We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth your entertainment dollars”

Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With nearly 5,000 slots, over 100 tables, live thoroughbred racing and 7 delicious dining options, the Hollywood treatment is yours for the taking.
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
458 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Not worth your entertainment dollars”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Having spent numerous visits to this venue in the past 11 years, there's definitely something different going on with the slot machines in recent years (particularly since the introducrtion of more and more table games). Visits used to mean a few hours of enjoyable entertainment with a mix of some dollars lost, breaking even, or a small, medium or large jackpot. However, this was visit #4 in three years and it was the same as my past three visits: no one around me was winning and my pennies (and dollars) were swallowed up in short order. The machines themselves are mostly boring, uninventive types. Clearly, the owners aren't investing in interesting slot machine games, and the ones that are in use are tight with a capital T.
The owners have persuaded me of one thing: Maryland Live is the clear winner for my entertainment dollars.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    268
    190
    118
    133
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mitchellville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed the restaurant options, live music, and bars. We least enjoyed the indoor cigarette smoking throughout the casino.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JaylaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Only Staid 15 minutes”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stopped in to see how this compared to Atlantic City and Las Vegas and it was so bad that we left within 15 maybe a little longer. There are two other competitors that I've reviewed and while they have a go to match even Atlantic City casino's, they are head and shoulders above this one.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
172 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fun and Visually Entertained”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

On friday night when we visited it was hopping. Great music with a live band form the bar. There is a go-go dancer on the casino floor (never seen that before). Sodas are free, self served.
However, all these fun happenings are at the Smoking section, so ...
Plenty of free parking, there's a food court and a $10.00 store right inside of the Casino.
Yes, its true this is not a Vegas style casino but is very attractive with lots of visually display multimedia screens. A lot of fun even if you are not into gambling.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CDEMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This casino was very nice. Enjoyed the cheese steaks so much had one early and another later while watching the dogs races outside. Even had some lunch at the slots!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mostinterestingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing