We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put this on your list!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2008

I can't say enough about the positive weekend just spent at the Carriage Inn. We felt at home from the minute we stepped on the front porch and more so thoughout our stay. All the rooms were well-appointed and charming, and our Shenandoah Suite was lovely. Innkeepers Marie and Donn went out of their way to assure we were pampered and our every need was met. Breakfast each day was unique and delicious-caramel apple French toast on Saturday and a quiche on Sunday, formally served in the elegant dining room. Brownies and cookies greeted us in the evening upon our return from the day. What a welcome attitude adjustment from the city!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brina20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 225 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2008

Perfect in every respect. My husband and I visited for one night for my birthday, and I am so glad we did. We were greeted at the door by Marie, who owns and runs the house with Donn. The rooms are large and comfortable - we stayed in the Sunrise room, with a comfortable blue decor and a bathroom a few steps downward from the room itself. Coffee, tea and snacks were available from 7:30 am to 9 pm. The Inn is within easy walking distance of the Charles Town Races and Slots, although you have to walk on the side of the road since there aren't really any sidewalks to speak of. Breakfast (which I understand changes daily) was fresh watermelon, blueberries, muffin, and a hearty slice of quiche, plus at least 6 different chioces of juice. Although the house has a great deal of history and dates from the 1840s, the soundproofing was excellent and we slept wonderfully. We were so pleased at our choice, and we will definitely return to this B&B again!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jinkster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

This is our 4th time staying at this bed and breakfast and each time is better than the last. You can`t ask for better Inn owners than Donn and Marie. If you don`t like rich tasting breakfasts that are anything but ordinary than this isn`t the place for you. We`ve stayed in 3 different rooms but I know that my wife will agree that the Copper Beech room is the best by far (love the jacuzzi!!!). The rooms are mostly decorated in period furniture and yet it`s still nice to have the AC and TV. It`s a quiet atmosphere but you`re only minutes from the Horse Track and Casino. Civil War history is everywhere, from Harper`s Ferry to Antietam Battle Field. It`s just a great place to stay all the way around.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tool-collectorguns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

My husband and I stumbled upon the Carriage Inn on the internet as we searched for a place to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary and we are so glad we did! We enjoyed a truly relaxing weekend away in a beautiful historic home full of comfort, elegance and "calm". Donn and Marie, the innkeepers, are enough reason to come back for another stay! They are so kind and warm and do whatever they can to make your stay pleasurable. There is always a homemade dessert out to enjoy and a refrigerator stocked full of juices,sodas , water and anything you might want to drink throughout the day ,which we really appreciated. Even when each room was full , the house was very quiet and peaceful due to the solid brick wall construction of the past. Just a short drive from Sheperdstown and Harper's Ferry, we spent the day shopping, catching up on some history and then enjoying a terrific dinner at The Press Room in Sheperdstown( excellent!) We were very sorry to have to leave The Carriage Inn ,but we will be returning again soon! On this trip we stayed in the Bird's Nest Suite. During our next stay, we would probably choose the Copper Beech with the jacuzzi or the Shenandoah Suite . This Inn is a gem!! Don't miss it!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank teach2_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

The Carriage Inn was wonderful! We were only there for one night but wish it could have been longer. Donn and Marie are very charming and gracious hosts. The Inn and the surrounding Charles Town area are a must for any civil war history buff. The history of the inn itself was amazing and sitting on the porch in the evening we could really feel the history of the place. We stayed in the Garden View room. It was lovely, relaxing and comfortable. Donn makes a wonderful breakfast (served at a time of your choice) and he evens shares his recipes. If you are in the Charles Town/Harpers Ferry/Antietam area and don’t want an ordinary hotel room this is where you need to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank subrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2007

The "suite" that we stayed in (The Robin's Nest Suite) was nothing but an attic that had been dressed-up a little. The rate that we payed for the room ($183.15) was terribly over-priced.
We've stayed in much more luxurious hotels in the past and have paid less than we did for the attic. When we told the Inn Keepers that we weren't satisfied with the room, they told us that there were no other rooms available at that time. Later in the evening, when someone phoned in and cancelled their reservation, the Inn Keepers asked us if we were interested in switching rooms. We stated that we were interested. The Inn Keepers stated that we could have the room for $250........RIDICULOUS!!! What they should have done was just give us the room for the price that we already payed.
Also, if you do plan on staying at the Carriage Inn, please make sure that you are a Civil War buff. If you're not a Civil war buff, you may find it to be a little uncomfortable when you go down to eat your breakfast and you find General Ulysses Grant and his wife in the dining room waiting to "chat" with you while you attempt to eat your breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank PLAYMAKER88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

The Carriage House Inn b&b was wonderful! Donn and Marie, the innkeepers, were so friendly and very interested in making our stay relaxing and comfortable. We arrived to a fresh baked peach cobbler and whipped cream. Yum! The house is full of very interesting history. Our room (Mary Rutherford) was large, pretty and comfortable. The fireplace looked lovely, but being almost 100 degrees outside we did not try it out. However, the A/C worked great (thank goodness). Breakfast was so good (cranberry muffins, sausage quiche and fruit cup) and filled us up so we never had lunch. There were always coffee, teas, hot chocolates available and a stocked fridge (juices and sodas). Donn and Marie obviously care a lot about their inn, and their guests. We will definitely return when we can and recommend it to anyone visiting Harper's Ferry/ Charles Town, WV area.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaltimoreBigmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
10.4 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
856 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
5.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hillbrook Inn
Hillbrook Inn
#1 of 6 in Charles Town
458 reviews
10.1 mi away
Thomas Shepherd Inn
Thomas Shepherd Inn
#1 of 2 in Shepherdstown
193 reviews
6.6 mi away
Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast
Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Harpers Ferry
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414-1077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range: $135 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a National Register of Historic Places site, The Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, with seven rooms and suites, is the perfect place for your relaxing getaway, "close to home" vacation, or romantic weekend away! Business Travelers will receive special care including flexible breakfast times, high-speed wireless internet, and a "no charge" cancellation policy. Nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Battlefield Park and Antietam National Battlefield. Antique shops, great restaurants, and Charles Town Races and Slots are within easy walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Hotel Charles Town
Carriage Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing