We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“wonderful b&b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“wonderful b&b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our stay at the Carriage Inn was wonderful - beautiful historic house, kind proprietors, excellent breakfast. Charles Town has a nice historic town center and is an excellent base to explore nearby Harper's Ferry. We cannot recommend the Carriage Inn highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veggie_spice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
155
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This place is fantastic. I did winter civil war touring and stayed at this magnificent B&B. The owners are great - you can tell that they love their B&B. The room was large and very comfortable and the breakfast was nice. The fridge upstairs was a great extra touch. It is well situated and has a great history. If you civil war touring you won't be sorry to make this one of your stops.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank netvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I went to Charles Town for our first anniversary. Based on the reviews I chose to stay at the Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast. I must say all of the reviews are 100% spot on.
What a wonderful and charming place to stay. We stayed in the carriage house which was absolutely marvelous. We were met by Marie who gave us a history of the house and an overview of everything. Donn and Marie are both the most gracious hosts and went out of their way to make sure everything was as we wanted.
Breakfast on Sunday morning was fantastic. We had Bacon and spinach quiche with some additional slices of bacon and a muffin that was to die for.
When we stay in the area again we will not hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: The Carriage House has a jacuzzi for 2 that is wonderful. The suite is ideal for families as there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas_purdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. The home is charming, as are the hosts. The location is perfect for those who are doing the history tour
The rooms are lovely and the bedding so comfortable.
The breakfast and snacks are still something I think of and I've been home over a week!
Stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyr1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I would highly recommend the Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast if you are staying in Charles Town, WV. Donn and Marie are wonderful hosts, the historic inn is beautiful, the location is great for anyone who needs to access the town hall, library, historic cemeteries, and, finally, the breakfasts are to die for. Donn and Marie were extremely kind and helpful as my husband and I pursued research on my husband's ancestors who were from the area. The Shenandoah Room was absolutely delightful with a beautiful porch attached for relaxing. The historic inn is located close enough to down town restaurants to making walking to these establishments very easy. Lastly, the breakfasts were well prepared and delicious. The welcoming cookies that were available when we arrived were a delightful surprise. All in all, a wonderful experience. If you are traveling to Charles Town, don't pass up the chance to stay at the Carriage Inn. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: The Shenandoah Room had a wonderful porch attached. It was large and had great windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Inn is wonderfully historic and each room is absolutely beautiful. My husband and I just returned from our second stay at the Inn and we look forward to returning. The Innkeepers, Donn and Marie, are warm, welcoming and generally nice to be around. I added a surprise "birthday cake package" to our reservation and we enjoyed the most amazing homemade chocolate cake. The Charles Town area is charming and a perfect get-away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohnton, Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had no prior experience or recommendations for The Carriage Inn but were pleased the moment we arrived. The setting was perfect for us: rural yet close to Harpers Ferry, Antietam Battlefield and a range of great places to eat. Of all the B&B's we've visited, the hosts and also owners, Donn and Marie, were among if not the best we've had the pleasure of meeting. Marie provided a detailed history of the home and was so personable and concerned for our comfort. We arrived on the 10th of April when the temprature surged to 92 degrees. Several times we were asked if the rooms were comfortable. Food was superb.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
6.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Charles Town
The Inn at Charles Town
#2 of 6 in Charles Town
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
5.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
10.5 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414-1077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a National Register of Historic Places site, The Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, with seven rooms and suites, is the perfect place for your relaxing getaway, "close to home" vacation, or romantic weekend away! Business Travelers will receive special care including flexible breakfast times, high-speed wireless internet, and a "no charge" cancellation policy. Nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Battlefield Park and Antietam National Battlefield. Antique shops, great restaurants, and Charles Town Races and Slots are within easy walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Inn b&b
Carriage Hotel Charles Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing