We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Turf Motel Rib Room - CLOSED

Turf Motel Rib Room
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Italian, Steakhouse, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Turf Motel and Rib Room has been serving some of America’s favorite dishes since 1955. Hence the name, Rib Room, the Turf has been well known and liked for its succulent Prime Rib, often titled “Area’s Best” with many consecutive year awards. Open for Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner, the Turf serves fresh hand-cut USDA Choice Beef, tender baby-back ribs, fresh pulled pork, homemade soups and salads, delicious appetizers and sandwiches as well as fantastic Daily Specials. Large Gatherings and private parties are welcome. Special late night menu is available in our lounge.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great food and staff! Had a fun time and can't wait to go back! Very accomodating with our large party!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoyEast E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Prime rib a disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went for the signature Prime Rib, since this is the Rib Room. We asked the waitress about it and she was quite clueless.

A prime rib is supposed to be a slow roasted hunk of Ribeye cut from the whole roast. Instead, we were served a plain rib eye on a sizzling plate.

Seriously education needed on the Prime Rib.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldirtybuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Heights, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great home cooked food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very nice menu plus many optional specials were available for dinner. Be sure to check their hours before heading out to the casino if you plan to return for dinner. Prices are more reasonable than Casino and the meal we had was wonderful! (Ribs..a specialty of theirs; Crab soup in local bakery bread bowl; crisp, freshly made salad (not bagged salad) along with home made dressings). Even if we don't stay at Turf Motel next time, we may just take the shuttle from the casino to the motel for dinner! It was really that good. Gracious service also.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sealovers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Rib Room Cooks may need some training”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I had dinner there on New years Eve. The staff and waitress were very friendly and accomodating but steaks were a little bit over done. I wouldn't have thought to bad of this and maybe it was just a one time mistake but my girlfriend saw the people next to us swap steaks between them and from the conversation were offered a free appetizer to try to make up for the steaks being over cooked. It was extremely hot in the restaurant which also added to our discomfort. We did not complain but had oredered them rare and they were past medium to almost well done. I may give them a try again to be fair but wil emphasize rare or I will send them back. The rest of the food was very good and the price was reasonable but the cooks may need some training.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Journeytonowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

As a Charles Town local, I've visited Turf dozens of times and enjoyed it every time. The Prime Rib is top notch and the sandwiches are exceptional too! This place has one of the best Rueben sandwiches I've ever had. The staff are friendly and the ambiance is pleasant. The only negative I've found is the tables are a bit close together. If you are in town for the casino, Turf has some of the best food around and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djfunkywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turf Motel Rib Room also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing