We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, gracious B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hillbrook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillbrook Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful, gracious B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed every bit of our stay! The rooms are beautifully decorated and the entire property is fantastic. Every single person at the Inn was friendly, accommodating, and professional. We truly enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was quite good and we enjoyed that as well.
We did eat dinner there one evening and felt it was good but not worth the hefty price tag but that did not detract from our enjoyment of the beautiful property. We'll just explore dining options in the local area during future stays. We will return for the wonderful ambiance of the property.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBBSTEPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBInn, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
We are so happy you were able to spend two nights with us! Thank you for mentioning our rooms and property! Our staff works very hard to create an atmosphere that is warm and inviting, therefore, I will be happy to tell them you enjoyed your stay. I will also share your feelings about the dining, I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with the dining experience, but happy to hear that it did not distract from your stay. In the future we would love to make it up to you…or point you into a direction for dining in the area. We look forward to seeing you in the future and hope you enjoy the day! Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    73
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
336
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Carissa is an amazing hostess! Everything was taken care of for us; room was spectacular --- everything the website showed and more! Christine in the kitchen did an amazing job with our 3-course dinner - including coming out to the dining room afterwards. It was the perfect weekend getaway where we didn't have to do anything except relax and enjoy the beautiful inn and each other!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherC789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBInn, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Tim B,
It was a pleasure to share the Hillbrook with you and your wife. I am happy to hear that your wife was able to take advantage of the spa while visiting and you were able to get to read. Hillbrook is a special place to us and anytime we can create a relaxing atmosphere for guests, we feel we have accomplished something great. Thank you for being our guest!
Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed in the main house and enjoyed a stress-free stay. My wife enjoyed both a pedicure and a massage, while I spent time catching up on my reading. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was very good. The rooms were comfortable and spacious, and we would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

My husband and I celebrated 36 years of marriage and just wanted to relax and be pampered. We really enjoyed the Winter Cottage and the king size bed. Beautiful grounds and the main house was nicely decorated with comfortable chairs and sofas throughout. The staff was very friendly and treated you like you were family. Hats off to the Chef, the 5 course meal was delicious. The candlelight and fireplace in the dining room made it very romantic and comfortable. The history of Hillbrook is very interesting. Please put together a historical review for your guests to read and take with them to share with others. The only thing missing was wood fireplaces in the cottage, gas just seemed out of place. We will highly recommend your B&B to others.

Room Tip: You have to take a room at the cottage for a king size bed but I like the rooms in the main house b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
It was an honor to celebrate your 36th wedding anniversary with you both! We are happy to hear that you were not only able to enjoy the cottages, but that you ventured over to the main house to enjoy what we have to offer there as well! I will let the Chef know that you were happy with everything during dinner as well! As for the history, yes it is very interesting and enjoyable to hear and share with guests. Currently we are working on something to place on the I-pads in the rooms for guests to read on the history of the Inn and property. In addition, I will get with my marketing manager and put something together for guests to take home with them as well. As for the fireplaces, yes we love the wood burning too; we do offer a wood burning fireplace in the Bamford Suite. If you enjoy the ambiance of the main house, this room just might be a good fit for your next visit. Guests are always able to enjoy the wood burning fireplaces in the Living room as well.

I deeply appreciate your feedback! It is wonderful and helpful to hear what guests have to say and look forward to future visits with you both!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for two nights for a much needed break in our routines. It was quite and relaxing. The grounds are beautifully kept. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast each morning was delicious. One of the best B&B's we've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnF52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear Ann F:

I am glad to hear that you were able to get escape the hectic lives we sometimes lead, it is often needed! Hillbrook offers such a serene atmosphere and we are happy to share it with guests. We are lucky enough to enjoy it every day and it is an honor when someone is here to share it with us! We are ecstatic to hear that we are “one of the best B&B’s you ever stayed at!” That truly means the world to all of us at Hillbrook Inn!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

My wife and I decided to get away for a night to celebrate out 17th wedding anniversary. We were greeted at the door like long lost friends. Jeff poured us a glass of wine and then we took a tour of the place. After settling in to our room, my wife went to get a 1 hour massage in the separate spa facility on the grounds. As she was getting a massage, Jeff came to our room and built a fire in our woodburning fireplace. After that we had a intimate dinner.It was just the two of us and we were seated directly in front of the fireplace. The food and service was 5 star. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants a special night away.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear Jeff H:

Thank you for choosing Hillbrook to celebrate your 17th anniversary. It is wonderful to know you felt right at home. I am also glad to hear that the staff was able to accommodate you and your wife and you were able to truly escape!

Most of all I am happy to hear that we created a romantic backdrop to celebrate such an important day! It was an honor to share our Inn with you and look forward to future visits with you both.

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

My boyfriend brought me here for my birthday as a surprise and cannot rave enough about Hillbrook Inn! It was absolutely perfect! The ground were so beautifully manicured and the perfect setting for a relaxing weekend. We stood in one of the cottages (definitely the way to go) and it included a comfortable and relaxing room, sitting area, fire place, iPad 2, coffee, Jacuzzi tub and private porch. We not only had a great time there but in the surrounding area. We visited the Summit Point Raceway and went racing in some speedy go karts as well as visited the Hollywood Casino. The food at Hillbrook Inn was absolutely wonderful and the staff at Hillbrook were very friendly and met all of our needs. I truly couldn't have asked for a more wonderful Birthday.

Room Tip: The Cottages are perfect for people looking for privacy, specifically the Spring Cottage because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krystallight924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
I am glad to hear the birthday surprise was a success and you enjoyed the private Spring Cottage! Your boyfriend did a wonderful job and appreciate that you enjoyed Hillbrook and all we have to offer. In addition, I am glad to hear that you both explored the area and were able to experience some of the fun things Charles Town has to offer.

Both the Summit Point Speedway and Charles Town Races and Slots can be wonderful places to visit during your stay. On your next visit if we can direct you to more fun things to do such as, kayaking, tubing, zip line or even horseback riding please let us know. We would be happy to assist you both! We enjoy not only sharing the Inn with you but helping you to create a full experience during your visit.

Happy Birthday! We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
10.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
14.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
11.9 mi away
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Charles Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillbrook Inn

Property: Hillbrook Inn
Address: 4490 Summit Point Road, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillbrook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable West Virginia Inn and Restaurant in lovely Charles Town. We were just named in the Top 10 B&B's in the US! Our fantastic Select Registry property is an historic country estate with beautiful gardens on 17 wooded acres. Relax in a romantic suite with comfy beds, whirlpool tubs & fireplaces. Experience the gracious service and award winning dining at our secluded inn that makes us stand apart from any property in Harper's Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hillbrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillbrook Hotel Charles Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing