We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - what a place”

Bloomery Plantation Distillery
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Was looking for some unique whiskey as Christmas gift. Stop at this place not really knowing what they offered. Zoe, Alison and Rob welcomed us as we came in even though they had other customers. Zoe came over and explained what they offered. We tasted their offerings, very smooth spirits and tastes, especially the mixed drink that tasted like a Dreamsicle. The Cremma Lemma was very, very good. We bought the Cremma Lemma but not as a Christmas gift - just for us. (we'll go else where for that whiskey gift.) The staff was knowledgeable about their products and fun to be around. Plan to go back next summer to listen to the music.

1  Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Manager at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

We are so glad that you visited us and enjoyed our hooch! Cremma is a perennial favorite especially in the dreamcicle. Hope to see you again soon. Happy Holidays! Cheers, Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 199 of 243 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

I spent an beautiful fall evening there outside listening to great music. Great spirits and atmosphere.

1  Thank juliane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Manager at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

I remember your groups visit well, thank you for making our evening special! Hope to see you all again soon.
Cheers, Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I stopped here on our way back down to Virginia. (It's just inside the WV line before you cross the Potomac River to Virginia.) Please make the effort (or, rather, your car's effort) to make it up that little hill to the distillery. You'll be glad you did.

When we arrived we sat at the tasting bar that was all set upp & ready to go for sampling their wares. About 7 bottles were lined up & we had the opportunity to taste a wee bit of each. The commentary by the taste-master & his assistant was informative as well as humorous. (And that's not the spirits talking here.) We got to taste each cordial they produce as well as some "recipes" (e.g., adding some to sparkling water, serving over sherbet, etc.) using each type.

The distillery is in an old plantation building and is kept as it is. The kitchen is visible from the tasting room, which is kinda neat. When we were there (late-summer 2013), their Limoncello products utilized the lemons they grew on site.

The cordials and other products are sold on site. The have live music on weekends during warmer months.

This is definitely a place I will take visitors. I will be headed there to purchase some Christmas gifts as well.

1  Thank zenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Manager at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for visiting us, and such a great review. We try to make every customer visit special so when we get to read such a cool write up it gives us affirmation that the experience was special!
Hope to see you again soon up on our hill! Cheers, Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

The smoothest lemon cello you will ever have!! Unique ambiance, lively crew and never ending tasting that make you want to take a bottle of each home!

1  Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Manager at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

We are very pleased that you find our limoncello smooth, that special finish was the whole reason for us starting up the Bloomery. Our mission to build special cordials and mixers from our fruits,roots and nuts has been a fun ride. Certainly one of the best moments is reading that you our customers appreciate what we do! Thank you. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stopped by yesterday with some of our friends and had a blast here! The staff was super friendly and fun to chat with. The tasting was as much as you could want and all for free! They even include some samples of their products in different recipes which were also amazing! It is very laid back and an all around great time. We will definitely be back with others that come to visit us!

1  Thank BK_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Manager at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit. Hoping to see you back "up on our hill again soon!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloomery Plantation Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Bloomery Plantation Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing