We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whiting, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I visited the Carriage Inn Bed & Breakfast for the first time. We have spent 4 nights at this beautiful and historic place. We stayed at Mary Rutherford room. Our room was beautiful, clean, peaceful and cozy. We felt very welcomed from the time we walked in. Marie gave us a tour of the house and told us the history of this wonderful place. Marie and Donn are great hosts. Every morning we have been served a gourmet breakfast that was absolutely delicious. In the afternoon there were always home baked goodies. Outside of our room there is a refrigerator with drinks and a water cooler. The entire house is stunning and spotless. The house is a short distance from great places to eat and shop and other great attractions. We could not be more satisfied with our choice of staying at the Carriage Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
155
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I needed a small getaway/vacation and after looking at several B&Bs, this seemed like the best in the area. Our initial impression online was blown out of the water in person.

The main house is absolutely magnificent, with beautiful decor and rich history. Numerous famous figures in history have left their mark in this house. We had the wonderful pleasure of staying in the suite in the old slave quarters/kitchen, which is detached from the house. When we first arrived, we were warmly greeted and given a small tour and told the history of the house. Snacks and drinks were offered to us and are available all day to guests. The innkeepers, Don and Marie, are some of the nicest people we have ever met. They were willing to help us in any way and made us feel so welcome and comfortable.

The suite itself was beautifully decorated, with a living room, queen sized bed, bathroom with robs waiting for us, fridge stocked with juices and sodas to enjoy complimentary, and a large two person Jacuzzi that we couldn't wait to get into. Upstairs, there are two single beds, perfect for kids.

Needless to say, my husband and I cannot wait to come back. The detached suite is perfect for any couple or family, with plenty of privacy while also being taken care of. Harper's Ferry is only 15 minutes away, old town Charles Town only a minute away, and the casino 2 minutes away.

You won't find this level of comfort and hospitality anywhere else! :)

Room Tip: Choose the detached suite if you want privacy and comfort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleydrexel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We have just spent one night in this beautiful, historic property. Donn and Marie could not have been more welcoming. As Brits it was wonderful to experience US history through this house. Marie gave us a tour and told us about its history. The weather was bad but in warmer months there was a lovely outside porch and large area of garden for relaxation.
The location is perfect for visiting places like Harpers Ferry, Antietam and the local mountains and Charles Town itself has a lot of interesting, old buildings.
The bedrooms are all large and beautifully furnished and equipped and breakfast was a delight

Room Tip: All are beautiful and really spacious and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamcumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I just spend our second weekend at the Carriage Inn. It is absolutely gorgeous inside and has many little facets that keep the history and warmth in the building. Our hosts, Marie and Donnie were amazing. They are so friendly and make you feel like you have known them for years. We always feel comfortable and never have anything less than an exceptional time. Breakfast is served every morning and is delicious. Make sure to ask for the French bread French toast, you will be amazed with the heavenly caramelized apples that are smothering them. I could write forever about this place but the best way to experience it is to check it out yourself. They even have a little cottage if you have a small family.

Room Tip: Check out Vivo spa in Harpers Ferry, they are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We loved our stay at the Carriage Inn. Marie greeted us when we arrived and could not have been sweeter. She was so lovely, showed us around, and gave us history on the house (which was really interesting!) We stayed just 1 night but really enjoyed ourselves and our room was very nice and comfy! We stayed in the Garden View Room and our only complaint was that it was right next to the stairs so it got a little loud in the morning, but that's expected and it wasn't terrible. At night we walked down to the horse races (less than a 10 minute walk) and had a lot of fun celebrating my husband's birthday. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jr2blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was our first B&B and Donn and Marie set the bar high. The house was very nice and quiet. Complimentary refreshments outside our bedroom and VHS tapes if you wanted to watch a movie. Breakfast was delicious. You could tell it was made with love:)
The house is central to Charels Town.

Thank you for a wonderful stay Donn and Marie, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Donn and Marie are probably the best hosts you could ever hope to have. The rooms were beautiful and very comfy. Donn always has some great evening snacks waiting for you when you return in the evening. I don't think we could have spent our anniversary at a better BnB. Well worth the money and the history of the house is fantastic. Donn even went to the trouble to look up some family history for me after we left.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billbeall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
6.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Charles Town
The Inn at Charles Town
#2 of 6 in Charles Town
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
5.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
10.5 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414-1077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a National Register of Historic Places site, The Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, with seven rooms and suites, is the perfect place for your relaxing getaway, "close to home" vacation, or romantic weekend away! Business Travelers will receive special care including flexible breakfast times, high-speed wireless internet, and a "no charge" cancellation policy. Nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Battlefield Park and Antietam National Battlefield. Antique shops, great restaurants, and Charles Town Races and Slots are within easy walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Inn b&b
Carriage Hotel Charles Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing