We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”

Bloomery Plantation Distillery
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

When my wife and I got married we decided to do something cool in all 50 states over the course of our marriage. We decided on West Virginia as our 19th state to visit and found the Bloomery Plantation as our destination....We could not have been more satisfied with our choice!!! We have been telling people that this has been our favorite stop so far!! I would recommend this place to anyone that will listen, EVERYONE was so very nice to us and the place was an amazing experience! A MILLION THANK YOU'S TO THE BLOOMERY PLANTATION DISTILLERY!!!!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Manager at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Our Visitors are so cool! We are very happy that you had a fun time and shared such a great review. We are proud to have so many wonderful new friends that tell other travels and friends about their visit up on our hill! 'shine it up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    20
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Find!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The BEST limoncello EVER!! This stuff beats any limoncello I've ever had in Italy. Smooth finish with a clean lemon taste. The staff at the Bloomery distillery was top notch. Excellent customer service and extremely welcoming. We felt right at home - I didn't want to leave. Anxiously awaiting to purchase their new pumpkin liquor - they provided a surprise tasting of this and it was AMAZING!!! Looking forward to getting back there! Cheers!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Botteaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Manager at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for visiting and sharing such a great review! We are very appreciative of your business and so happy that you had a great visit with us up on our hill. We hope to see you again soon when in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
1 review
“Better late than never”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

First time experiencing the Bloomery Plantation Distillery with another couple this weekend. I must say it was bittersweet visit as we are moving out of state this coming week and this place is truly a great find for us locals, a place to share with visitors and such! From the initial greeting to the very end of walking to our vehicle it was a blast - truly helps when the staff are so personable, fun and you're with good company too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NTWord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Manager at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Our Visitors are so cool! We are very happy that you had a fun time and shared such a great review. We are proud to have so many wonderful new friends that tell other travels and friends about their visit up on our hill! 'shine it up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
“A fun, no-pressure, must visit distillery!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved this place! This is my first review ever, but I had to give kudos to this little distillery. Everything was just awesome...from the cute little yellow distillery, to the wonderful art on their marketing, to the staff who very obviously love their job, and of course, the tastings! It was nice to go to a tasting that was not only free, but fun! We really felt welcomed and encouraged to try everything. Rather than having to wait in a line, the staff brought samples around to everyone and was sure not to miss anyone in the room. We sampled all of the SweetShines by themselves, along with some tasty mixed drinks and cello topped dessert (Mmmm limoncello and sorbet). Though there is no pressure to buy anything, you will certainly want to at the end! We walked away with two bottles and instantly regretted not buying more. I could not say more good things about this place!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank henla10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Manager at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for visiting and sharing such a great review! We are very appreciative of your business and so happy that you had a great visit with us up on our hill. We hope to see you again soon when in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stopped by to see what all the buzz was about and was thoroughly captivated by what they have to offer. Moonshine is not exactly my drink of choice, but by the time they had taken the ginger moonshine, added some unsweetened ice tea and a shot of their lemoncello - well, that was a lovely, lovely drink that one could spend a summer afternoon enjoying. My ten-year old was in tow for the afternoon and they made her feel welcome with a scoop of mango sorbet and stories of the history of the area. The greenhouse is amazing. Most (if not all) of the ingredients (lemons, raspberries, etc.) are grown on site or local and the quality is extremely high. Rob and Will were informative, fun and charming. I would definitely recommend this place as a stop on anyone's tour of the area - even if moonshine itself is not your thing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nancyd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Manager at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Our Visitors are so cool! We are very happy that you had a fun time and shared such a great review. We are proud to have so many wonderful new friends that tell other travels and friends about their visit up on our hill! 'shine it up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloomery Plantation Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Bloomery Plantation Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing