amenities were overpriced (which isn't unusual at certain fancy inns, but not what we as customer's are looking for). You are encouraged to make reservations for a 3- or 5-course dinner. At $45/person, this came to more than $100 with gratuity even with a $25 dining credit applied. You don't find out the menu (1 option) until the evening of. This can be fun & exciting for high rollers, but that is simply not us. It was far more than we usually spend on dinner. But for many, this could be suitable and it could be enjoyable to feel lavished and as if you don't need to leave the property. We just may be too young and too budget conscious to enjoy such amenities properly.

Overall, we truly enjoyed the service, walking the grounds and the room. I think most who seek out this inn won't be disappointed. The history was wonderful & everyone was kind.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Kirsten,
I appreciate you sharing your honest feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and the property, as well as the service we provide to our guests. By offering deals through Living Social, our goal is to make it affordable for more guests to enjoy the “Hillbrook experience,” which includes our exceptional fine dining restaurant. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Winter Cottage was our home away from home for three nights during our "mini-moon" -- a short trip to get away close to home after our wedding. The cottage itself was cozy, inviting and well-appointed with a king-size bed, working fireplace (so nice!), iPad for personal use, television and very nice bathroom. (Just a note about the cottages: the four actually share walls, though with separate entrances and private porches. Even with other guests staying around us, we never heard anyone else; it was private and secluded.)

The seasonal cottages are a short walk from the main house, where breakfast and dinner are served. We made a dinner reservation for our first night at Hillbrook and really enjoyed our meal. Even in a very formal dining room, it didn't feel "stuffy." I actually felt very comfortable and really enjoyed our wanderings through the main house! Breakfasts were all very delicious and different each day, my favorites being the cinnamon baked apple and delicious spinach pastry pinwheel.

I would advise that the shower in the Winter Cottage has a very narrow opening; some guests may find it too small to enter. The spa tub worked well and was very relaxing. The housekeeping staff was very kind and on top of things -- new linens and extras were supplied each afternoon after we left for the day. Andy and Marcy were friendly and attentive to our needs, and seemed genuinely interested in ensuring our stay was pleasant.

We used our stay at Hillbrook as a springboard to visit Charles Town (where we had a great meal at the Mediterranean Cafe and enjoyed wandering into the shops) and Harpers Ferry, which was quiet in November -- but still worth a visit! The Hillbrook Inn was centrally located for our day trips and provided a very relaxing place to unwind at the end of the day. We enjoyed our time here and would return!

Room Tip: The seasonal cottages are a short walk from the main house, and the Winter Cottage seems to boast th...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarylandCupcakelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

I am so glad you were able to enjoy your “mini-moon” with us. After a busy wedding weekend, I’m sure you were ready for a respite at Hillbrook! It’s great that you were able to explore the area a bit and get to know our caring staff. Congratulations, and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I spent new years eve here -- my folks took care of the kids and we got a little getaway. The five course dinner was amazing! We come from a foodie city, so were lowering our expectations to average, but it was excellent, and far above what we had anticipated -- as was the yummy breakfast the next morning. The snowy grounds felt like a Christmas postcard, and our room was snuggly and quiet. It was so tastefully done, we were happy to stay inside much of the time, although had it been warmer we would have done lots of walking. THe staff was great, and the music they had for new years -- an excellent guitarist -- was also much higher quality than we expected.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaile S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Kaile,

Thank you for sharing your experience from last New Year’s Eve – just in time for our 2013 celebration! The same guitarist is returning again this year, and we are adding a four-piece jazz band as well. It is sure to be a lively and enjoyable way to ring in the New Year!

I appreciate your compliments about the grounds, the food, and our staff. I hope you can come back to stay with us again!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We spent one night to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday. Stayed in the Serenity room in the Gatehouse above the spa. The room was absolutely beautiful and stands up to it's name.
My wife enjoyed a 3-hour mani/pedi/massage spa treatment. The entire staff was so attentive, friendly, and eager to accomodate. We both were amazed at the 5-course meal with the wine pairing presented by Chef Justin! Even in the off-season for produce, he was able to create the most delicious and tantilizing plates. Disappointed we couldn't spend another night of relaxation and pampering. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: For a bit of privacy and seclusion, highly recommend the Serenity room. Soaking tub, double-head sh...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Hillbrook is a great place to celebrate special occasions, so I’m glad you got to enjoy your wife’s 50th with us! The Serenity Suite is aptly named for its serene setting and is conveniently located right above the spa.

It’s great that you were able to enjoy Chef Justin’s five-course dinner as well. Our entire culinary team aims to create exquisite meals with a touch of creativity and class. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
14.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
834 reviews
10.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
11.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
298 reviews
5.1 mi away
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillbrook Inn

Address: 4490 Summit Point Rd, Charles Town, WV 25414-4682
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range: $151 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillbrook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable West Virginia Inn and Restaurant in lovely Charles Town. We were just named in the Top 10 B&B's in the US! Our fantastic Select Registry property is an historic country estate with beautiful gardens on 17 wooded acres. Relax in a romantic suite with comfy beds, whirlpool tubs & fireplaces. Experience the gracious service and award winning dining at our secluded inn that makes us stand apart from any property in Harper's Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hillbrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillbrook Hotel Charles Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing