We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Rewards program” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races

Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With nearly 5,000 slots, over 100 tables, live thoroughbred racing and 7 delicious dining options, the Hollywood treatment is yours for the taking.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rewards program”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

I spent over one thousand dollars in one night back in April now it is July and I did not receive anything not even a food voucher. I go to many casinos and they at least feed you to thank you for coming.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Shakia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    254
    179
    114
    129
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nights worth of entertainment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Couples weekend trip started at the casino with dinner and horse racing. The crab cake was excellent. The horse racing was extremely slow was sometimes 25 minutes between races. We lost interest after the 5th race. The band was on break longer than they played. But that was ok because the DJ was better anyway.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DianeD_Carribean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“$10 slots machine..spent more than $6,000 dollars and didn't hit nothing.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

I've been to Charlestown many times and their slots are nothing like before. I put $6,000 dollars in a $10 slot machine and didn't hit jack shi!
They have really changed their pay out...save your money until MGM opens up. This place is not worth your time and money. Can't even enjoy your play time. You can put a $100 dollars in $10 slot and this will be gone within 5 minutes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank leoyim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't listen to the General Manager at this casino he lies!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I for one heard the exact same statement made by numerous staff that work or worked at this casino. The Casino is partly owned by the State of West Va so you might not find record of any fines since the very Casino the State has interest in collects said fines and wouldn't want anyone to know this type of business is going on. The casino was hit so hard by the Maryland slots opening up that they were forced to close a lot of the casino and pay off quite a bit of staff. The payouts are now worse than ever. It stands to reason why Hollywood Casino corp paid so much lobbying to stop the influx of competition. They paid for negative publicity in order to stop competition and actually the legal thievery that's been going on for years. I personally hope they go bankrupt but we know that's not going to happen. They will just keep increasing their take and pay the fines or kickbacks to west va.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Cjam33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“More than just slots in West Virginia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Was taking a trip to near the Appalachian trail and wanted to relax indoors and do a little gambling. I was surprise how nice this casino was. We got to watch the horse racing for about a half hour and heading into the casino.

I was surprised the variety of different foods in the food court and found a nice lounge with a Philly band called "The Big House Band." The band was fantastic and the drinks were pretty good. They had a DJ too and he play some very upbeat dance music.

I had low expectations going in, but was happy to find this to be a nice retreat in the rural area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Treblok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing