We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boyds, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My fiance and I had a wonderful time staying that Carriage Inn. We went for his birthday weekend and we had a great time. Donn baked an amazing birhday cake and it was absolutely De-Li-Cious!!
Marie & Donn are great people!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lidia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
154
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful old, historic home, surrounded by history, attended by wonderful host and hostess, Donn and Marie. Lovely stay in the Copper Beech suite, plan to return in warmer weather to enjoy the screened in porch. Very comfy bed and I love a shower with water pressure, which is often hard to find in these old homes.

Great home cooked breakfast of crustless ham quiche, and fabulous carrot muffins.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tami O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I decided to stay at the Carriage Inn for our 1 year anniversary. What a perfect decision! We stayed in The Copper Beech Suite. It was SO nice and romantic! The flowers and chocolates were perfect additions for the occasion as well as the jacuzzi and fireplace. The innkeepers were so nice and friendly. They really went out of their way to make sure you had a great stay! Breakfast in bed was amazing as well as the complementary banana nut bread when we first arrived. We would definitely love to stay here again soon for another occasion. You are missing out if you don't consider this Bed and Breakfast for your next stay. Everything was perfect about this stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at The Carriage Inn B&B - we wanted to celebrate our anniversary and relax away from the bustle of DC, and this really was perfect for that! Donn and Marie are really great - so nice and made us feel so welcome and comfortable. The house is beautiful and the rooms are lovely, and various refreshments are provided, including a great selection of teas and hot chocolates - which we really enjoyed while sitting by the fireplace in our room. It was so relaxing!! The food was also excellent - delicious homemade banana bread when we arrived, and an amazing breakfast the next day, including caramel apple french toast which was awesome.

We also enjoyed a walking tour of Charles Town - and we appreciated Marie telling us some of the local history, including about the house. It was very interesting! We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend The Carriage Inn B&B.

Room Tip: We were in the Garden View room and it was very nice - we really enjoyed the fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We've stayed at many B&Bs over the past 20 years, and this is probably the most enjoyable and best value. Our room was large, comfortable, and historic. Don and Marie were excellent hosts. Our trip was planned with only one night there and I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BecksofPoolCanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband an I have stayed at many B&Bs, but none have compared to the charm of The Carriage Inn. Don & Marie take pride in this beautiful historic home, and it shows. I honestly can't think of anything they could have done to make our time with them any better. You just can't go wrong selecting this B&B. Oh the food...excellent and so beautifully presented.

Room Tip: We had a tour of most of the rooms and I honestly couldn't pick one over the other. They were al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our first time staying at a bed & breakfast and it was very nice. The Innkeepers are very nice and helpful. Great food, cozy quarters, and great nearby attractions. A majority of my large family visit every year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CA389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
6.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Charles Town
The Inn at Charles Town
#2 of 6 in Charles Town
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
5.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
10.5 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414-1077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a National Register of Historic Places site, The Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, with seven rooms and suites, is the perfect place for your relaxing getaway, "close to home" vacation, or romantic weekend away! Business Travelers will receive special care including flexible breakfast times, high-speed wireless internet, and a "no charge" cancellation policy. Nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Battlefield Park and Antietam National Battlefield. Antique shops, great restaurants, and Charles Town Races and Slots are within easy walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Inn b&b
Carriage Hotel Charles Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing