We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great liqueur, very interesting place!”

Bloomery Plantation Distillery
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great liqueur, very interesting place!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have to admit, I was a little worried driving up a dirt road to a distillery in west Virginia. However, the host made us feel very comfortable and offered a truly unique experience. Very interesting stories and the quality and taste of the individual liqueurs is unmatched. Would highly recommend to anyone traveling to Charles town.

Helpful?
1 Thank Haymcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Manager at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We take great pride in making special liquors and providing a fun time. Thanks for sharing your thoughts here. I makes us feel great! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    20
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friendly Folks Pouring Great Limoncello”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a great place to while away an afternoon or evening. It has the primary ingredients - hospitality and great limoncello, which the owners pour liberally as free samples. They make all their limoncellos by hand, and they are the best we have found since our trip to Italy last summer. We tried every variety they have - some twice - and it was wonderful to see great products served with pride by the people who make them. This is not a restaurant or a bar - they have no liquor license. Instead, it's a small business producing very high-quality limoncellos, which you can sample and buy by the bottle. You walk in as a curious customer, and leave as a friend. We'll definitely be back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Manager at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
History, hootch and hospitality is what we do! Glad that you enjoyed and shared here. Hope to see you back up on the hill soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wipe out all thoughts you ever had on limoncello and come to the Bloomery!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Head to the border of Virginia and West Virginia via Rt. 9 and cross the Shenandoah River to find a sign on the side of the road for Bloomery Distillery Plantation and let your tastebuds awaken to a new limoncello experience! Very cute converted one room cabin bursting with charm. We arrived on a cold January night to a warm welcome as soon as we opened the door. Linda, Tom and Eric were our hosts and we pulled up a chair to learn their whole story on how they came to make limoncello (like they fell in love with in Rome) here at home. The flavors will knock your socks off (Raspberry, Cremma Lemma, Lemon Ice, Dark Chocolate Raspberry - if you are not convinced you need to go there by now - you are not breathing). But wait, there's more - you are not done yet. The next part of your experience is sampling some of the drink recipes that they have come up with to create cocktails that will wow anyone at your next party. An enjoyable evening was had by all. A few times we had to stop mid tasting to sing along with the live music that happens each Friday and Saturday night from 6 pm - 8 pm. Go, enjoy - you may go in strangers but will come out friends. I can't wait to go back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L, Manager at Bloomery Plantation Distillery, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Yes by all means wipe away those thoughts! Glad you visited and enjoyed our special handmade flavors. Hope to see you back on our hill again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The distillery opened right next door. I saw the sign but hesitated to stop in. Boy was I wrong to wait! They male Limoncello, but not just any limoncello, the best I have had in the US! It is very comparable to some that I've had in Italy! They have several varieties right now, regular, Creme, Raspberry, Ice (FANTASTIC HARD LEMONADE), Peaches and Cream, and Dark Chocolate Raspberry. When you go in you are made to feel at home! They serve you tastes of all four types and have live music Friday and Saturday evenings. This place is truly a great place to stop in, learn a little of the local history, taste some fantastic samples and buy a few bottles. I bought a case of the Lemon Ice. I've adapted a few recipes to use it in and also to give as gifts! Today I went back with a pie I had made using it and was well received! I left with 2 bottles of standard (exceptional) Limoncello! If you want to try something local and fantastic, stop in and see Linda and the gang! Tell them Eric sent you!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bostonman30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Product Friendly Folks”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We needed to kill a couple hours and what better way than to tour a distillery? This is a new business venture making Italian limoncello. The staff is mostly family and friends of the owners (at least for our visit) and provided lots of details about the product and short history. We got to sample a bit of everything and ended up buying a lot of everything. They buy much of their materials but have young plants and lemon trees on the grounds. The distillery has already won many awards so it is worth a visit to sample a wonderful hand crafted product. We look forward to future visits as the location and cello becomes bigger and better.

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloomery Plantation Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Bloomery Plantation Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing