We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year Eve Celebration 2013”

Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With nearly 5,000 slots, over 100 tables, live thoroughbred racing and 7 delicious dining options, the Hollywood treatment is yours for the taking.
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“New Year Eve Celebration 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a great time and festive atmosphere it was this new years eve. My one siappontment is that all staff are not accomodating and do not know much about the shuttle bus services offered. I was told incorrect information and finally asked one of the shuttle drivers to get the information correctly. The smoke in the building is horrendous and when you have a choice to go to other casinos that offer no smoking if you don't smoke it would be best to go elsewhere. Other than the smoke it is a nice place and they do offer some non-smoking areas but not anywhere near the music entertainment.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Journeytonowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    268
    190
    118
    133
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice - lot's of everything.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Slots, table games, horse-racing, restaurants. From food court to high-end steak house.
Very clean, there are some "smoke-free" areas, but they're still kinda smokey.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank schimmelart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a growing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

It's been a while since I've visited the race track. We went on December 23rd and noticed that it had grown. There are a lot of tables and more slots. Had lots of fun and even came out a $400 ahead of the game. What fun we had!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WVtravelers489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Free Concert at Hollywood Casino!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I haven't been to the Casino and over 10 years, but was super impressed with the improvements made! Every few months now on a Friday night, the Casino host a free concert, so a friend and I travelled to see Eddie Money (who I got to meet!). This place is great! Huge, lots of slots, table games, staff, its clean, friendly and well laid out. The concert set up was a bit congested, but it was free! There is a is also a parkign garage right outside the bulding, so minimual walking is required. My only compliant is the smoking, but WV hasn't banned it in public places yet (I live in MD where it is banned). I'm definitely going back to gamble sometime soon ;-)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown Pa.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Casino. Needs a better Track Betting area.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We spent a total of about 10 hours at the casino at two different times in a 24 hour period. The casino/track area is very large and can be a bit confusing getting around at first. A few more "you are here" directional boards would be very helpful. We played both slots and table games and had good luck with both. Most of the table dealers are very knowledgable and friendly. The poker room was fairly busy for a Tuesday, which is good for most players. There does seem do be an over abundance of penny slots but we had no problem finding higher demonination machines. We did visit the horse racing area and are far from impressed or even interested in spending any time or money there. It may be its just not what we are used to, but it didnt seem very user friendly or convenient. Although there seemed to be quite a few watering holes located through out the casino, only 3 were open. We had dinner at the Skybox and have to give the food and value a B and the service an A+. We will visit this casino again in the future because we had a great time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank clangonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing