We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“surprising menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Diner

Mountain View Diner
Ranked #5 of 59 Restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: American, Diner, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“surprising menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Typical diner food with the bonus of several greek specials. I tried the chicken souvlacki and it was delicious!!! Prices were reasonable and the portions were large as was the menu. Service was good eventhough they were quite busy. I would eat here again on my next trip to Charles Town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank asdfjkjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    72
    32
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lots of diner food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Large servings of food with good service, Katie provided excellent service to our party. We were disappointed with the Yankee pot roast, But the fried porkchops in the country fried steak were good. The strawberry cheesecake was good overall we enjoyed our visit.

Met the expectations of a typical diner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnGalt316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Big diner! Big menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Both the building and the menu at this diner are oversized. You can order almost any cuisine from seafood, Italian, Greek, and good old American fare. Breakfast is served anytime, I think, and it all tastes good. The prices are more than reasonable and the portions are large. This is the place that puts the "comfort" in comfort food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank geomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
284 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Legitimately good diner food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We werent expecting much, but this hole in the wall serves up an amazing breakfast, great greek food and is a surprisingly good value. Not just good by west virginia standards, but good by any standard.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ExRIGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overfed - Too Much Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The food at this restaurant is delicious. The portions are huge. I ordered prime rib and got a platter of meat, a cup of cole slaw, mashed potatoes, house salad, soup, lemonade and dessert for just over $20.00. I was ready to pop when I left the restaurant.

A suggestion - come very hungry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain View Diner also viewed

 

Been to Mountain View Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing