We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best Bed & Breakfast Experience Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Celebrate A Birthday!!
Ranked #2 of 7 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Bed & Breakfast Experience Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We wish that we can give this B&B a better rating that five stars. Marie & Don are the greatest innkeepers. We left their B&B, after only a two night stay, feeling like we were leaving two old friends. Every suggestion that they made was great. We really enjoyed Alfredo's. The room was large & clean. We felt so "at home". We wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: From what se saw, all of the rooms were large & clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
151
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Va
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We found this B & B while planning a rafting trip! I Paula wasnt much interested in History until my trip here! Marie explained the history of the home and I was so excited to learn more aout the area as well! We enjoyed our stay with Don and Marie and they made our stay very comfortable! Breakfast was delish as were the yummy afternoon/ evening homemade snacks left out for us! We rafted with River Riders and enjoyed Harpers Ferry! The restaurant reccomendation were great as well! We will def stay here again if in the area!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randpNorthernVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carriageinn, Owner at Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We appreciate the kind words of our guests! Your experience is our primary concern! Thanks for the feedback! We want everyone's stay at The Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast to be all that they hoped for when they booked their stay with us! Thanks for your words of encouragement!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Beautiful house, spacious rooms, gracious hosts and delicious breakfasts: what more could you want in a bed & breakfast? I stayed here for a week during in July 2013 and would highly recommend the Carriage Inn to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highlanddrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I just spend a long weekend at the Carriage Inn B&B, and were absolutely thrilled with the experience! The rooms were spacious, well decorated and clean. The owners were extremely pleasant, and accommodated all of our requests (like when we asked for super early breakfast so we could make it to our early morning horseback riding lessons). There was free water, tea, coffee and sodas and freshly-baked snacks in the afternoon. And the breakfasts were delectable and so filling! I have no complaints at all. It was a superb weekend, and I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenCaffster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our stay at the Carriage Inn was wonderful - beautiful historic house, kind proprietors, excellent breakfast. Charles Town has a nice historic town center and is an excellent base to explore nearby Harper's Ferry. We cannot recommend the Carriage Inn highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veggie_spice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This place is fantastic. I did winter civil war touring and stayed at this magnificent B&B. The owners are great - you can tell that they love their B&B. The room was large and very comfortable and the breakfast was nice. The fridge upstairs was a great extra touch. It is well situated and has a great history. If you civil war touring you won't be sorry to make this one of your stops.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank netvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I went to Charles Town for our first anniversary. Based on the reviews I chose to stay at the Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast. I must say all of the reviews are 100% spot on.
What a wonderful and charming place to stay. We stayed in the carriage house which was absolutely marvelous. We were met by Marie who gave us a history of the house and an overview of everything. Donn and Marie are both the most gracious hosts and went out of their way to make sure everything was as we wanted.
Breakfast on Sunday morning was fantastic. We had Bacon and spinach quiche with some additional slices of bacon and a muffin that was to die for.
When we stay in the area again we will not hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: The Carriage House has a jacuzzi for 2 that is wonderful. The suite is ideal for families as there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas_purdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
6.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Charles Town
The Inn at Charles Town
#2 of 5 in Charles Town
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
5.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
10.5 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a National Register of Historic Places site, The Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, with seven rooms and suites, is the perfect place for your relaxing getaway, "close to home" vacation, or romantic weekend away! Business Travelers will receive special care including flexible breakfast times, high-speed wireless internet, and a "no charge" cancellation policy. Nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Battlefield Park and Antietam National Battlefield. Antique shops, great restaurants, and Charles Town Races and Slots are within easy walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Inn b&b
Carriage Hotel Charles Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing