We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta visit!1”

Bloomery Plantation Distillery
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We visited the Bloomery on Saturday, January 18th. We stopped on our way to the Hillbrook Inn. It was great. A small little place with a great staff. We tasted all kinds of "hooch". The commentary from the bartenders was hilarious. Got some great recipes and came home with just a little "moonshine". (when I say a little I might mean a a lot...lol). Don't miss it if you are headed to Charles Town.

Thank irunrunrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Owner at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2016

Thank you for visiting! Thank you for the great review! Hope to see you up on our hill again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 197 of 247 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

Bloomery Plantation Distillery Sweet Shine was the highlight of my weekend! We came to Charles Town for the casino and left RAVING about how wonderful our experience at the distillery had been.
We went on a busy saturday afternoon, standing room only when we walked in. The ladies behind the counter were absolutely welcoming and the atmosphere was like old friends. The jokes and history the pair shared with us really captured the essence of who they are.
The actual Sweetshines were a whole different ballgame than anything we've ever had. I HAD to come home with a bottle of the Raspberry Lemon, but really wish I had won much more money at the casino so I could have had one of each! They gave us about 10 different concoctions, some straight from the bottle and other recipes that were absolutely fabulous!
Everyone that asked about our trip has been invited to go back with us!

Thank sydnergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Owner at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2016

Thank you for visiting! Thank you for the great review! Hope to see you up on our hill again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We make this a must see stop every time we have out of state visitors in town. What a great experience. The limoncello is the best you will find anywhere not to mention all the other flavors. The staff is outstanding. They make you feel at home and provide a high level of entertainment while telling you about their product. The tasting and the entertainment is FREE. Rob, Allison and Zoe are the best and are enjoying great success. I am so happy to see individuals with a dream and a willingness to work hard have such great success. They deserve all the accolades they receive.

Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Owner at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2016

Thank you for visiting! Thank you for the great review! Hope to see you up on our hill again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

A friend took us to this hidden gem of a distillery, and on the way there, I thought, "How good could this place off the beaten track be?" Of course, as is usually the case when taking the road less travelled, it was well worth it. Not only did we enjoy tastes of some of the best liquors ever, the staff was friendly, we were entertained by live music, and the repurposed barn made an impressive venue. I love that they are using local ingredients, including their own lemons and ginger (grown in an on-site greenhouse), peaches, apples, pumpkins, and even black walnuts. I'll be back next time that I'm in the area.

Thank Mary Ann Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Owner at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2016

Thank you for visiting! Thank you for the great review! Hope to see you up on our hill again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We visited here with our 2 children. The kids were given sorbet while we sampled the delicious drinks. Allison was very enthusiastic and patient with the kids. Even though it was standing room only, everyone was helped and treated very well. We all enjoyed ourselves.

Thank jackiedif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Owner at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2016

Thank you for visiting! Thank you for the great review! Hope to see you up on our hill again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloomery Plantation Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Bloomery Plantation Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing